We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Taunton mass
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for the penquin plundge from thurs to Sunday, I enjoyed the stay very much, the food was priced right and the quality of it was excellent , I had injured my knee prev. To staying here and the room attentent saw that i needed ice she went n got a ice bucket wit h ice and plastic bags to ice it. She went out of her way, this was nice,the rooms were clean ,bed was comfortable , the only fall back yes the decks are small ,I look forward to comming back before summer time

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    271
    145
    65
    48
See reviews for
261
415
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It's definitely a summer location but nice little town. The room was on the small side but the beds were great. We also had a view of the ocean. A breakfast joint with pretty good tasting food. The girls at the desk were really nice along with the valet guy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a room on a Saturday night. They have a music dance every weekend. Music blares and can be heard on all floors. Don't book on a weekend if you want to sleep. So inconsiderate. Food was awful at the restaurant though the waitress was great. Would not recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ThreeontheRoad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. I understand how important a good night's sleep is to a comfortable stay and sincerely apologize that ambient noise prevented you from having a restful stay. I understand your frustration and I will look into the noise level on Saturday nights; it doesn't usually pose a problem but we certainly want all of guests to feel accommodated and comfortable. Thank you for your business and I hope you'll give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent experience at the Ashworth.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sunapee, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am not sure of all the 'rave' reviews, but I do understand the 'not so rave ones'....then again maybe some people are willing to just 'settle' for a place to stay by the ocean. There were only 2 things I can say that I enjoyed. The fish I ordered at Breakers Restaurant, and the staff...other than that...It was more like staying at an old, average,hotel. My husband ordered the chicken "breast" at Breakers and got something that looked like a very small cornish game hen piece with the leg still attached...not impressed for $20. It was a mere 3 bites and its gone. The pillows have much to be desired on the beds. They are comparable to sleeping on hard pancakes, and the beds are horrible. Also, as many others have said..walls are thin..heard people on both sides of us flushing, closing the 'closet' doors, talking...(at 3 AM)...and as an added bonus, there is about a 3" gap under the door to your room, so you can hear everyone talking, laughing, etc as they go by your room..(as if they were in your room with you)....Be careful if you go in the winter...yes, parking is free, but good luck finding a place to park as there is so much snow that was not removed, that it limits the parking spaces...Oh sure, you can park in front to the side, but be aware that area is not plowed...Other than that....the ocean is wonderful!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us; I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Breakers and our friendly staff. However, I sincerely apologize that you found the rest of your experience to be dissatisfying. Thank you for your candor and I hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with a perfect stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice place in the winter. My kids loved the heated pool which was in the 70s. Restaurant service was excellent but breakfast food much better than dinner. Rooms are reasonable size for a seaside hotel. Only complaint, walls are thin and you can definitely hear your neighbor flush or open the balcony door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean, fun and convenient hotel. Breakers was great and a lot of fun. The service at the hotel was really friendly and nice. Stayed here for the Half at the Hamptons Half Marathon. Perfect location for this!! Free parking. Our room had a view of the sunrise and sunset. So pretty. Very clean hotel. Breakfast cafe was yummy and totally convenient. Opened up early

ONLY complaint about the entire weekend was that we asked 3 times for a late checkout/confirmed late checkout. After the half marathon, our room key stopped working for us at regular checkout time (11 AM). And when we asked for a later checkout downstairs after we got locked out she said we were already checked out. So that was kind of a bummer. We felt rushed to get out of there instead of attending the race after party.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Always a wonderful stay! Room with ocean view clean and very comfortable. Staff at front desk so very nice. Restaurant and bar staff amazing. Visit frequently fall and winter times. Love it. Can't wait to get back.....

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Cathy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your visit and that you're a loyal patron of the Ashworth. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#13 of 41 in Hampton
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing