We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family”
Review of Blue Jay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I recently stayed at the blue jay with my wife and some friends for the annual lobster festival. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us directions to everything and recommendations on everything from places to eat to regular grocery shopping. The rooms were very clean and the motel is in the perfect location close enough to walk to everything. Many of the guest have been going to the blue jay for years so they all knew each other and the owners. On the second night there was a nice barbecue and everyone was invited. Staying at the blue jay felt like staying with family and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHeyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitsett, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Been coming to Hampton Beach and the Blue Jay since 1998 and will not stay anywhere else. You just cannot beat the combination of the rooms (they feel somewhat like you are in a home, not some bland square with a bed on a concrete slab), the motel layout (more conducive for sharing with people), the location, and the room rate, Then there's Mary and Rose. None better in my opinion. An excellent motel because the more you stay there the more intimate your relationship becomes with the whole experience, which is why you have guests that return every year and rank the motel #1.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Pretty basic beach town motel. Rooms have knotty pine paneling which makes them a little dark. Friendly efficient check-in, clean room - not large but not New York tiny either; it looked better than the photos on their website. Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and a shower head high enough on the wall to wash my hair. All in all a great deal at around $75/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAndTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

You are made very welcome by the hosts and the cleanliness is second to none, with a nice big comfy bed, the shower was the best I have ever used, it was like having a massage, but the crowning glory for me was a bottle opener on the wall by the front door, this just bowled me over, such a simple gesture open the fridge crack a bottle and sit on the veranda, other hoteliers please note this! Yes it is dated but so are a lot of other properties in the area so for me that was not a problem. A great stay and a great host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Owners & Staff are all very friendly. Nice atmosphere --a lot of guests interact with other guests leading to a truly friendly place to stay. Mary & Rose go out of their way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay & gets the most out of their vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but cozy. The new beds lead to a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Blu Jay with another couple due to the excellent reviews we read on this site. We were not disappointed. Such a quaint 50's motel, clean ,well equipped, with Kerig coffee makers, a large institutional barbecue grill with all the accoutrements available on the grill at all times, a very convenient walk to the beach and it seemed to us the best part of the breach wide expanses of flat sandy beach. Of course we stopped each day at the ice cream parlor and had 2 dogs chips soda for $5 then enjoyed a great sunday. Mary the motel owner was a kick! So friendly and helpful, felt like family by the fifth day! We walked everywhere it was great! Music at the shell evey nite, ate at a different restaurant each nite and the fireworks on Wednesday at the beach were great! A great motel, a great owner and and a great vaca! Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debigiftos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

10 minutes from beach and great ice cream stand- no getting into car for night entertainment. easy access to everything.enjoy
Mary and Rose make you feel right at home and do their very best to make sure you're comfortable and happy. Just ask they do what ever to help make your stay most comfortable.. and as Mary says if you don't tell her she can't fix it. Location is the key-this is the "quieter" end of town and very relaxing. The most value for your buck. No surprises- ask Mary and she will steer you in the right direction for the best food in town and directions if you do want to explore.

Room Tip: enjoy the morning with your coffee on the deck if you're on the second floor or even downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#2 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.9 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Property: Blue Jay Motel
Address: 186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3435
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 Business Hotel in Hampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing