We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THe perfect escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windjammer By The Sea
Ranked #3 of 12 Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My family has been staying at the WIndjammer for 4 generations. This inn is now 210 yrs old and the Pouliot family has done wonders at keeping it updated and well maintained. This is a gem at Hampton Beach and you are made to feel like part of the family. The Pouliots go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience there. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Can not ask for a better view. This is a quiet area of the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking due to to the fact that my original hotel was awful. The owners of this hotel were absolutely wonderful and beatiful people. Everyone here was kind. The ocean front room was beautiful and the view was amazing. The room was extremely clean and homey. I will definatley return for years to come. I hope that others will visit this wonderful place as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky8829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The Windjammer By-The-Sea is a great place to relax, to enjoy North Hampton Beach, to hop, skip and jump to the beach, to feel like you are part of the Anne, Richard and Rick Pouliot family. Kudos to Rick! And a special thanks to Anne for the scones and bottle of wine.
HIGHLY recommended by us!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I searched all of the reviews I could find on all of these sights and Windjammer sounded like a great place (a couple of reviews notwithstanding). We literally looked (from St Louis) at probably a hundred places, but something seemed right about Windjammer. We had one day to spend on the ocean and we wanted to get it right.

So we took a chance and booked.

We were thrilled! Rick met us as we parked and he was terrific. He took our bags to the room, got us some ice, helped us to get online--the service was great.

The building was in excellent shape--but still had character. I'm not sure how old it is (100 years?) but it's been well taken care of. As I sat on our balcony (second floor, ocean front) I looked around me and was glad we didn't choose the newer, modern places that were nearby. It felt like we had gotten it right.

The ocean is just across the street. Windjammer is at the north end of Hampton Beach and that was great with us--it wasn't crazy crowded where we were. But a quick walk would have had us in the busiest section. I personally liked our section--a little rocky area to our left, smooth sand as far as the eye could see on the right.

A great bar just around the corner with good food (North Beach Bar and Grill), Beach Plum ice cream half a mile north--it was a great location for us.

I slept like a rock. Got up at 5am to see the low tide, went right back to sleep. Beds were really comfortable. I had just injured my back and didn't want a bed that was too soft, it was perfect. The little air conditioner gave us the perfect amount of relief from the warm afternoon. Private bath. The room was compact, but we weren't there to hang out in the room. The balcony was great.

A very friendly, CLEAN, family feel.

We will definitely be back. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyliejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The Windjammer has a good location clse to all the action on Hampton Beach. If you are looking for generic "Best Western" style of accomodations , prepare to be dissapointed . The rooms are clean , comfortable and all have a unique style . There are little knick-nacks everywhere and it reminded me of some guest houses that I have visited in England . The host Ann, was friendly and extremely welcoming and I can understand why people come back here year after year . The rates are very fair and there is everything you need to enjoy a pleasant stay .

Some of the rooms are very small and have shared bathrooms so you may want to check on your room first . The ones on the first floor have lovely ocean views with large private decks .

Bottom line- not fancy but an old fashioned beach spot that has a considerable amount of charm.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoiraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We love to take an early spring vacation by the sea whenever we can, the beaches are practically deserted even on the nicest of days, traffic is low, etc.,the price we usually pay though, are places that are understaffed,rooms not ready,no place to eat,that sort of thing. Imagine our surprise to find the Windjammer! Our charming Irish hostess Ann gave us an absolutely charming room with wonderful views of the ocean, we had a 'fridge and small stove, an outdoor grill that we made good use of,and still she brought us fresh, hot scones in the morning! She knows all the places to eat and sights to see, there's a lovely big pool for those not brave enough for the ocean,and I haven't stayed at a friendlier,homier place in New England! One visit will tell you why the people who go there go back again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

The owners of The Windjammer are trying hard to make your stay there enjoyable. Ann gave us incredible personal service like delivering ice to our room as well as warm fresh scones in the morning.

The facility is an older building set up with ocean front rooms, 2nd and 3rd floor views being the best. We had 3 rooms on the second floor, each with their own balcony deck. The furnishings are homey and clean but some were dated and should be replaced. The bath was adequate but small in our room and the door didn't latch. Everywhere you see knick knacks, pictures, clocks etc. to add to that home style. Our room also had a refrigerator and coffee maker as well as wi-fi. If new and shiny is important to you this is not the place for you.

The views, the service, the home style and the proximity to the beach are the strong points of this facility. We paid $125/night for rooms in late September - I booked the rooms on a recommendation so I'm not really sure if the price is attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ignots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer By The Sea

Address: 935 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-1432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range: £91 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windjammer By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windjammer By The Sea Motel is located on Ocean Boulevard at North Beach in Hampton, NH. This three story building was built on a rock over 200 years ago and provides beautiful views of the Atlantic from each of the three balconies. The sound of rolling waves onto the sand will become your new background noise during your stay in the charming old building. Our rooms are clean, maintained and have been updated so that the guest feels a touch of home at the beach. Every room is special and outfitted with A/C, wi-fi, refrigerator, microwave oven, flatscreen TV, DVD Player, and coffee makers. Our Oceanfront rooms feature sliding glass doors leading out to a private balcony with table and chairs so the guests can eat in or outside their room with privacy. Some rooms feature kitchenettes with stoves, pots, pans, dishes, and all utensils for the convenience of our guests. Our two bedroom apartments have full kitchens with dining tables for large families. Picnic around our Outdoor Pool,with provided gas grills, picnic tables,and outdoor furniture. A large back yard provides perfect scene for families to gather and play games, and sunbath. Our Motel By The Sea is considered a hidden gem to many, our family oriented facility provides a quiet, and relaxing place to call home by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Windjammer By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer By The Sea Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing