We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Location is everything, this hotel is right accross the street from the beach. Rooms are clean, staff friendly and helpful, restaurants are great. Would stay here again in a second!! I was impressed. Pool was 86 degrees, and with the retractable roof was a great place for a bit of down time after the beach. Love this property!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    263
    142
    63
    44
See reviews for
253
408
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here the weekend before Memorial Day. We had never been to Hampton, NH before and thought we'd give it a try. We found a deal on Groupon for Ashworth, but that had sold out. But we found a similar deal on-line, and went ahead and booked it. Very reasonable rate, and it looked nice and had gotten decent reviews. We arrived and found a very cute place, run by very nice people. The room was clean and the bathroom had been updated and was very nice. Our room looked north, and had a good view. The rooms don't all have fridges, so we called the front desk and they promptly delivered one to us. We ate our meals offsite, except for breakfast, which we had in their cafe. It was good and very resonable. Not knowing anything about Hampton Beach, we discovered that it is a very noisy place in (or almost) in season. It reminded us a little of Virginia Beach or Wildwood, NJ. Lots of motorcycles and the noise that comes with it. We would come back here, but more off-season, as we like a more relaxed and quiet place. But the hotel was great and we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, facing north. Glad we chose that direction as it had pretty, distant views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ashworth in May 2011. We were married on the beach in front of the hotel. The staff is amazing, there is free valet parking and the rooms are clean and confortable. We went back for our one year anniversary in May 2012 and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. I could not say enough about how great of a place this is. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for a wedding in early May and had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. There was free valet and the door guys were great about getting vehicles. Our room was small but what we expected, small balcony that overlooked the beach and outside hotel venue.

The reception was held in the ballroom which was perfect for the size of the wedding. The hotel bar was great as well, had lunch in there with a limited menu but other than that it was very spacious and provided a nice source of entertainment for the 2 nights we stayed. The small coffee/breakfast cafe located on the opposite side of the hotel offered some good breakfast deals and was a nice way to end the weekend. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to stay in the Hampton Beach area, price was good but it was the off season, not sure what it is like during the summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I needed a quick get-away and after a little research I found Ashworth by the Sea. I booked an ocean view king w/balcony and found it to be roomy and very clean. The hotel has plenty of charm and the staff was very helpful and polite. We happened to be there on a very sunny and warm Patriots Day so the beach was packed. It was great to be able to get away from the crowds at times and watch the excitement from the privacy of our own room. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the terrific view.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Easter week-end(SAT-MON)we stayed at the Ashworth by the Sea and had an enjoyable time.Nice room(after a small problem which was taken care of right away),great food and wine and a very helpful staff.Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: As close to the front as possible and the higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolgramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I booked this trip through Living Social and was so glad we did, even though it was during the off-season. Our room was GORGEOUS -- spacious, ocean front with a balcony, nice sitting area, great bathroom (my only complaint was I wish it had a tub because it was so beautiful and the shower was tub sized). From our check in to the time we left, we were pampered an spoiled rotten. I can't wait to go back. Even the food was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terithecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#22 of 41 in Hampton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing