We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Hotle room was excellent, clean and warm. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food at pub was excellent and breakfast at the Warfside was excellent. We will need to go on a diet now for sure. Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    255
    137
    60
    40
See reviews for
248
396
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

It was a lovely time...we were trying to get away from all the packing, we had just bought a house and were taking a break..we had lovely service at the bar, of course nothing can beat the ocean, walks on the beach, watching the sun rise, and even getting a sightly later checkout even though the hotel was full for New Year's Eve. We were even able to bring our dog, which was so convenient and made the evening more enjoyable, since she probably loves the beach more than we do!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnacoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

My fiancee and I love the Ashworth. We booked a suite there for a weekend this past September for the purpose of deciding whether or not to have our wedding there. We ARE having our wedding at the Ashworth I am happy to report.

The room was tastefully decorated and clean. The bathroom was huge. The only thing that would have made the room 5 stars is a tub. I enjoy long soaks while on vacation and there wasn't one.

The staff is very attentive and polite. I wish I could give them more than 5 stars. We ordered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to celebrate our engagement and we felt like royalty when they delivered them. The staff really knows how to make guests feel special. Something that is not easy to find these days.

The service and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. We had dinner there and enjoyed the Sunday brunch buffet. The presentation was excellent and we had no complaints about any of our meals.

If you're looking to stay somewhere special, you can't beat the Ashworth.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltron5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

While the Ashworth by the Sea may offer some of the best views, food, service, rooms, and location in Hampton Beach, as their marketing proclaims, it by no means came close to delivering on the promised elegantly furnished rooms and finest dining in New England.

While our room (and the hotel) appears to have been partially renovated within the past five years, the furnishings and fixtures come off more "Days Inn" than "Beach Resort". Of the 3 restaurants, one was only open on the weekends, while the other two (breakfast very disappointing, and dinner average), definitely did not meet the promised finest dining in New England threshold.

This being said, our biggest disappointment was reserved for the total lack of shops/restaurants open in the immediate vicinity during the off-season. While we didn't come in expecting the area to be the next Newburyport or Portsmouth, it was a ghost town mid-week, with even McDonald's boarded up for the season.

While the hotel did disappoint, the service should be recognized for being quite good. Our waitress in the morning for breakfast was excellent, very welcoming, and a pleasure, while the front-desk staff were friendly and helpful.

In summary, while very well-located and perhaps the best of market in-season, if you come in expecting a resort experience, you are likely to leave disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointments that you encountered while staying at the Ashworth By The Sea.
We value your input on our renovation but were trying to select appointments that were within the style of the original Ashworth By The Sea. We will take your comments into consideration for future decisions involving our interior design.
We are constantly revamping our menus in an effort to improve both quality and variety for our guests and welcome the opportunity to improve.
I was happy to read about the high level of service that you did receive and will be sure to pass along your positive comments to those individuals that you interacted with at the hotel.

Warmest Regards and Happy Holidays

David Giampietro, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ocean-front view and walking along the beach. However, though our bed and bathroom were clean, crumbs on the carpet and chairs certainly were a turn-off. When I saw the "dust bunnies" in the balcony sliding door, I wondered how they could let a potentially lovely room go to seed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugar1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Our overnight at Ashworth by the Sea was simply put "FABULOUS," we were treated like royalty.
The General Manager, Mr. Peter Coutis put us in an ocean view room which was spectacular and made our stay one we will always remember. Watching that sunrise was beautiful, and we thank Mr. Peter Coutis for that.

Upon check in, the front desk staff was wonderful and courteous always a "hello' when coming and going, and making sure we knew of all the facilities Ashworth has to offer.

When entering their restaurant, The Breakers Cafe and Lounge, Peter Coutis greeted us and gave us a tour of the newly renovated dining and lounge area, it was so interesting and has a very comfortable atmosophere. The waitress Tracy was AWESOME with conversation and service, so much so, I gave her a big hug when leaving.

After returning from the Casino Ballroom and seeing Craig Fergerson, we sat in the Breakers Cafe Lounge and enjoyed drinks and music, Craig Fergerson himself came in, and he too seemed to be so relaxed and happy with the atmosphere.

Again a big THANK YOU to the General Manager, Mr. Peter Coutis, for our overall stay was wonderful and for going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy - THANK YOU MR. PETER COUTIS!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

It was a clean, comfortable, quiet, and a very pleasant long overdue stay for me. I wish that I could have stayed longer. I enjoyed the solitude of off-season too. I wish I had remembered my suit for the pool! Breakfast was tasty and everyone at the front desk pleasant when I needed directions to a few places. I attended a Halloween Party at the Upper Deck with my biker friends the night and day worked very well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thankyou!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidiy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing