We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a bit overpriced.”
Review of Marguerite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marguerite Motel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel has a great location. Front desk was friendly. Rooms are pretty basic. 150 Dollars is too high for the room you get. Great location if you are going to Casino Ballroom, or the beach. There were two of us staying in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobtlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was my first time Cape Cod and it was beautiful ! I had no idea where I was going to stay and I found the place by chance ! Everyone was so kind and nice what was to be an overnight stay turned into a three night stay ! If you needed the staff Micheal has his cell on his ear at all times and was seconds away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed in this motel for a night to avoid the 1-1/2 drive home after a show at the Ballroom. Room smelled horrible and there was water on the bathroom floor either leaking from toilet or sink. Wiped up the water, but came back to the same thing after returning for the night. Glad I only had to sleep there and then get up and head out! Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robyn382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for a friends Bday to spend at the beach and not drive all the way home. It served it's purpose as we weren't going to spend much time in the room anyhow. Would have been helpful to have had a pamplet with local places for ordering take out, or even an office to be able to call if anything was wrong- they close in the evenings. The office was also n ot open when we left and we were not directed as to what we should do with our key upon leaving. I had to leave it with another guest we didn't know as we had to leave. Overall it was an OK stay, but if you're not looking for cheap then this is probably not your best option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nothing good about this place. You get a room with two double beds but they only allow 2 people to stay in the room! Only allow you one parking spot as well. If you decide you want friends to come by after dinner to lounge their police-like security guard will wave a flashlight in their face and treat them like criminals. The rooms themselves smell like mold, the blankets are like cardboard and the bathroom is covered with living and dead ants. Disgusting place, really rude staff. Stay elsewhere please!

Room Tip: Nothing good about this place except maybe the pool.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brayden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargMotelMgr, Manager at Marguerite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you Braydon for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy yourself as much as you would have liked to and that the property did not meet your HIGH expectations. In response to the comments you have included in your review I would like to provide the back story.

1) how many people were allowed in the room; when you made your reservation nearly 2 weeks in advance you were sent an email to indicate that the rate was for a double occupancy room and if it was different please let us know in advance and we would adjust it accordingly. In addition to our confirmation letter you received one from the online site (Booking.com) through where you made the reservation, on their site it clearly states that the room is maximum occupancy of 2Adults & 2Children. As a follow up to the number of people staying over you did indicate shortly after arrival that you may have another person stay over; as you indicated a friend that was going to the Dark Star Orchestra concert may not be fit to drive home and in reply we said it was OK and that we would deal with that in the morning. Not realizing that the once party of 2 was to become 3 and by morning you were a party 5 in a room that would definitely be too small for 4 adults, I wouldn't even attempt to put a family of 2Adults & 3Children in there knowing it would be too small a room for more than 4.

2) how many cars you were entitled to park on the property; in the same confirmation letter sent it clearly said we can guarantee one space per room.. Excuse me but we did our best to provide parking for your 2nd car; with the $15 you paid for the second car we rented space off-site to provide parking to a car for a room arriving later.

3) having guests after dinner; it was more like after the Dark Star Orchestra concert and it was well after 10PM since that is when our "police like security guard" starts his shift. If you recall the same confirmation letter sent when the reservation was made and in the house rules you were presented at check-in that the property adheres to quiet hours from 10PM to 8AM. we are serious about these hours since the majority of our guests are families and others looking to a quiet place to enjoy their vacation time.

4) the rooms smells like mold, bed linens were like cardboard and there were ants (dead & alive) in the bathroom; you checked into the room in the early afternoon hours, we even spoke on a few occasions between then and my departure from the property at 7PM, not once during these 4 -5 hours did you indicate that the room was not to your satisfaction. If you had we would have been able to accomplish several things. Most likely we would have moved you to a room that was suitable large enough for your party of 5, we would have made sure the room you moved to or even the one you were in was cleaned to a point where you would have been satisfied.

We do the best with what we have for information, if you had told us of these matters early enough during your stay we would have been glad to make things better. Our apologies for not meeting your HIGH expectations, but this was a 2 way street and early feedback provides for early solutions to resolve the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Group of friends had annual gathering for a concert. This year was for ZZ Top concert. Close to Casino Ballroom. Close to beach, restaurants and great walking. Relatively quiet and very clean. Good parking. Great staff and manager.

Room Tip: Liked the second floor porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziff_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Bunch of us stayed here for the Smuttynose Rockfest. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and tidy. Cable TV worked fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The amenities were lacking a bit. As others have mentioned lack of coffee or coffee makers, locks on the doors and some sort of wifi would make this place even better.

Room Tip: Office side tended to be quieter especially when a show is at the Ballroom. The side opposite the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#23 of 41 in Hampton
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marguerite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marguerite Motel

Address: 112 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £104 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marguerite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marguerite Motel is centrally located, just one-block to Hampton Beach and 3 blocks to the center of all beach activities. We offer non-smoking rooms in a family friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with 32" flat panel TVs, a small refrigerator, air conditioning and private bathrooms. We have several rooms also equipped with a kitchenette or a small efficiency unit. Free parking is available on site for one car per room. Our heated pool is a center of activity for all guests to enjoy. From here you can walk to the sandy beach (approximately 5-10 minutes) or the beach center (approximately 10-15 minutes). We are close to several restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marguerite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marguerite Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing