We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our second visit in 14 years. It has been updated and you can't beat the location - right on the beach and 15 minutes to Portsmouth. We were last here in the winter - this time for a wedding in Alton. Good location between Boston and Alton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    261
    140
    63
    43
See reviews for
250
405
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were attending a concert at the Casino Ballroom and wanted to get a room rather than drive all the way home. It turned out to be a great idea! Booking the room was easy and hassle free. Once we got there, check out was simple and the room was nice. We enjoyed our small balcony. The next day we wanted to check out and then spend a couple of hours at the beach before leaving. The valet was nice enough to hold onto our car for a couple of hours even though we had already checked out. Really nice on their part!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

For our annual girls weekend, we decided to stay at Ashworth by the Sea. We enjoyed our stay. We arrived on Friday, at 1:00 p.m. and luckily, we were allowed to check in early. They have vallet parking and the guys are super nice and help you unload your car. We had a room on the right side of the building (if you are facing it) with an ocean view. The balcony was triangular so it was pretty small - only two people could fit on it at a time. The other downer about the balcony design is that the wall with the air conditioner is actually your neighbor's wall. So at night, our neighbors were out on the balcony staying up late, chatting, and we could hear everything.

The hotel was clean and tidy. Updated bathrooms. You have to pay extra for a refrigerator ($10 per day) and you have to pay for the valet parking $15.00 per car. The fridge was worth it though as we stocked it with beverages and lunch/breakfast/snacks. We saved a lot of money on food that way.

The beach is literally across the street and it's out of the world. You can't beat that.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good. Our waiter was great and the service was very good. They also have a rooftop lunch space that has a view of the beach as well.

They have an indoor pool which was O.K. Nothing great - but it wasn't horrible.

I would recommend this facility and would probably go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I decided on a mini getaway and decided to book the Ashworth by the Sea. We booked a partial ocean view with the Seacoast dining package that entitled us to breakfast and dinner. We arrived early and the Supervisor at the front desk did have a room available for us. We were given room 309 and we were so very happy with the room. Our partial view of the ocean was amazing. We enjoyed our balcony on a daily basis.

Breakers Restaurant & Bar had the most amazing food. It was delicious every time we had a meal, our compliments to the Chef. Service was wonderful and everyone was very courteous and polite. We will return for another stay for sure.

Thank You Ashworth by the Sea for making our two day getaway a great time.

Damms Family

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. 309 was an amazing view for a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Kristin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your mini getaway and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our ocean-view accommodations, helpful staff, and delicious food. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to the travel community and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Hampton Beach!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a way to kick off summer!! I was at the Ashworth last minute Saturday night after taking a risk and staying somewhere else on Friday and being horribly disappointed. I told my friend we needed to go to the only place to be for hotels in Hampton—Ashworth By The Sea!

I stay at the Ashworth at least two times each summer and have for the past five years and will not try another night staying somewhere else. As always, the staff was most helpful & the food was great (amazing calamari!). AND even though check in time is later, they were willing to park my car early Saturday morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you consistently enjoy our beachfront location, helpful staff, and delicious food. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first visit to Ashworth by the Sea and most likely will be our last.

We stayed here because me, my husband and my brother were attending a concert at the Casino Ballroom. I reserved the largest room they had available and specifically asked for an oceanfront balcony room back in Dec. 2013. A few weeks ago I called to confirm our reservation and room type (Ocean Front).

We were very disappointed with the accommodations. For the most expensive King Suite we did not get an Ocean Front w/Balcony. What we got was a balcony on a side street that overlooked the sidewalk and the balcony was so small the 3 of us could not fit on it at the same time. There weren't enough chairs so we called the front desk and asked for one to be brought to the room. It arrived a few minutes later. We had to request that the pullout sofa be made up twice but it never happened. At 11:30 pm when we arrived back at the hotel we still had to call the front desk for extra linens and a pillow. Nobody came in to make up the bed they just deposited the linens and left.

The dining room is expensive for the area, the breakfast buffet food (eggs, bacon, french toast, pancakes) was cold and this was at 9am!
Putting things in perspective for the area, this is still the best hotel on the boulevard but it is not a great hotel.

We had some minor issues with the valet. We parked our own car but they insisted on having keys to our car anyway because it was in their lot and they might have to move it. My car never moved from its spot but clearly somebody had been in my car because the seat had been moved. I did have some things in there of minimal value but nothing was taken. Not sure what was going on. From our window we could see the valets parking the cars and they were actually smoking cigarettes in the cars!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblybuddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We're sincerely sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our hotel and we apologize for the confusion in the requested room type. As far as the breakfast buffet, it is constantly manned and refreshed; however, we will review with the breakfast team to ensure that the correct amounts of food are out at any given time. We will use your comments as a training opportunity and appreciate your candor. We hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When we arrived at Ashworth by the Sea on Sunday June 8th, we had the option of street/lot parking or valet parking for $15.00. We opted for the valet parking, as we thought it was the safest alternative. XXXX, the valet who took the car said it was his third day on the job. We laughed, tipped him, and wished him good luck; as he had his hands full on a busy afternoon.

When we requested the car on Monday morning, a different young man brought it to us. We tipped him, and upon entering the car we immediately knew it had been ransacked. The contents of my glovebox and the center console were strewn about. We immediately called back the young man (valet) to tell him what had happened. He went to get his supervisor, who in turn needed to get someone else. A pair of prescription glasses, an iphone car charger, a pocket knife, and a bag of quarters (for parking, about $25.00) were taken. Nothing of great value was stolen, because (thank goodness) nothing of great value was left in the car.

No one from the hotel (while generally polite) had any sense of urgency with regard to our predicament. There was no offer of immediate reparation: just a staff member asking if we wanted to wait around and file a police report. Since the monetary value of the stolen items was minimal, and any further delay would have caused us to be late for work in Boston; we declined. We were told "someone will call you" and were given a business card as a contact point. The fact that we did not receive a return call, until we called days later and pointed out the poor response time--was abysmal. It would appear, "No police report = no problem."

As to the response from XXXX, I am clearly disappointed.
Whether or not the car was "locked" when the valet retrieved the car is immaterial—at some point in Ashworth's care the car was ransacked.
As for not having "any reports of cars being disturbed here at the hotel"--upon entering the car we immediately reported to Ashworth that items were stolen. This was our report— your comment makes it appear as if you doubt the accuracy of our account.
I don't know what type "documentation" you required, as we told three separate staff members what happened. I doubt a photograph of papers and tissues thrown around the front seats of the car would provide much more "documentation" for Ashworth.
As far as your valet associates training goes— (again, polite) they were trained to go and get their supervisor, who then goes and gets someone else, who does nothing more than offer to call the police…
I have a some suggestions that would have made all the difference to us…
Making a more timely response to the situation, this would give the appearance that there was concern on our behalf.
Giving an apology, a heartfelt admission that something bad happened whilst the car was in Ashworth's care. (While you/Ashworth apologize for not documenting the infraction, you do not apologize for the mishap itself).
Acknowledging that the theft of personal property is an emotional violation to a person, regardless of the monetary value involved.
Providing an immediate refund of the valet parking fee as a goodwill gesture?
These are some ideas that you may wish to consider if a similar situation occurs in the future. As to your offer of a gift certificate for a future stay at Ashworth by the Sea, we politely decline. We wish you the best, and hope that you revisit the handling of concerns of this type in the future.

Sincerely,

XXXX

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank TWABoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the service failures you experienced in response to the unfortunate situation regarding your car. We are reviewing all aspects of how we managed this to identify opportunities to improve and hope you'll accept our apology and give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent experience at our property.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#20 of 41 in Hampton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing