We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson, Connecticut
1 review
“relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at the Ashworth on Sept. 14, 2010, and even though it was off season we found the Ashworth to be very nice. The rooms were very clean and the staff was excellent to us. We had a ocean side view room and it was great to sit out on the private balcony and relax and listen to the ocean. We ate at their fine restaurant and found the food to be excellent, they also have the best strawberry margueritas. The room service was good too, all in all I have no complaints about the Ashworth and would recommend it to everyone. We did not have to do valet parking, we had free parking across the street and it was very convenient. The best part is it is right across from the beach for those romantic evening walks on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna33948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    251
    136
    60
    40
See reviews for
247
392
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The bad news; the hotel needs a lot of work and is quite dated and the room really was not clean. I would never stay a holiday weekend again as the weekend rate is almost 400.00 and should be around 120.00. Also have to have car taken by valey which charges 7.00 a night and a refridg is 10.00 a night. The good news is the hotel is away from the arcade restaurants etc which is nice. Big spralling beach in front of you. The restaurant was not a 4 star but very pretty and comfortable food adequete and reasonably priced. The beds are very comfortable. Overall had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

For full rate, we were put in a cramped room which had a decrepit 2foot balcony over the kitchen vents which were loud and smelled of fry grease. The screen door was bent and would not close.
The valet parking , for which there is no alternative, was inconvenient and resulted in an unaccounted for scrape to my rear bumper..
The desk staff on check in day were not helpful or accomodating.
We did not use the pool as the water looked "murky".

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movinon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly concerned about the problems that you have experienced while staying at our hotel over the busy Labor Day weekend. We accommodate many guests each evening and constantly strive to make every one happy. Our principal goal at the Ashworth is to provide outstanding service to all guests at a proper price.

Please accept our deepest apologies and be assured that we will address all issues with the appropriate actions.

If you have any concerns regarding your vehicle or how it was handled at the hotel, please call me directly at 603-926-6762 x615

Sincerely,
Peter Coutis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Checked in in the middle of the week and the room still wasn't ready by 3.00 When we got to the room coffe maker was not there and ice bucket missing. Trash under the nightstand and dresser. (It was accesible with a vaccuum. 2 metal bars sticking out on one side of the bed.I must of hit my leg (and bruised) 10 times. It was a hit or miss on if you got packets of coffee for the next day or not. The coffee was so bad maybe it was a good idea to not leave me any. But when your paying 249.00 a nite, I want my coffee! Pool heater wasn't on. Ice machine on the floor broken, so constantly had to go to another floor. Yes they have valet parking, Rob is the only postive thing about the place. Reviewing my bill upon check out and they try to charge you $7.00 per car for parking. I could park in an overnite parking lot for 5.00! When I told them I made my reservations in January, they did remove the parking charge but still tried to get the extra 42.00 from me. They charge 10.00 a day for a microwave and Refrig each. We booked for 6 nites. The food in the resturant was good. But the waitress didn't know what the specials were and tried to charge regular price. I will gonext store to the charm of the Kentville, free popcorn, coffee, microwave and refrigerator, puzzes and a view of the ocean for half the cost. Sometimes you have to learn the hard way 1700.00 later...
Internet never worked correctly, blamed my computer but several people were complaining about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehamptonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to bring these items to management's attention; we only wish that we had the chance to correct these issues while you were still staying with us. Let me apologize for the problems that you experienced while at the Ashworth.

Just a little background on the hotel, we were built in 1912 and as you can imagine, updating and maintaining a hotel with our history is a continuous process and something we have taken very seriously over the last 4 years. We continue to invest in the Ashworth and feedback such as yours will help us pinpoint the highest need areas and improve the Ashworth experience for all to come.

Many Thanks,

Peter Coutis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I have been at the Ashworth several times and enjoy everytime I stay there. I prefer the rooms in the brick or older part of the Ashworth. This last time I brought my two grandsons and was thankful for the indoor pool when some rain came for one day. The dinner was wonderful and they had great pizza for the young ones. The Ashworth is the only place I stay when we go to Hampton Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

It looks great on the web - a seaside place with character. The reality is very different. If you like cinder-block design, dark rooms, and the sound of motorcycles, this is the place for you.

Good location, very close to the beach. But also very close to a lot of traffic and other noise. It's hard to believe they can get away with charging almost $400 a night for a Motel 6 "plastic cups" type place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments and concerns, we take all guest feedback seriously. Please be assured that these issues will be raised and addressed with the proper action. It is thanks to user feedback such as this that we are able to pinpoint what we are doing right, and what areas we need to improve on to ensure guest satisfaction on a nightly basis.

Your willingness to share is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in Hampton Beach.

Regards,
Peter Coutis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I have visited many places with our kids (13 and 12) and I've never written a review before. I have to say that I loved Ashworth by the Sea. Our suite was just as described, our view was spectacular, and the staff couldn't be more pleasant or helpful. Unfortunately for us it rained every day we were there except for one, but the kids had the indoor pool and they loved it. We enjoyed our dinners at Breakers Restaurant and breakfast at the Wharfside Coffee Shop. I'm looking forward to going back next summer. It was such a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shutuplena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing