We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Davie's interpersonal skill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thanks to Davie for helping to make my sister's and my recent stay at the Ashworth, a comfortable success. His immediate solving of the problem of a faulty fridge was exceptional. He is a 5 star employee, with a warm friendly manner, assuring us he would supply additional help, if needed. Without being asked to do so, he tweeked the TV, to provide a perfect picture. Thanks Davie.
Arlene Martindale (NY)
Karen Thornton (Ma.)

Room Tip: All are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Karen,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that Davie's exceptional customer service provided you and your sister with an enjoyable visit to our hotel. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Davie and we look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to a show at the casino and decided to stay at the Ashworth - very glad we did! It had been a while since going to Hampton Beach - and this hotel is one of the best options in the area! Very clean rooms, balcony was a plus! Next time we will splurge for a full ocean view. We ate at the Breakers in the hotel for dinner and it was awesome! Calamari was amazing - baked stuffed haddock and the sirloin steak were awesome! Our waiter Lukas was really sweet.

Location was absolutely superb. Just next to all the madness on the boardwalk - so you don't need to be surrounded by loud shirtless dudes on steroids all the time. You just get a great view of them walking down the street from your balcony!

If you're an adult who likes to have fun but would prefer to spend a little more money to stay at a quality, clean hotel with great service - this is where it's at!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our beachfront location, comfortable accommodations, and on-site restaurant. We value your 5-star rating and your recommendation of our property as the best option in Hampton Beach. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting your next visit!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I cashed in some United miles plus over $200 for two nights. I specifically reserved the biggest rom- king suite and even called two nights before to secure a specific room. I was assured we had what I asked for... but guess what???
We show up and Im told somehow that room is not available but would we take another room instead? I didn't have a choice and felt cheated. I spent extra time making sure specific things were in place and even thought assured, they weren't.
In two days, housekeeping knocked on the door at 4pm the first day. We said we would leave in 30 minutes for dinner. The housekeeper said she was leaving and no one ever came back the entire stay.
That Saturday night, there was a prom downstairs. At 11pm, the prom ended and there was a group of young people yelling and running down the halls of the first floor until 1 am. So.. why did you rent to a group of young people without supervision?
I know the beach is not always quiet time, but really.. it shouldn't have happened.
And after I spent a lot of money for two days I am extremely disappointed that you didn't deliver. I wont be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

my husband and I stayed memorial day and had a great time touring up and down the beach. great dinner and fun sitting on the balcony and watching the fireworks. WiFi worked well. the room was very clean and the bed was firm but comfortable. free valet parking. stores located very close by. had a good time

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ti83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you and your husband had a great Memorial Day visit and that you took advantage of our Hampton beach location to enjoy the beachfront, restaurants, and activities that the area has to offer. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to the travel community and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our 4th year staying at the Ashworth on our anniversary weekend. With finances tightening we had discussed if this was an expense we could continue to afford. But after another amazing weekend we agreed it is well worth it. This hotel is not just a room close to the beach... Guest services always make us feel like family. They remember it is our anniversary and go out of their way to ensure we are enjoying ourselves. This year they even surprised us with a complimentary tray of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries (to die for!!). They did not tell us it was them until we exhausted our friend list and begged they come clean. To me, this was a great example of going out of the way for their customers; to make them happy but not to be in the spot light. And this was only one of the many outstanding displays of hospitality we experienced. We get this type of service each year! Not to mention the location of the hotel! We watch the fireworks from our balcony on Sunday night and then the Memorial Service Monday morning. No need to fight the crowds. The view is spectacular! And when we do want to mingle with the beach crowd, we are steps away! This is definitely a getaway we will continue- as long as we stay at the Ashworth.

Room Tip: The rooms with teh balconies on the ocean side are perfect for viewing fireworks and the Memorial Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anzfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing us to host your annual anniversary getaway and for taking the time to review your recent experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to know that we've been able to provide you with memorable visits and that all of your needs have been accommodated. We value your 5-star recommendation and look forward to hosting you again next year!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The service at this hotel was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and we had a lovely view of the ocean. Wharf side cafe served an excellent breakfast and the prices were very reasonable and the service was good. The Breakers restaurant was good. The fish and chips were delicious. We would definetly go back there. We have no problem recommending this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Lorraine,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for the travel community. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, oceanfront location, and on-site restaurant. We value your recommendation to friends and family and the 5-star rating on TripAdvisor and look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When I left the Ashwoth I realized I had forgotten a pair of my shoes. I immediately called the front desk and asked if someone could grab them and I would come right back. I came back about an hour later and asked the front desk for my shoes. The woman looked in the lost and found and said they were not there. I told her I knew I left them in there and if I could go up to the room to look. She told me the room was already cleaned and the next guests were already in there, and they would call me if they found my shoes. I was not going to accept that. So I ended up going up to the room I stayed in and the door happen to be open and it was being cleaned. I walked in and asked the house keeper if they found my shoes and they very politely said yes and gave them to me. I was absolutley discusted with the front desks performance. Absolutley no effort was given to help me find my shoes, and on top of it she lied about it. Never will give them my business again. There is clearly no respect for their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AshleyB1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I sincerely apologize for the service failure that you experienced during your stay with us. This was due to miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeping. We will follow up with both teams to ensure that this doesn't happen again. We apologize for your trouble and hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £75 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing