We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish I were back there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Motel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wish I were back there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

My family and I recently came back from our vacation in Hampton, NH. We stayed at the Atlantic Motel from July 8-12 2007 which came highly recommended by friends of ours currently living in New Hampshire. We arrived a couples of hours before check in time, but were graciously welcomed and allowed to check in early. The staff was more than helpful and courteous throughout or stay. We opened the doors to a beautifully decorated, oversized, and clean guest room. My husband and I totally enjoyed the amenities. We were within walking distance of all attractions which the children loved and within a walk or short drive to some of the best seafood restaurants! There is nothing like New England Seafood! Best of all was being able to sit in the evenings on the balcony outside our room with my husband overlooking the Atlantic ocean listening to the sound of the ocean lapping the rocks while sipping on a glass of wine to wind the day down, while the children slept peacefully. We totally enjoyed our vacation there and hopefully will return there next year to escape the heat of the south!

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the clean accomodations
  • Disliked — I can't really thing of anything I did not like
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DBarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    16
    9
    14
See reviews for
41
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mass.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

well we arrived and were surprised at the new changes made this year from last. the rooms are all done over and the colors are wonderful, no two rooms alike. the flowers are great again this year,we enjoy our stay here year after year. ive never found the rooms dirty as someone said, and there very nice to all. we come back year after year,and we will do so next year. we have also had many friends and famliy members who enjoyed there stay. and return often.

  • Liked — the pool and ocean
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nanadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

Management is not friendly. With a full house they closed at 6:00p.m. and were not available until 10:00 a.m. they next day.if you checked in after 6:00p.m. there was a note on the door to call them @ a given no.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateNewYorkDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

We (2 women + 3 kids) decided to go to the beach on the spur of the moment and didn't spend time reviewing hotels. The man on the telephone was friendly and made it sound like a good place to stay. Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was the pool. It was filthy and there was sand on the bottom. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, I don't think anyone would dare to use it. The man at the desk was slow and asked the same questions 2 or 3 times. He asked us to check the room to make sure it meets our needs but didn't want the children to go in as the room was in "immaculate" condition. We were laughing about that because we could see things on the carpet and figured that he must have bad eyesight. Later he asked to make sure that the children realize that there are other people staying at that hotel. We found that offensive because he should wait to see if there is a problem first before speaking this way. If they don't like children they should say so. It turned out that we had drunk guests waking up the kids in the middle of the night. Shortly after we were in the room the man from the desk knocked on the door asking for the credit card expiration date. I had given it to him on the phone and upon arrival, I thought he had already charged the card and felt this was just an excuse to knock. He was creeping me out and I renamed him "Norman".(Bates). As we inspected the room more closely there was a thick layer of dust on the TV screen, the floor needed vacuuming, and the next day we discovered a gross looking stain on the top sheet. I sure hope they change the sheets there (yikes!). So, to sum it all up: never again would we stay at The Atlantic Motel at 391 Ocean BLVD. It was nice to be able to view the ocean and the fireworks from the deck but we could have had that at many other places.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank faraway1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
I am sorry that your stay with us was not as nice as we both wish it could have been. At the time we were going through a change of ownership, so the first season that the new management haad taken over was definitely a rough patch for us. Since your stay we have completely renovated all of our rooms, including new carpets, furniture, decorations, and we have repainted all of the rooms as well.

As for the pool, it is seasonal, which we advertise on our website. Chances are we had just had it uncovered for the season, which is why it was dirty. It get a lot of wear and tear, even with the cover on it all winter. During our peak season when the pool is open it is vacuumed, skimmed and cleaned daily.

If you are ever in the area again, please stop in and ask to see a room. Our returning guests have loved to see the new changes over the last few seasons. Thank you for your comments and honesty, it can only help us fix problems and make things better for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Mass
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed at the Atlantic Motel because it was away from the crowded beach and all the traffic. The view was wonderful but the room was small, dirty and some of the blinds on the slider were busted or missing. You couldn't walk barefoot on the carpet because it was so dirty it made your feet feel gross. I'd like to stay there again because of the location but their is no attention given to cleanliness.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank pegaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacifica,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed at the Atlantic motel on Ocean Avenue, it was horriable. The rooms were disgusting and smelly for $150
per night your better off going up the coast to rye or Portsmouth
much nicer beaches. Hampton Beach was too crowded and alot of teenagers just hanging out.

Helpful?
4 Thank catlover626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate all of our reviews, good and bad. Since your stay with us, The Atlantic Motel has gone through major room renovations. We have recarpeted, repainted, put in new furniture, decorations, etc. If you are ever in the area please stop in and ask to see a room. You might be surprised to see some of the new changes we have made.

As for the beach, that is not something we can control. Hampton Beach is a very popular beach, especially with a younger crowd, and it does tend to get pretty busy on certain days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers by the Sea
Breakers by the Sea
#21 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Motel

Property: Atlantic Motel
Address: 391 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3652
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Atlantic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing