We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most relaxing and comfortable hotel by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
“the most relaxing and comfortable hotel by the sea”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

what can i say but outstanding...the place was just as pictured. everything was within the walls of this fabulous hotel. i've travel alot in my life and i do have to say, that this was the best of everything

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    271
    145
    65
    48
See reviews for
261
415
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My family and I planned an impromptu trip up to New England for the fall foliage (alas, we were a little early). It was hard to find rooms this time of year at the last minute, but we were able to book The Ashworth. Upon pulling up in front, I feared we were going to be stuck at a dirty, amenity-free seaside dive. I was more than pleasantly surprised upon walking into the lobby. It was clean, well-decorated, and the service was superb. Free valet parking solved the parking issue, our room was spacious and with a fantastic view. We stayed in the Luxury Suite at a reasonable rate. We went down to The Breakers restaurant for snacks and cocktails and it was truly a pleasant, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryOMalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Newly renovated dining room and guest rooms really have perked up the Ashworth this year and provides just another reason why I stay at the Ashworth year after year. There is a new fresh appearance and a new fresh attitude about the place. Everyone seems so friendly and alive. Change has been good for the Ashworth. It will keep me coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

I read reviews about rooms not being clean, so I was a little worried. Our room was clean, but the hotel smells musty. I'm sure it is because it is old, so I didn't let it bother me. You can tell that the room had been updated. Our room was pretty small. Not much room for our big suitcase.

We were looking for a good place to eat (other than the hotel restaurant), but the front desk couldn't suggest anything.

We ate at the The Wharfside Coffee Shop twice and the service was awful! We should have learned the first time. I do not suggest this place for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyw889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
We thank you for your positive comments about our cleanliness. The Ashworth has a fine tradition of hiring the best housekeepers at Hampton Beach. the guestrooms were recently renovated and the restaurant and lounge completed their transformation in May 2010.

The demand for people staying with us has never been higher in each month of this year. We are proud of our improvements and will continue to improve basd on what our guests tell us they want.

Your comments about our coffee shop, Wharfside, will be taken seriously and improvements will be made.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Sincerely,
Peter Coutis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Hotel stay was a very pleasant one. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Balcony was nice addition to the room , views of beach/ocean were great. Food in dining room was very good. Staff was very nice. Only negative thing to say is that no shops/restaurants were open on the Blvd. for shopping and dining. Shut down for season already. If you want a quiet relaxing getaway, then early fall is the time to go!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Have stayed many times, alone and with family. Tragically Hampton Beach, NH was devastated by a storm so terrible, area businesses endured fire, roofs torn off and windows blown to shambles by storm. Ashworth by the Sea's staff went above and beyond to keep quest safe and encouraged. The hotel was great before but now even more lovely with the remolding. 2 restaurants, one with fireplace. Rooms with side ocean are understated as the view is terrific. Open year round, winter is fun and the pool is truly kept warm. I will be a lifetime visitor! Cherie W. Concord, N.H.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank justmecherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

There are a few times when a place makes such a memory as when I asked my fiancee for her hand in marriage. We had room 155, we were on the balcony overlooking the sea, and we also had fireworks. In order to get to that moment, there had to be good people, and the people at the Ashworth were outstanding. The rooms were clean, the valets were friendly and helpful, along with the staff at the desk (Colleen in particular)...it truly was a night to remember.

Thank you again Ashworth!
-Peter F.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishrider1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#13 of 41 in Hampton
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing