We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stay at the Ashworth by the Sea every October to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.We enjoyed the ocean front balcony. The restaurant and lounge were very nice and we had a very nice dinner there one of our nights there.
The sad part is that it was very noisy, too noisy to sleep most of the night and too costly. We spent close to $500 for a two nights stay, the weekend after Columbus day weekend.As much as we like the Ashworth, I think we will probably be staying at one of the hotels next door to save a little money for dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_Mullaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    251
    136
    60
    40
See reviews for
247
392
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were happy to find a room by the ocean. Indeed, the view from the balcony was good. The hotel is 100 years old, so we knew that the layout and rooms wouldn't be modern. However, we weren't prepared for paper-thin walls. The couple next door were loud and constant talkers, which made our "relaxed time by the sea" challenging. I woke to the alarm on their cell phone alarm clock! Now, those are thin walls.

The room was clean and roomy, and the bathroom had been updated. Maid service was adequate. There are few restaurants open along the beach in off season, so we ate at the cafe in the hotel. My breakfast was good, but my husband rated his breakfast as B-. Since it is off season, we were able to park our car in the surface lot out back and in the lot under the hotel. Otherwise, it is valet-only parking.

We will probably not return to this stretch of beach or this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 359 which had paper thin walls. We felt like we were in the same room with the peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Mia875,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value guest feedback as it allows us to constantly improve upon the guest experience. We apologize that the room was a little noisy on your visit. The valet parking is only during the season (June through September); guests may park themselves in our lot during any other time of the year. We hope that you'll come back and give us another try!

Happy travels,

Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by staying in Ashworth by the Sea at Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. The room with a private balcony was clean and comfortable; the ocean view from the room was exactly what we hoped for; and the selection and quality of the food was very good.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to book a room with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on price and availability during a busy holiday weekend. Room was clean and with updated fixtures but there were maintenance issues like a poorly draining tub and cracks in the ceiling. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The partial ocean view from our room was a treat and we enjoyed watching the sunrise from our bed. If you can get a room here for a good price do it! If you can afford a little more luxury, do that instead.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed one night, basically 2 days on the beach. The front desk staff was very friendly and more than accommodating. The location is ideal, right on the beach. Hotel is clean; lovely view of the ocean from our room and balcony. While not luxurious, the amenities were good and provided everything we would want from a beach stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our experience at the Ashworth by the Sea was really good. The room was on the side facing the Ocean and we had a small patio to sit from our room. The room was very clean and had good amenities. A coffee maker, AC/heat, the Ocean right across the street, a restaurant right downstairs, a different one for breakfast, a cafe, the sunshine all day. The food and service was really good. We had a Groupon voucher so we saved on the room and a $10.00 coupon for the restaurant. And when we got there they said they upgraded us. All and all it was a very satistying stay. We loved the idea that it was the Fall season where it's quieter than Summer.

Room Tip: Our room was on the South of the building and nice and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelG6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for two nights celebrating my wife's birthday. The staff was great, friendly and very courteous. Our room was a king oceanfront while small it was adequate for our needs. We will likely return for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptBobCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing