We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Yourself A Favor And Stay Away”
Review of Sands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sands Resort
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Saco, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do Yourself A Favor And Stay Away”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I thought we were getting a deal that was too good to be true. It was. We were drawn to The Sands by it's great location and great price, but we quickly found out that location was really the only good thing this place has going for it. It's not right on the beach but it's less than a block away and the boardwalk is right there as well.
However, after arriving in our room we learned that in addition to the terrible smell in the room- our door didn't close properly and you could get in without the room key. When we asked someone to come look at it, the guy who came just slammed it closed and said he wouldn't have to fix it, but we changed rooms anyway. Later we tried that door again just to see if it had been fixed, and it never was.
When we checked out the bed it had someone elses hair all over it and smelled like someone had slept there the night before.
The couch in the living area was so raggedy we were afraid to sit on it.
Our second room was slightly better than that, but we were already too grossed out to even deal with the shower (no shower head).
We only stayed there one night and checked out the next morning. They were cool about letting us park there past our check out time so we wouldn't have to pay for beach parking.
Overall, please do yourself a favor and find any one of the dozens of other hotels in Hampton Beach to stay at. It'll be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    29
    17
    14
    53
See reviews for
66
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

my family and i stayed at this dump. we tryed to make the best of the dirty bed, smelly room and dirty floors and the kids sleeped on a broken bed. the toilet cloged up twice on us. when called the front desk to come and fix toilet the manager gave an attitude and when he was in the room he got loud and ignorent in front of my children over something he was right about but could have talked about it in a profesional manor instead of getting in my face.so i deffended my self and told him to get out of my face and he kicked my family and i out. three cops came to escort out an 8 year old an 11 year old a woman and myself.never again will i even step foot in the so called resort i might get bugs!!!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms in this resort the best room is another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank housee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

western mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I didn't have any problems at the Sands like the ones I've seen reading reviews on the internet. While nowhere near a five star resort it's fairly priced and has a great location. Near the beach but away from the noise & folks on the boardwalk. Room service gave us fresh towels etc. everyday and all the staff was super nice! Nice full size refrigerator and mini kitchen (no stove but they had a microwave). My only complaint was the blinds DO NOT keep out the sunlight in the morning! We plan on bringing some eye masks next year. If you & your loved one or a couple friends want a nice affordable room by the beach I definitely recommend checking out the Sands. We're Headed back next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our room smelled horrible, and our bed had bed bugs. We immediately checked out...glad we didn't bring any of our stuff up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meg1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very good location it is near the beach. We were a little worried after reading the review, but we had no trouble ,the place was clean and there was no bed bugs. We stayed there a week and had a pleasant stay. The price is reasonable compare to others,and the employes at the reception were very nice.We would certainly stay there again if we go back to Hampton

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Gini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We checked in, and did not stay for more than 30 minutes. Found ants in the bedding and the pillow on the couch smelled of urine and had a huge stain on it. Asked for a refund of half the cost, was told I had to dispute it to get any type of refund. The desk clerk had heard this story before, and had an automatic response. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank susanscioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This place is so disgusting. Our couch was covered in urine and our bed had bugs in it. When we went to the front desk(15min after checking in) we were told we would not be refunded. The man was so rude and so unprofessional. This place is a dump. You would be better off sleeping on a park bench.

Room Tip: stay someplace else..any place else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariannepm1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tides Motel
The Tides Motel
#28 of 41 in Hampton
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harris Sea Ranch Motel
Harris Sea Ranch Motel
#20 of 41 in Hampton
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort

Property: Sands Resort
Address: 32 Ashworth Avenue, Hampton, NH 03842
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing