We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint ,tasty but pricy”

Savory Square Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Savory Square Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: RT. 1
Description: Bonjour! Located on NH's beautiful seacoast, The Bistro provides guests with a cozy and quaint but refined dining atmosphere and experience. We have a small candlelit dining room and a separate room for our lounge and antique bar which offers the full menu. The lounge consists of 16 seats at the bar or a variety of high top tables, two TV's, and a gas fireplace. Relax and enjoy our fine multi-course menu offerings in either our softly lit dining room or bistro bar. The Bistro's casual yet elegant atmosphere welcomes all who enjoy good food, good wine, and good times! Bon Appetit! The Bistro is open Monday through Saturday for dinner. Reservations are recommended. Entertainment is offered in our lounge area on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Moretown, Vermont
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint ,tasty but pricy”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

1st time at the bistro, was intrigued by all the reviews. The food spot on. From our appetizer of escargot to the steak/lobster scampi and portabella fillet mignon. The price was a little steeper than we realized even with our $25 restaurant .com certificate. Our waitress seemed new as she was unsure of a few things. The dining room itself is very quaint. It was a nice place to visit as we were staying within walking distance

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    40
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
natrona heights, pa (slightly north of pittsburgh)
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were looking for a really good meal to share with really good friends and were steered here from our BnB. We were not disappointed.
Service was pleasant and the space was surprisingly intimate, giving the feel of an upscale restaurant using color and lighting.
All of the food was excellent, from the appetizers to the varied and wonderful entrees. We ate it all and left happy.
Definitely a gem in a sea of tourist food and bar n grille formats!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited Savory Square Bistro for a late quiet dinner for two after our daytime wedding reception, at the suggestion of the owner of our b & b. She had made the reservation for us, so we just arrived at the appointed time. As soon as we entered, the host graciously greeted us with congratulations, and showed us to a perfect table in the corner. Upon reviewing the menu, we realized there was very little we could eat, since we are both strict vegans, and quietly discussed whether or not we should stay. When the server came over, I expressed that concern to the server, and she quickly replied, "Don't be ridiculous....we will make you something fitting the occasion." She then offered a secondary menu which is offered in the bar, and made several very good suggestions. We placed our order, and waited for the first course. Within minutes, the chef came out from the kitchen, apologized for interrupting, and asked if he could make further suggestions. He repeated the restaurant's desire to provide a special dinner for our wedding night, and offered several wonderful vegan alternatives. What ultimately followed was the PERFECT dinner. We were both tired from a long (wonderful) day, and the dinner prepared and served was the perfect ending to the day. The preparation and presentation was really exceptional. The icing on the cake was the Prosecco brought after dinner, a gift from the owner of the Inn where we were spending the weekend. We will certainly visit Savory Square Bistro again on our next trip to Hampton.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good place,unacceptable waitress”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We live in Hampton and have dined it here several times. It was our favorite restaurant until our last visit. Our waitress had a schtick more in keeping with a highway truck stop than what is intended to be a bistro. She really meant no ill, but I found her to be off putting,as did my wife. After being called "young man" a few times,I told her she didn't need to call me that again. She was then very solicitous but later slipped and said that again. My wife agrees that we will probably not return to what WAS(past tense) our favorite place in Town. A waiter or waitress should be attentive and friendly but need to realize that they are not the show.This young lady was more intrusive than a waitress needs to be ,although I do reiterate that she meant do ill-just tried too too hard

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmarg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went here recently for girls night out. The food was okay for the price we paid. They were offering a dinner special that included app, dinner, dessert and a bottle of wine. Had we paid regular price for the same meal, would have been disappointed. The more you pay, the more you expect. One meal came out cold. Desserts were probably the most disappointing part of the meal. Got the blueberry cake and cheesecake. Both were very bland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank love603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savory Square Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Savory Square Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing