We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it. So beautiful. Great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was the best hotel we have stayed in. The view of the beach is perfect!! I love that they are smoke free. Pool was great. Friendly staff. Dinner at the restraunt was ok. Very clean. They have valet parking also.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loriloves98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Ashworth By the Sea for our anniversary with a Groupon so did not have any expectation of luxury. Our room was clean, roomy, comfortable, slight ocean view from small balcony. The staff was exceedingly helpful; beachfront location cannot be beat. The food in the hotel was good but not great. Since it was off-season, we travelled around to find places that had been recommended to us to dine. In October, there were not many dining choices beachfront but plenty within a few miles drive. We found our room to be quiet as it was away from the front of the hotel. The lounge was a great place to just hang out. I would definitely stay here again.












T

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having a small porch to sit on and just see and breathe in the ocean, That was just the best.

Everyone treated me like I was a King. Opening doors, valet service gratis for my car, greeting me when I came in, pulling that big cart with all of my clothes, camera gear, and food for me, bring up a frig and plugging it in, a great comfortable king size bed that I slept in for hours, totally cosy, heat or cool air I could regulate, desk for my laptop, and free wifi, bar, restaurant where I asked for a tall glass of juice. It must have been 12" tall, that I carefully carted back to my room.

And then just walking outside to the very wonderful totally new mile long walkway along the ocean, right across the street. It has very cool LED overhead street lights, benches, square blocks of granite to sit on in any which way, pergulas with very comfortable wood benches to sit in in the shade, tall grasses waving in the breeze, handicap accessible ramps to the beach, concerts, clean bathrooms, wonderful design elements. I spent hours walking along here.

The beach is unbelievably clean, as is the hotel, and the walkway. Friendly people everywhere.

Coming here off season is just a huge bonus. However the hotel is only open Thurs-Sunday.

Do get up at sunrise, as the light is tremendously beautiful. And as you have just have to walk across the street, to walk along the ocean, after a good nights sleep, you have the best of all worlds. Sunset streaks across the sky and over the ocean too.

Room Tip: I do not think there is a bad room here. I had a third floor, room 363. Faced north. Great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBatesVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, our staff, and beautiful Hampton Beach. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel using a groupon during the off season so it was a deal at $79. The hotel is in a great location, with a view of the ocean. It's an older hotel so it is charming, not your standard "chain" rooms. Our room was a little on the small side but well equiped. Nice comfortable king bed, couch, tv and a small balcony. We walked around the pool and it seemed really nice. Things you should know though, when people say the walls are thin, they really mean it. If you are a light sleeper, this may not be the place for you. I could hear phone conversations from the next room as if he was actually in my room. I could hear people walking in the hallway, past my room. Also, the tv reception was pretty poor, which was a little disappointing while trying to watch the Sox game during the world series. Overall, I wouldn't stay there again, but if you can sleep thru anything, you will probably enjoy the charm of this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassMoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stay at the Ashworth by the Sea every October to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.We enjoyed the ocean front balcony. The restaurant and lounge were very nice and we had a very nice dinner there one of our nights there.
The sad part is that it was very noisy, too noisy to sleep most of the night and too costly. We spent close to $500 for a two nights stay, the weekend after Columbus day weekend.As much as we like the Ashworth, I think we will probably be staying at one of the hotels next door to save a little money for dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy_Mullaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were happy to find a room by the ocean. Indeed, the view from the balcony was good. The hotel is 100 years old, so we knew that the layout and rooms wouldn't be modern. However, we weren't prepared for paper-thin walls. The couple next door were loud and constant talkers, which made our "relaxed time by the sea" challenging. I woke to the alarm on their cell phone alarm clock! Now, those are thin walls.

The room was clean and roomy, and the bathroom had been updated. Maid service was adequate. There are few restaurants open along the beach in off season, so we ate at the cafe in the hotel. My breakfast was good, but my husband rated his breakfast as B-. Since it is off season, we were able to park our car in the surface lot out back and in the lot under the hotel. Otherwise, it is valet-only parking.

We will probably not return to this stretch of beach or this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 359 which had paper thin walls. We felt like we were in the same room with the peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Mia875,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value guest feedback as it allows us to constantly improve upon the guest experience. We apologize that the room was a little noisy on your visit. The valet parking is only during the season (June through September); guests may park themselves in our lot during any other time of the year. We hope that you'll come back and give us another try!

Happy travels,

Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by staying in Ashworth by the Sea at Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. The room with a private balcony was clean and comfortable; the ocean view from the room was exactly what we hoped for; and the selection and quality of the food was very good.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to book a room with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing