We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ashworth was great off-season so on-season must be perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Ashworth was great off-season so on-season must be perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

It was a clean, comfortable, quiet, and a very pleasant long overdue stay for me. I wish that I could have stayed longer. I enjoyed the solitude of off-season too. I wish I had remembered my suit for the pool! Breakfast was tasty and everyone at the front desk pleasant when I needed directions to a few places. I attended a Halloween Party at the Upper Deck with my biker friends the night and day worked very well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thankyou!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidiy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    255
    137
    60
    40
See reviews for
248
396
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I stayed here while attending a concert at the nearby Casino Ballroom. As it was off season, I was happy to find a great bar/grill downstairs next to the hotel lobby. Very good food with good pricing too. My husband and I ordered the Fried Spring Roll appetizer, French Onion soup, a house salad and a hearty Fish sandwich. We were very happy with our room, although small, had a nice deck where we were able to watch the sunset. If you are going to Hampton Beach, stay right on the beach! We were very happy here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmony2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

After an average night in Binghampton, NY and a terrible night in Brockton, MA we were ready to just go home. So it was an absolute pleasure to get to the Ashworth. I stayed here in 1997 for 1/2 night. All I remembered Is that view was awesome. 13 years later I came back for a few days stay to do "Leafs and Lobster". We weren't disappointed at all. Your staff, every single one we met, were friendly and their service was superior. We stayed for 3 days and traveled from Boston to Portland with no difficulties. Breakfast in the coffee shop was great and I'm not even going to attempt to describe the Sunday Brunch Buffet, except to say It was INCREDIBLE! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit0942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here this past weekend for our honeymoon. I had always gone to Hampton Beach as a teenager and wanted to share the experience with my husband. This is my second time in 5 years staying at this hotel and the last time was very good, but this time was just amazing. EVERY staff member made us feel like they had known us for years. EVERY staff member had a smile and we both thought all the amenities in the hotel were amazing. It was in itself an "inclusive resort" the only time you would want to leave the hotel is to go to the beach - which is right there in front of you! My husband and I are already planning our trip back! Kudo's to Colleen, Matt, the Valet Team and especially the GM of the Hotel Dave. I can't imagine anyone having a poor experience here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

My friend and I have been traveling to Hampton twice a year for the past 20+ years. We had previously stayed at Lamies Inn, mainly because of a wonderful employee Colleen. She always made our stay perfect for us and was always so welcoming that we felt as if we were visiting family. Last spring we were sad to learn that Colleen was no longer working at Lamies. It was very apparent in the way that we were treated. So, when we planned our trip this fall, we were thrilled to find out that Colleen was now working at the Ashworth by the Sea. We were met with the usual friendliness and professionalism that we had expected at Lamies but did not get on our last visit. Colleen made sure that we had a perfect room! The Ashworth is a beautiful hotel with the best ocean views. The rooms are updated and very spacious and comfortable. The beds were heavenly! The best hotel sleep I had ever gotten! The patio overlooking the ocean was a great amenity and we spent quite a bit of time there. We even slept with the door partially open to listen to the water. There is a wonderful restaurant and coffee shop in the hotel. We had a delicous meal in the restaurant and the service there was excellant. I am so glad that we have now found the perfect place to stay in Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysmom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for the kind words about your trip to Ashworth By The Sea. We were happy to add Colleen to our staff as we do take pride in searching for the most hospitable people available. We will be sure to pass your comments on to her as well as the rest of the associates here at our establishment. We have taken great strides in improving the overall experience of our guests. Renovations to both our guest rooms and restaurant areas have recently been completed as well as our menu being updated. We are continually emphasizing hospitality with our staff and it appears to be working based on your review.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we have succeeded.

Sincerely
David Giampietro, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

$200 a night for small room, small balcony and horrible breakfast restaurant. Bar lacked personality and warmth. Rooms have very thin walls, can hear alarm clock in next room and dog whining in next room. Beach under construction, most stores closed on strip and fall festival was lackluster. Best part of hotel was the valet guy "ROB". Enjoyed the "Old Salt" restaurant on Rte. 1. Wouldn't stay here again and even merchant's in town comment freely about this hotel being over priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefriend201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Please accept our sincere apologies from the entire staff at Ashworth By The Sea. It is unfortunate that the rates and decor were not up to your standards. We have recently put $1,000,000 of improvements into the design of our lounge and restaurant to bring it up to a new standard to include the warmth of our furnishings. We appreciate your input as it helps us with decisions on future renovations. We are looking into all of your observations as it is with input from our guests that we are able to continue to improve the overall guest experience.

During the month of October we received an enormous amount of demand for the Columbus Day weekend which impacted the cost of our rooms.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with information that can be utilized in our continual improvement process.

Sincerely,
David Giampietro, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

The room was large and very comfortable. View of the ocean.
Great bar, able to watch the baseball game. Good food and excellent service. There was a D.J. and obviously this was the place to be on this Friday night!. The breakfast buffet had a great selection, and my panckes were freshly prpared.!. Everything was hot and there was a great selection of fruit and juices.. I am not a devotee of buffets, but this one I would recommend.
The coffee shop attached to the hotel is also a great place for breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing