We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Ash worth for two nights. Great location, nice king room with a small balcony. Not a large room but plenty of space for two of us. Clean and well kept. Breakfast was very good at the Wharfside but food at the Breakers not very good. Walk down the street and you will find a lot of restaurants with much better food and service. Only negative, very poor service upon arrival. No help with luggage. We had to wait for our room so we had the valet park the car. When the room was ready the valet retrieved the car and just handed me the keys so we could get our luggage out of the car ourselves. No help was offered and the valet just disappeared into the hotel. Desk service wasn't great either. Should probably work on customer service training. Also, be prepared if you are a light sleeper, walls between rooms are very thin. Overall, nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony, front or side, great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjt743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    261
    140
    63
    43
See reviews for
250
405
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel for years, it looks so grand. Not all that's it's cracked up to be. The pool area needed to be updated and cleaned, everything including the doors were rusting out. Room was very plain but the view was amazing. Overpriced I think.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dandygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I had a great long weekend at your beautiful hotel. It was nearly perfect, except when we tried to get our car at checkout. We thought there might be a rush at checkout time, so we purposely checked out a little early. I gave my claim ticket to the valet, and waited almost 45 minutes to have my car brought to me! I was standing out there in the sun, with all of our luggage, watching people who came after me get their cars and drive away. Not one of the 3 valets approached me as I stood there! When I finally asked the young man about my car, the valet couldn't find my claim ticket. Apparently he had lost it and forgot all about getting my car. It would have been faster just to get my own car! He didn't even apologize for having me wait there so long. PLEASE review your current valet procedures. No one should have to wait that long to have there car returned. :(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was going to be a beautiful weekend, so we decided last minute to head to Hampton Beach. We've stayed at the Ashworth before, so I went online and got lucky. They had an oceanfront room available! Love the ocean and was looking forward to sitting on the balcony watching the waves.
So we get there, they have valet parking only...$15. You don't really have access to your vehicle. We check in and I'm told that the whole beach area had a black gnat issue this winter and they've done all they can, but they ask that you DONT open your balcony door. WHAT?! Now THIS was why I paid $300 for this room. No phone call or email BEFORE I got there informing me of this. No credit on the rate. Nothing but a piece of paper with the black gnat info on it. We weren't in our room ten minutes and the same paper they gave us at check in was slipped under our door.
We walked the boardwalk, ate at an outdoor cafe and sat outside listening to a concert on the beach. No issues with black gnats anywhere BUT The Ashworth. They were all over the outside of the sliders. I think it was an issue with the Ashworth not the whole beach area.
Ok so the beds were comfortable, room reasonable size, Vending machines outside the door. But the bug thing really wrecked it for me.
I got an email after my stay from them stating if I had any negatives about my stay to email them direct. Which I did. Nothing! No response...nothing. Don't think I'll be staying there again. The only thing they had going for them was the oceanfront view. Otherwise it's just another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHGIRL767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the current black gnat issue affecting Hampton Beach. The gnats were unanticipated; they hit the beach suddenly and we had to react quickly and did our best to inform our guests. This issue was a beach-wide problem and we unfortunately had no control over the situation. I hope you'll accept our apology and give us another opportunity to provide you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our second visit in 14 years. It has been updated and you can't beat the location - right on the beach and 15 minutes to Portsmouth. We were last here in the winter - this time for a wedding in Alton. Good location between Boston and Alton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were attending a concert at the Casino Ballroom and wanted to get a room rather than drive all the way home. It turned out to be a great idea! Booking the room was easy and hassle free. Once we got there, check out was simple and the room was nice. We enjoyed our small balcony. The next day we wanted to check out and then spend a couple of hours at the beach before leaving. The valet was nice enough to hold onto our car for a couple of hours even though we had already checked out. Really nice on their part!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

For our annual girls weekend, we decided to stay at Ashworth by the Sea. We enjoyed our stay. We arrived on Friday, at 1:00 p.m. and luckily, we were allowed to check in early. They have vallet parking and the guys are super nice and help you unload your car. We had a room on the right side of the building (if you are facing it) with an ocean view. The balcony was triangular so it was pretty small - only two people could fit on it at a time. The other downer about the balcony design is that the wall with the air conditioner is actually your neighbor's wall. So at night, our neighbors were out on the balcony staying up late, chatting, and we could hear everything.

The hotel was clean and tidy. Updated bathrooms. You have to pay extra for a refrigerator ($10 per day) and you have to pay for the valet parking $15.00 per car. The fridge was worth it though as we stocked it with beverages and lunch/breakfast/snacks. We saved a lot of money on food that way.

The beach is literally across the street and it's out of the world. You can't beat that.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good. Our waiter was great and the service was very good. They also have a rooftop lunch space that has a view of the beach as well.

They have an indoor pool which was O.K. Nothing great - but it wasn't horrible.

I would recommend this facility and would probably go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#21 of 41 in Hampton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing