We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable motel perfectly situated on Hampton Beach!”
Review of Grand View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand View Motel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Swanton, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean, comfortable motel perfectly situated on Hampton Beach!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband, 14 year old daughter, her friend, & I were at the Grand View for 3 nights. Our room had a double bed as you came in, then a separate bedroom with queen bed and a door...very important when traveling with teenagers, in back. Both rooms had color t.v.'s with cable. The bathroom was between. The room wasn't the largest but was probably one of the cleanest I've stayed in & certainly was large enough for sleeping & the occasional time out. The housekeeping staff was friendly and courteous. The owner Gary, assistant Bob & the rest of the staff at Grand View Motel are just great...we'll be back! Thank you~

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Connolly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
26
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Motel is extremely old and gross. I am supposed to be on vacation and can't relax because its gross. Everything is old and very tight. Honestly, don't waste your money. The "I should've paid extra somewhere else" is creeping up on me. I don't know how I am going to get through the next 3 data. I am seriously going to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyVacations68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary s, Manager at Grand View Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy with your room. We try our very best to make all of our guests happy and comfortable. You posted this unwarranted comment on your first day here and stayed another three days. If you had been this unhappy with our accommodations you should have spoken to us to see if anything could have been done to make things better.

Our rooms are not "gross" as you so eloquently stated! Our rooms are always clean and we pride ourselves on that. Our chambermaid went to your room and asked if you needed anything and was going to clean your room on the second day and you responded that all was fine! If you have read our other Trip Advisor posts you would see that our other guests are extremely happy staying here. Most of our guests are repeat customers who vacation with us year after year. Maybe the days of rain during your stay made you a bit cranky and bored so you decided to take it out on us. Hampton Beach is a quaint beach town with quaint motels. Maybe your next vacation should be spent at the Armani Hotel in Dubai, I trust those accommodations would be to your liking. Thank you for staying with us and hope you return to Hampton Beach in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just came back from Hampton Beach......What a beautiful place!! We were lucky to have found a hotel at the last minute, everything else was booked or not too interesting (worth checking reviews of other hotels). Family of 3 - spent 3 nights .... Great location .... A walk across the street from the motel and your on the beautiful white sandy beach!! Great restaurants and souvenirs shops close by ... Gary and the staff very friendly ... Room was a little small. Very clean. ( 1qn, 1 dbl, pullout couch, fridge and microwave) Next time I would definately try for something bigger with a kitchenette. For the amount of time we spent in the room it was a great deal! It wasn't an Oceanview room, but next time I'll reserve earlier. Will definately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This older hotel is very clean. Seems to have been recently painted which made it bright. Bathroom had new tiles in shower and walls but not on floor. Location is at quieter end of beach but just a short walk to stores and concert area. Rooms are non smoking but can smoke on balcony. When we woke we could tell some one was smoking. Sure enough two doors down someone outside smoking. We could smell it in our room
Staff check in was friendly.
Beds are a little older. Sheets were not typical white and they were soft. One of our towels was stained. We would consider staying here again
Late at night till after midnight some one was outside talking. Thin walls made it hard to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from 3 nights. Family of 4 (kids 9 & 11) Great location - right across from beach, nice to leave the car and just walk. Easy to return if something was forgotten. Within walking distance to main strip, yet far enough away from noise and partying. Staff are very friendly, offered beach stuff and boards to borrow if needed. We had a room on the 3rd floor at the back Ocean View - 2 double beds small for 4 people. Room was small - bathroom even smaller. Would have been nice if we could have opened the window-vent in the bathroom, but there was no handle. Window air conditioner was extremely noisy. Nice to have a fridge and microwave handy. Family loved the view - sat on the balcony late afternoon before heading for dinner.
Overall simple and easy - nothing more - nothing less.

Room Tip: If the view doesn't matter, go with the queen beds,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White66coupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Here’s the good: 1. directly across the street from Hampton beach at a slightly less crowded part of the beach. The beach is great and in July we found the ocean was quite swimmable. 2. Reasonable rates considering the location. 3. Management are friendly and helpful. Attention to a problem with the television not working was prompt and effective. 4. Our room had a kitchenette with a full fridge and stove. Here are a few things to consider: 1. Rooms in the 3 story section behind the main building are small. We were 3 in a two bedroom with kitchenette and it was tight. 2. Older window air conditioners directly above the beds at the headboard, and bedroom doors must be left open for air conditioning to be effective in the sitting/dining area. We found this noisy and uncomfortable. 3. Mattresses are older and small. 4. Sparsely decorated and furnished. 5. You can’t open the window in the washroom and there is no fan. 6. There are no phones in the units. If you plan to spend most of your time on the beach and out in the evening, these concerns may not be a problem. This property is all about location. But you must be prepared to live with the above considerations.

Room Tip: Bring your own folding chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just got back from staying here. The location is great, short walking distance to the strip with the beach right across the street. The room is VERY small to my surprise when I opened the door. We spent most of our time outside to see what's around that how big the room was didn't bother me. One downfall of the room was that the fridge didn't work. It froze everything! Ruined all our fruit and sandwich meats. Other than that, good place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARX11211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#21 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Motel

Property: Grand View Motel
Address: 353 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3632
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Grand View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing