We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for family vacation”
Review of Grand View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand View Motel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from 3 nights. Family of 4 (kids 9 & 11) Great location - right across from beach, nice to leave the car and just walk. Easy to return if something was forgotten. Within walking distance to main strip, yet far enough away from noise and partying. Staff are very friendly, offered beach stuff and boards to borrow if needed. We had a room on the 3rd floor at the back Ocean View - 2 double beds small for 4 people. Room was small - bathroom even smaller. Would have been nice if we could have opened the window-vent in the bathroom, but there was no handle. Window air conditioner was extremely noisy. Nice to have a fridge and microwave handy. Family loved the view - sat on the balcony late afternoon before heading for dinner.
Overall simple and easy - nothing more - nothing less.

Room Tip: If the view doesn't matter, go with the queen beds,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White66coupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Here’s the good: 1. directly across the street from Hampton beach at a slightly less crowded part of the beach. The beach is great and in July we found the ocean was quite swimmable. 2. Reasonable rates considering the location. 3. Management are friendly and helpful. Attention to a problem with the television not working was prompt and effective. 4. Our room had a kitchenette with a full fridge and stove. Here are a few things to consider: 1. Rooms in the 3 story section behind the main building are small. We were 3 in a two bedroom with kitchenette and it was tight. 2. Older window air conditioners directly above the beds at the headboard, and bedroom doors must be left open for air conditioning to be effective in the sitting/dining area. We found this noisy and uncomfortable. 3. Mattresses are older and small. 4. Sparsely decorated and furnished. 5. You can’t open the window in the washroom and there is no fan. 6. There are no phones in the units. If you plan to spend most of your time on the beach and out in the evening, these concerns may not be a problem. This property is all about location. But you must be prepared to live with the above considerations.

Room Tip: Bring your own folding chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just got back from staying here. The location is great, short walking distance to the strip with the beach right across the street. The room is VERY small to my surprise when I opened the door. We spent most of our time outside to see what's around that how big the room was didn't bother me. One downfall of the room was that the fridge didn't work. It froze everything! Ruined all our fruit and sandwich meats. Other than that, good place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPARX11211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We are a family of 5 with children ages 9,14, and 15. We wanted to go to the beach to relax, see the sand sculptures, and watch the fireworks. It seemed like a perfect start to our summer. I booked the Grandview because there was no availability for a family of 5 at the other two family locations I looked into, but I am so glad we found this place. I am extremely picky about cleanliness and found this place very clean. I also wanted something close to the beach and restaurants without being right in it, since I wanted the kids to get to sleep. This is just the right distance from everything. We walked everywhere! I didn't need top notch accommodations and amenities either and this place offers a little bit more than the basics. Our room had a pull out sofa, two queen beds, a small fridge and a microwave. Our t.v. had cable and our room had a/c. Wi-fi was available and there was a small front porch right outside our room. Also in the room was a desk and chair and a small dresser under the t.v.. There was an area above the desk where you could hang things that needed hanging but that was a bit awkward for us when using the desk. Other than that everything was fine. The bathroom was small with a tub shower, sink and toilet but the tub was spotless. It looked new and the fabric curtain was a pretty pattern. We were greeted upon check-in by two wonderful, very friendly people who even gave us pointers about what was going on this weekend and recommendations for places to eat. They were super nice and check-in was very quick and easy. The prices were reasonable for my family and we felt very safe and comfortable. We slept well in comfortable beds with just the right amount of blankets. Although the door to the unit was all glass and there was a slider that was all glass, the area was pretty safe. Some people even left their doors open. We plan on coming back to the area frequently because it is close enough to home and there is so much to do for all ages. There are multiple shops, arcades, frequent fireworks, monday night movies, places to eat, a playground and plenty to see. There are concerts and the beach is pretty clean. They groom the beach at night and the sand is beautiful. We walked into the bathrooms and I was pleasantly surprised to see so many staff always around cleaning and keeping the place nice looking. The beach bathrooms were well kept! We will be back again and will stay at the Grandview. Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khi_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My fiance and I booked the Grand View Suite last weekend to celebrate my birthday and it was amazing! The room was clean, the view was AMAZING, Gary was so friendly and accommodating for us! We highly recommend staying at this hotel :)

Room Tip: Grand View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My partner an I are from Indiana, we do pet rescue we were here in oct of lady year as well, Gary the owner was kind enough to let us come stay with some special needs that we had he was the only motel owner on the strip that would help us out, with a great deal, there is no other place as far as we are concerned to stay that even comes close to Gary's hospitality!!! Thank you so much Gary for being the person that you are sincerely Donna and Debbi

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We went on this three day trip not knowing what to expect and we were so pleasantly surprised.
This is magnificently located and appropriately named "Grand View"!
The proprietors were perhaps the nicest people we've met and we've been on many many trips.
They were hospitable, very accomodating and so helpful.
This is a very clean place with all the ammenities, not overly fancy, just very well kept- what more do you need at the beach - cable t.v., a fridge, A/C microwave etc..and some dynamite people!!!
Overall an Excellent Stay!!! We'd go again in a heartbeat!
Bill & Jude

Room Tip: Second Floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
926 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Motel

Address: 353 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3632
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: £77 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Grand View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing