We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Half Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice place in the winter. My kids loved the heated pool which was in the 70s. Restaurant service was excellent but breakfast food much better than dinner. Rooms are reasonable size for a seaside hotel. Only complaint, walls are thin and you can definitely hear your neighbor flush or open the balcony door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean, fun and convenient hotel. Breakers was great and a lot of fun. The service at the hotel was really friendly and nice. Stayed here for the Half at the Hamptons Half Marathon. Perfect location for this!! Free parking. Our room had a view of the sunrise and sunset. So pretty. Very clean hotel. Breakfast cafe was yummy and totally convenient. Opened up early

ONLY complaint about the entire weekend was that we asked 3 times for a late checkout/confirmed late checkout. After the half marathon, our room key stopped working for us at regular checkout time (11 AM). And when we asked for a later checkout downstairs after we got locked out she said we were already checked out. So that was kind of a bummer. We felt rushed to get out of there instead of attending the race after party.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Always a wonderful stay! Room with ocean view clean and very comfortable. Staff at front desk so very nice. Restaurant and bar staff amazing. Visit frequently fall and winter times. Love it. Can't wait to get back.....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Cathy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your visit and that you're a loyal patron of the Ashworth. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is the greatest. The room is clean, comfortable, and warm. Great deal for the money anytime of year.
We often "run away" to the Ashworth and we have never been disappointed. The staff is always accommodating, and willing to help. The food at the Breakers is fantastic, and we love hanging out at the bar with friends.
First class operation, and first class employees.

Room Tip: The king side rooms are a little smaller, but such a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Karen,

Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for the 5-star review. I'm happy to hear that The Ashworth serves as an escape for you; a place where you always feel welcome and comfortable. I'll pass your compliments along to the staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed 1 night for the penguin plunge. Hotel has been renovated and clean. Very comfortable, good rate, very nice people that work there. room overlooked ocean, always a plus!
Parking across the street. Diner downstairs is very good. Restaurant is good, just wish they would change up the menu. Been to the bar to eat a few times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franci329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us during the Penguin Plunge. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities, and, of course, ocean views! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a group of "Plungers" staying at the Ashworth this year. We were very happy with the cleanliness of our rooms and the attitude of the staff during this busy weekend. Everyone was wonderful and very helpful. The restaurant was even better than expected. We will definitely be staying there again for the next Plunge, 2015.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA57183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us during the Penguin Plunge. I'm pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your visit and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to hosting you again next year!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the New Year's package offered by the Ashworth. Our room was immaculate and ready for us even though we arrived very early. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They and the rest of the staff remained friendly and considerate of our needs for the entire time we stayed.The dinner was exceptional - I have never had poached lobster tail, although I'm an avid food network fan and have heard this is the best way to have lobster. Well, I was not disappointed. Every mouthful was succulent. The band was good - The dance floor was full all evening - And breakfast was the best on New Year's morning.
Even the other guests were gracious and welcomed us to the table. Everyone got into the spirit set by the Ashworth. I would certainly do this again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4xnonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our New Year's package and all that it entailed. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
0.2 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#19 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing