We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THEE best restaurant at Hampton Beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend

Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“THEE best restaurant at Hampton Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I must admit, I have a condo just blocks away from Ron's Landing...which might explain why I feel justified in giving this restaurant a 5 star rating.

1. Food: the seafood is remarkably fresh and they will cook it however you like. Indeed, I have an allergy to scallops and was able to get some dishes without said scallops and they were wonderful.
2. Service: this is a cloth napkin establishment, but the wait staff is friendly and willing to do whatever is needed to make their customers happy. (Shout out to Carolyn!!) The owner is a pearl amongst men. Just remember: make a reservation early to get the best seats on the 2nd floor by the window looking out on the ocean!
3. Price: Okay, unless you show up on Thursday or Sunday and the price is phenomenal, due to the fact that one can order the smaller sized fare. $25 to $35 (going on memory, here, don't hold me to it) with a very good wine list.
4. Wine: by the glass? Okay. I always end up ordering a Malbec. By the bottle? Excellent. So if you and your date/spouse/whatever have the same taste in wine, you can get something brilliant.
5. Entertainment: Okay, this isn't my bag, but when I've been there on nights when there's a band, it's always a band that's pleasant to listen to and not overbearing. More 80s and top hits that aren't disturbing than NIN.

I am looking forward to going back this season....yes, they're open all year. After Labor Day, it's Wednesday through Sunday. No touristas. No loud children. No inappropriate shorts and too small tank tops with questionable ink.... Ahhhhhh......heaven........(FYI, nothing against ink....just poorly done, unartistic ink.....)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyWnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    69
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special night and a Special Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a new dinner experience and we came upon Ron's Landing. located in on Hampton Beach (across the street) It doesn't look great from the outside, but it is very nice on the inside. Tastefully decorated and have enough walls to lower the sound.

The waiter was awesome and very helpful and patient. The food was great and the cocktails and wine were very good as well. It is a little pricey but the portions were larger than expected and the food was excellent. You will need a reservation so you don't wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went here this week with my son. Were in Hampton for a few days before he heads back to college. The menu is small and he didn't find anything he wanted, well, he didn't want me to spend $38 for the lamb chops. He ended up ordering the steamers off the appetizer menu. I had one of the specials. It was a mixed seafood dish with tortellini. I also had a side salad. The salad is huge and very fresh. It was missing the garlic croutons as noted on the menu. The house balsamic is outstanding. The salad was large enough to share with my son. My son loved the steamers as they are cooked with sausage and corn. He poured the liquid off after he was done eating the steamers so he could eat the reminents on the bottom. He wanted to drink the juice, but said it was too salty. It came with a side of bread for dipping. My meal was the best I've had in a long time. It came with two large shrimp, a large scallop, mussels, and lobster meat. The sauce was amazing. I spooned up as much as I could reasonalby do. It also had homemade artichoke hearts in it. I would definitely go back, even though $30 for a meal is a bit pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at Hampton Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Ron's Landing is one of my all-time favorite restaurants anywhere. Yes, it's pricey but WELL WORTH the money. Just stayed for a week at Hampton Beach and ate here 3 nights. Wonderful service, nice atmosphere, in walking distance of most hotels at Hampton Beach. The baked stuffed haddock was the best I've ever had. Good drinks and there is a bar with live music on the second floor with ocean views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our meal and the service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The view was excellent , we were able to see the ocean (though on the ground floor you don't get the best view possible because you are right at sea level.) The waiter was very friendly and attentive. The fish was delicious. The salad was Ok ,but not great. Soup was delicious. Unlike a lot of restaurants, they don't rush you so even though this is not an inexpensive place, between the excellent food , service and view, you really can't go wrong here. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend also viewed

 

Been to Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing