We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's at the Ashworth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year's at the Ashworth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the New Year's package offered by the Ashworth. Our room was immaculate and ready for us even though we arrived very early. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They and the rest of the staff remained friendly and considerate of our needs for the entire time we stayed.The dinner was exceptional - I have never had poached lobster tail, although I'm an avid food network fan and have heard this is the best way to have lobster. Well, I was not disappointed. Every mouthful was succulent. The band was good - The dance floor was full all evening - And breakfast was the best on New Year's morning.
Even the other guests were gracious and welcomed us to the table. Everyone got into the spirit set by the Ashworth. I would certainly do this again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4xnonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our New Year's package and all that it entailed. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    251
    136
    60
    40
See reviews for
247
392
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is the only major hotel @ Hampton Beach. Changes in policies over the past few years have upset many customers. The DJ has been at the Ashworth for over 22 years. Management is unpredictable changing policies and entertainment without notice to customers. Some improvements have been made to the interior and presently new balconies are being added. The Valet Parking policies have a lot to be desired.Check your car before you leave if you are valet parking. The food for a one of a kind hotel in Hampton has a lot to be desired. Overall a place to go without traveling. No competition in the area makes it the only place to go for a well placed hotel. Have a question??? Ask three staff people the same question and choose the answer that fits your circumstances. All in all an average hotel. Management is aware of the captured customers. Enjoy the beach and the view.

Room Tip: ocean front if your wallet will allow you to enjoy such a luxury. overpriced any time of the year. c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed there the weekend before New Years. The view from the oceanfront rooms is outstanding. It was quiet, and peaceful; a first class operation. Staff was extremely friendly; room was spotless and spacious. Breakfast at the 'Wharfside' was fine, but nothing exceptional. Will likely return next year.

Room Tip: Can't beat the oceanfront kings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Jerry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that your overall stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again next year!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am reviewing The Ashworth By The Sea vs. other Hampton Beach hotels. Over the years I have stayed at other hotels at Hampton Beach and the Ashworth is, by far, the best around. I travel extensively and usually stay at Marriott's and Residence Inns so I am used to nice hotels. After reading some of the negative reviews, I was concerned mainly about the size of the room. We stayed in a king room on the side, the standard room. We saw the ocean just fine from inside the room, we did. Ot have to go on the balcony. The room was not small, in fact quite roomy. There is a sofa and armchair, table, small desk and dresser - nicer than many other hotels anywhere. The bathroom is a little small but classy and well furnished. The food at Breakers is excellent, we had the salmon and steak dinners. Breakfast was very good too. We used a coupon from Travelzoo for two nights in Dec. 2013. Some negative reviews stated that people with coupons got worse treatment. I did not feel that at all. Yes, the Ashworth is dated in some ways but that is the charm of Hampton Beach. Nothing is modern. But the Ashworth is the best in Hampton Beach. If I plan another get-a-way to Hampton Beach, I will definitely stay at the Ashworth.

Room Tip: Room 167 is a standard king room on the side. Great view of the water. No complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbypap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We love that all the rooms are ocean front. We has a balcony good size room. We went during the sea food fest this yr. 2013. And we loved our stay. I cant wait to go back. There is complementary coffee and breakfast for sale. It was great. The front desk is very nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again soon!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

When I was growing up the Ashworth was that fancy hotel at the end of the stores at Hampton Beach. I am now so thrilled to actually be able to be staying there. The rooms are very nice, the fish and chips in the restaurant was excellent. Staying there in the winter means no traffic and wonderful (though) cold walks on the beach. We keep finding great deals to stay there and yes, we are returning again in December. Can't wait.

Room Tip: No matter where we stay we like to get a room so that we can also keep an eye on our car. That mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your winter stays with us. Thank you for recommending us and we'll see you soon!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel itself is a great place to stay. The rooms are pleasantly decorated, have nice balconies, and comfortable feel to it. The woman who cleaned our room could not have been any sweeter. The pool temperature is the best I have ever felt. So warm! The location of the hotel is also fantastic. We ate at the restaurant and did not have a good experience. They are known for a great fish and chip but that night they had run out of that and the other popular fish meal on the menu. Our waitress was overmatched and instead of the hostess or manager assisting, all she did was give her verbal reminders. The dj and dance floor, they offer is a fantastic touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing