We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back for sure!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sands Resort
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would go back for sure!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at the Sands over the 4th of July and couldn't be happier. Staff was great, very nice and professional. My room was clean and very welcoming. I read previous reviews, which surprised me as all windows, doors and screens in my unit worked just fine. I would recommend staying here and I plan on going back before the end of the summer again, probably for a week this time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    29
    15
    13
    52
See reviews for
62
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at the Sands last year and was pleased with the room and staff. This year I can only say that the staff was great. Our suite/room was very disappointing. The cabinets were dirty, the sofa bed should have been thrown out, the screen in the bedroom was full of holes. I noticed mold in the bathroom ceiling and notified the front desk. A staff employee looked at it and said it did look like mold. He came back with Kilz - you know the stain blocker - and sprayed it. Well the Kilz dripped down the side of the wall and left a complete mess. The towel bar kept breaking so we didn't use it. The box spring had a large brown stain on the side. The carpeting had at least seven (7) large burn holes in it. The wallpaper was badly stained and coming off the wall. There were dust webs throughout the whole suite. Couldn't stay on the deck long because water from the third floor air conditioner leaked. I am so disappointed because I really liked this resort. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunky48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

read the reviews and went anyway.reviews lie!!! great little condo type units with private bedroom so we got a little privacy while the kids slept on the pullout sofa bed in the living room with their own tv. units were clean with a full size fridge and freezer so we could by food and save from going out every night. very clean with great housekeeping services. management staff was exceptional. we were well treated and cared for by everyone. easy walk to beach and all the activities. we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Screen door wouldn t lock, sofa pull out bed disgusting, dirty and inside matress all teared apart. Dishes not clean. Phone not working. Hard to close and lock door when leaving, hard to close bathroom door. No dish soap, no shampoo. Unreal. Will never stay there again, not even if they d charge me $5.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chevalier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This place has bed bugs! Seriously. Do yourself a favor and stay away. And, the mold smell? Bed bug infestations could cause a smell similar to it. If you don't believe me, then check it out for yourself. Ask the front desk if you could check out the room before you stay there. I guarantee that you will smell the moldy smell as you walk down the hallways and into the room. Don't learn the hard way- just pick another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseP57
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just got back from a fabulous weekend. If you can afford the Ashworth, more power to you, go stay there. If you want something reasonable, in a good location, with everything you really need, I would recommend the Sands. Yes, luxury is a little exageration, but how much time do you really spend in the room? (unless it's the Ashworth. For those prices, I'd never leave.) I've never found the staff to be anything but accomodating even late at night. My only comment to mgt would be that you might want to consider replacing some of those pull-out couches; they've seen better days. Not enough, however, to keep me away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DeniseP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family tried staying here in May 2012. It was one horrible! First, the key card did not work, so we had to go get it reset. We opened the door to the room and it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. The room itself was dirty, there was hair in the bed, the TV was broken and there was an inch of dirt on the sprinkler head on the ceiling. I went back down to the lobby and asked for a different room because of the smell. The manager brought me to another room, and the master key didn't work. We went to a third room and all you could smell was mold. We checked out, got a refund and stayed at the Ashworth, which was amazing. Save yourself the aggravation and stay awat from this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel
Atlantic Sands Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort

Property: Sands Resort
Address: 32 Ashworth Avenue, Hampton, NH 03842
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing