We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food in the Seacoast”
Review of Ocean Wok

Ocean Wok
Ranked #23 of 114 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in the Seacoast”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Since we always stay in a condo-tel when we are in Hampton Beach, our final night is always take-out from Ocean Wok. The best pu-pu platter we have ever had. We ate in the bar area one late afternoon and enjoyed an wonderful early dinner and lively conversation with the locals at the bar. It's a great place. I have only once been disappointed with the won ton soup. But I can live with that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYI7thWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DOVER
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Awesome Fresh food people enjoy the best chinese food in the area. and then walk it off on Nh'S BEST BEACH

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in New Hampshire”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've been making 40 mile detours for the last 25 years to get to Ocean Wok for lunch. Though I live within 12 miles of many Chinese Restaurants, they don't hold a candle to Ocean Wok. Some of the highlights are they Undoubtedly serve the best Hot and Sour soup I have ever tasted. I always bring some home. The luncheon specials are inexpensive and always include your choice of soup, 2 jumbo delicious chicken wings, rice and the entree. Staff is well trained and friendly, the place is clean and of course sitting at Hampton Beach is always a plus.
If I could find one thing I didn't like, I would say they sometimes cook the chicken wings up early as they are so busy and they aren't anywhere as good as when they serve them hot hot hot from the fryer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentdiner1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently Good and Always Fresh”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love the delicious offerings at Ocean Wok at the end of the main part of Hampton Beach-so much so that I recently braved the Sunday beach traffic to retrieve a take-out order! It was well worth the hassle as the 15 of us gathered for Mother's Day managed to consume amazing quantities of this fresh, often surprising, food. Among our favorites are Three Treausures (with chicken, shrimp and scallops), steamed dumplings, and the house fried rice. Ample portions make this an affordable place to go with children, and the luncheon specials are a great value. Whether you eat in or take out, you cannot miss with this cut-above Chinese restaurant. Give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dctourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
236 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We've passed this place a million times and never noticed it, but a local friend recommended it. It's small....about the size of a diner....with no fancy decor on the outside and limited parking. Inside there are nine booths and a few tables with a very small bar at one end - simple decor but very clean. We ordered several dishes so that everyone could try everything: pu pu platter, large peking duck, shrimp in lobster sauce, General Tso's chicken, pork fried rice. Overall, everything was superb! Each meal was served in a very generous portion, some artistically presented. Much was packed up to bring home and was further enjoyed the following day. Our waiter, 'Phil,' was top shelf all they way. Most Chinese restaurants provide Chinese tea at no charge, but here it was $1.25 for the pot. The meals, however, were very reasonably priced. There was one negative feature, unfortunately. The noise level was at a high decible. People at the bar were literally shouting at each other while having a good time. A table with five young kids yelling at each other were undisciplined. Even the hostess was talking very loudly, enough that we could hear every word much of the time. In such a small place, the sound waves were reverberating all over. By the end of the visit I actually had a headache. This was a weekday night, and hopefully not a typical one because we definitely plan to go back. Other than the noise level, this was an A+ dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lobstaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Wok also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing