We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Ship's Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship's Inn Resort
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have stayed at the Ships Inn for years, and they never disappoint. We have NEVER encountered a single thing being broken, and it is always immaculate. We always stay in the Sloop with the kitchenette, and have never found it lacking. I will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjsgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Ship's Inn Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

It was such a convenient spot but didn't look like it had had any money spent on the maintenance side for years. We actually gave a list on checking out of all the faults of the unit. And as we were in peak holiday time we weren't paying discount prices either. There were 2 beds in the room, one only had 3 legs and had to get the phone book under one end to try and level it up. It was as clean as it could be and there was space but please please do some work on the place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here the last two years for Seafood Feat, and next year we will be going someplace else.

We have stayed in the Windsurfer Rooms and although the king size bed is nice and the jacuzzi is fun the ceilings have what looks like water stains lined with some kind of mold... We were in Room 118or 117, which ever had somewhat of a deck.

There is no accessible wi-fi as advertised, and after we complained about it last year (as well as others) they added a new sentence to their receipt this year... "wi-fi service varies as it is public"

Unless you speak Ukranian or some Asian dialect, good luck trying to ask the front desk for cleaning services they elect to not do.

Also you will be woken up by a loud resonating grind in your room, coming from the party deck at 6am. That will be an employee dragging the furnature across the deck or just sliding it across like it's a ring toss game. Their quiet hours are from 10am-10pm but apparently their staff didn't get the memo...

The only saving grace to our trip was awesome friends, Hampton Beach and te Seafood Fest... Unfortunately that has nothing to do with this "inn"

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Was7884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed for the seafood festival weekend. The location was right in the center, half a block away. It was one of the few places you could rent for two nights - many require a 3 night min. It is also one of the few that have a heated pool, that was great for the kids. The hotel is a older one, we had a two room suite that fit our two familys just right. The rooms do need a complete upgrade. Cleaning could have been better. The tv in the bedroom did not worked but really did not need it. The staff was friendly. The seafood festival was the best part of the weekend. Parking was included for the first car but had to pay an 15.00 per day for the 2nd vehicle.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms would look to me to have a lot of traffic and noise - we were on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looneylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

For the 3rd year our family fully enjoyed the ships inn. Room was clean, new carpet and pools were refreshing. The rate was very competitive to much older motels at hampton beach. The staff was friendly and manager professional. Thank you and see you next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was concerned by the reviews but went against my instincts. We were given a room by the pool on the ground floor, our door didn't even lock. They spent an hour trying to fix it which they finally succeeded on doing. The room smelled musty and was dark. You couldn't open the windows as they were nailed shut. We had to buy air fresheners to try to mask the smell. The bathroom ceiling had water stains all over it (like previous trip advisors pictures from another traveller showed). The bathroom window was painted over to act as a curtain to the outside. Furniture in the bedrooms were falling apart. Curtains on the front patio door was damaged and kept unhooking. The kithchen was a little kitchenette with misc pieces of dishes and cutlery. A real joke. The fridge handles were so black they probably hadn't been washed in months. We all wondered how we could leave and get our money back but as this was Seafood Festival weekend we were concerned about availability in another hotel. If the owner tries to tell you that this is "his competition" trying to ruin his business he should be so lucky. If you are a seasoned traveller looking for a clean and decent place GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD195902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We just returned home from Seafood Festival weekend (9/7/12-9/9/12). We stayed in Room 209 at the Ship's Inn Resort. Friends have been staying there for the last five years and we decided to check it out ourselves since we had never been to Hampton Beach, NH. I had read some of the negative reviews and was very pleased to find our room in a great location and very clean, including the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I usually wake up with a backache, but both mornings I was backache free!! We tried out the heated pool and we absolutely loved the sundeck where the fireworks display was beautiful. It may depend on what building you stay in, but we can only say that the Windsurfer building, second floor was perfect for us and we will definitely come back to the Ship's Inn Resort. We could see the ocean from our deck and we were about a 2 minute walk to the festival and the beach. Also, the water pressure was great and we've been at other fancier hotels that had lousy water pressure.

Debbie G.

Room Tip: The higher floors definitely had a better view from their balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieG348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Sea Spiral Suites
Sea Spiral Suites
#30 of 41 in Hampton
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
905 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kentville on the Ocean
Kentville on the Ocean
#12 of 41 in Hampton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Inn Resort

Address: 15 A St, Hampton, NH 03842-2905
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi room suites, kitchenettes, 2 pools, 1 block to beach and rooms with Jacuzzi jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ship's Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Hotel Hampton
Ships Hotel Hampton
Ships Motel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing