We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a way to kick off summer!! I was at the Ashworth last minute Saturday night after taking a risk and staying somewhere else on Friday and being horribly disappointed. I told my friend we needed to go to the only place to be for hotels in Hampton—Ashworth By The Sea!

I stay at the Ashworth at least two times each summer and have for the past five years and will not try another night staying somewhere else. As always, the staff was most helpful & the food was great (amazing calamari!). AND even though check in time is later, they were willing to park my car early Saturday morning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VermontDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you consistently enjoy our beachfront location, helpful staff, and delicious food. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first visit to Ashworth by the Sea and most likely will be our last.

We stayed here because me, my husband and my brother were attending a concert at the Casino Ballroom. I reserved the largest room they had available and specifically asked for an oceanfront balcony room back in Dec. 2013. A few weeks ago I called to confirm our reservation and room type (Ocean Front).

We were very disappointed with the accommodations. For the most expensive King Suite we did not get an Ocean Front w/Balcony. What we got was a balcony on a side street that overlooked the sidewalk and the balcony was so small the 3 of us could not fit on it at the same time. There weren't enough chairs so we called the front desk and asked for one to be brought to the room. It arrived a few minutes later. We had to request that the pullout sofa be made up twice but it never happened. At 11:30 pm when we arrived back at the hotel we still had to call the front desk for extra linens and a pillow. Nobody came in to make up the bed they just deposited the linens and left.

The dining room is expensive for the area, the breakfast buffet food (eggs, bacon, french toast, pancakes) was cold and this was at 9am!
Putting things in perspective for the area, this is still the best hotel on the boulevard but it is not a great hotel.

We had some minor issues with the valet. We parked our own car but they insisted on having keys to our car anyway because it was in their lot and they might have to move it. My car never moved from its spot but clearly somebody had been in my car because the seat had been moved. I did have some things in there of minimal value but nothing was taken. Not sure what was going on. From our window we could see the valets parking the cars and they were actually smoking cigarettes in the cars!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblybuddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We're sincerely sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our hotel and we apologize for the confusion in the requested room type. As far as the breakfast buffet, it is constantly manned and refreshed; however, we will review with the breakfast team to ensure that the correct amounts of food are out at any given time. We will use your comments as a training opportunity and appreciate your candor. We hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When we arrived at Ashworth by the Sea on Sunday June 8th, we had the option of street/lot parking or valet parking for $15.00. We opted for the valet parking, as we thought it was the safest alternative. XXXX, the valet who took the car said it was his third day on the job. We laughed, tipped him, and wished him good luck; as he had his hands full on a busy afternoon.

When we requested the car on Monday morning, a different young man brought it to us. We tipped him, and upon entering the car we immediately knew it had been ransacked. The contents of my glovebox and the center console were strewn about. We immediately called back the young man (valet) to tell him what had happened. He went to get his supervisor, who in turn needed to get someone else. A pair of prescription glasses, an iphone car charger, a pocket knife, and a bag of quarters (for parking, about $25.00) were taken. Nothing of great value was stolen, because (thank goodness) nothing of great value was left in the car.

No one from the hotel (while generally polite) had any sense of urgency with regard to our predicament. There was no offer of immediate reparation: just a staff member asking if we wanted to wait around and file a police report. Since the monetary value of the stolen items was minimal, and any further delay would have caused us to be late for work in Boston; we declined. We were told "someone will call you" and were given a business card as a contact point. The fact that we did not receive a return call, until we called days later and pointed out the poor response time--was abysmal. It would appear, "No police report = no problem."

As to the response from XXXX, I am clearly disappointed.
Whether or not the car was "locked" when the valet retrieved the car is immaterial—at some point in Ashworth's care the car was ransacked.
As for not having "any reports of cars being disturbed here at the hotel"--upon entering the car we immediately reported to Ashworth that items were stolen. This was our report— your comment makes it appear as if you doubt the accuracy of our account.
I don't know what type "documentation" you required, as we told three separate staff members what happened. I doubt a photograph of papers and tissues thrown around the front seats of the car would provide much more "documentation" for Ashworth.
As far as your valet associates training goes— (again, polite) they were trained to go and get their supervisor, who then goes and gets someone else, who does nothing more than offer to call the police…
I have a some suggestions that would have made all the difference to us…
Making a more timely response to the situation, this would give the appearance that there was concern on our behalf.
Giving an apology, a heartfelt admission that something bad happened whilst the car was in Ashworth's care. (While you/Ashworth apologize for not documenting the infraction, you do not apologize for the mishap itself).
Acknowledging that the theft of personal property is an emotional violation to a person, regardless of the monetary value involved.
Providing an immediate refund of the valet parking fee as a goodwill gesture?
These are some ideas that you may wish to consider if a similar situation occurs in the future. As to your offer of a gift certificate for a future stay at Ashworth by the Sea, we politely decline. We wish you the best, and hope that you revisit the handling of concerns of this type in the future.

Sincerely,

XXXX

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank TWABoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the service failures you experienced in response to the unfortunate situation regarding your car. We are reviewing all aspects of how we managed this to identify opportunities to improve and hope you'll accept our apology and give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent experience at our property.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Ashworth this past week for a very "mini'
getaway while working a local auto race. We were looking forward to a little down time in the evenings as we had not seen each other in over a month due to travel schedules. Unfortunately, our first night at the Ashworth was disrupted by incredibly rude, noisy neighbors who did not like each other and proceeded to fight off and on from 9:30pm until 5:00am. Without going into further detail, at 5:00am I went to the front desk asking to be moved. Jacqueline Price and Ben were at the front desk and were immediately most apologetic and accommodating. Jacqueline sent Ben and I with keys to view 2 rooms and let me pick the one that worked best. The remainder of our stay was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. The management offered us a discounted room rate, food and drinks for having such a disappointing first night. We loved the location of the Ashworth, the hotel is quaint and comfortable and though we did not take them up on their food offer, we did eat at the restaurant for dinner two nights and had delicious meals and great service each time. Wonderful, professional, friendly and accommodating staff, quaint and comfortable rooms. We will return and thank Jacqueline and Ben for saving our sanity and trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have an adjoining door to the room next door. Room 302 is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent "mini getaway" and for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, on-site restaurant, and helpful staff. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Jacqueline and Ben and we hope to host your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

On short notice , my wife and i were able to schedule a quick overnight and we booked the SEACOAST DINING PACKAGE at the Ashworth By the Sea .
Even though the first week of June was the usual buggy in Hampton , the staff (thanks Lisa and Marge !)went out of their way to welcome us and find us a quiet room with a sunny balcony. ( loved the new glass railed balcony!!) Their focus was on making sure that we had a good get away and they did a wonderful job.
The valet parking was great and the hard running valets were able to get anything that we had left in the car.
We made reservations for dinner in the onsite Breaker's restaurant and had a wonderful meal with our very attentive waitress ( i believe it was Kaleen) .... even the Hostess and then a head Hostess , who may have been an owner though we were unsure and busy enjoying our meal , lol!
An after dinner swim in the well kept indoor/outdoor pool loosened us up for an evening of dancing ( at Breakers with a DJ ) . It was great to wander across the street to cool off with a walk on the boardwalk .....

After a good nights sleep we had a morning swim (the ocean was 55 degrees so having the pool available and practically all to ourselves was awesome .) We then went to Breaker's for a buffet breakfast that had all the fruit , pancakes , french toast , eggs, pastries, taters , etc. that one needs for a day on the beach .
And having the beach right across the street made it easy to get some sun and enjoy a hand in hand stroll ;^)
We had a fine time and plan to return for a longer visit to celebrate our wedding anniversary in a few weeks.
Thanks Asworth , keep that Staff happy as they are doing an outstanding job!!
Sincerely , Kevin and Lisa Cruser

Room Tip: spend a little extra for a larger room and the front room balconies seemed sunniest with the best be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Kevin and Lisa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you took advantage of our Seacoast Dining Package and enjoyed your meals and service at Breakers Restaurant. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and that our team provided outstanding service; we'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff. We value your business and look forward to having you back for your wedding anniversary stay!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been to Hampton many, many times on day trips. But this was my 1st time staying the weekend. I have always known the Ashworth as a hotel that's been there forever. I was pleasantly surprised that the renovation I had heard about was very well done. We booked a double room for us and the kids, and it was very nice! Comfy beds and pillows, nice bathroom with some great tile work. College dorm size Mini fridge, nice little balcony with a great view facing the beach! The fee for Valet parking was well worth it! The valet team were a great bunch of guys, and were very accommodating to our needs. Hotel staff were super friendly, even retrieving something we left behind with a smile! The "Breakers" restaurant was 4 star service, with 2 star pricing. We both got the Prime Rib special, and it was huge and delicious! The breakfast buffet was also very reasonable, with lots of great options, and everything was delicious. (Except the Belgian waffles were stale, but shame on us for waking up late!!) All in all we would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at hotel for one night mid-week in early June. Although there was plenty of off street parking, the hotel insisted (sign outside says you can't park yourself) that we valet park and charged an additional $15.00. Toilet flushing from other rooms that sounds like shotgun. Front desk staff doesn't look at you at check out. They don't ask if everything was ok or say thank you. Would not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want a postage stamp room ask for Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Rita,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize for the service failures you experienced during your visit as this is certainly not the service performance we expect of our associates. We welcome this constructive criticism as a means by which to continue the on-going training of associates and I will share your comments with the front desk staff. In regard to your mention of parking, guests may self-park if they wish; however, we do recommend valet service for our guests. I hope that you'll give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction and to provide you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
0.2 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#19 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £87 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing