We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Blue Jay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Blue Jay Motel is an excellent place to stay,very clean and very comfortable,Mary and Rose are top notch and very accommodating and friendly, Stayed 3 weeks for work,and felt as if I was home,would highly recommend The Blue Jay Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Blue Jay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here 8 consecutive years & then fell off the edge of the world & couldn't find our way back until now. The best thing is that nothing that matters has changed. It is the same warm. friendly, comfortable place it's always been. Mary & Rose are just as accommodating & considerate as they always were. It's good to be back again & I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on the beach. If we couldn't stay with them we probably just wouldn't come at all. If you want fru-fru lodging & lip service find a national chain. If you seek a pleasant, memorable, glad-you-came experience find the Blue Jay Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elgniyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in October. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy. The owners were VERY friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to the beach. The rates were very reasonable. This is NOT the Marriot, it's an old-fashioned mom-and-pop type hotel. We enjoyed our stay and if we ever come back to NH, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yodibuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is one of those places that you have to put on your list of places to stay. NO it is not a fabulous beach, golf, ski resort..........but it is unique. Small and welcoming. It's close enough to the beach to walk. It's proximity to restaurants and shops is excellent. Hampton is small and easily navigated on a bike. The restaurants are typical beach town, but the hospitality at the Blue Jay will bring you back. The rooms are small, the shower is small, Heck! the place is small, but if you come for the decorations.............then you're in the wrong place. During the month of October you'll find an inviting beach that literally has no one there during the week. OK, it's cold in NH in October, but you can layer up and still enjoy nature.

Put the Blue Jay on your list. Lower your blood pressure and be prepared to experience one of those places that will bring you back.

Room Tip: Lower floor near the back of the property.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RideHigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I recently stayed at the blue jay with my wife and some friends for the annual lobster festival. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us directions to everything and recommendations on everything from places to eat to regular grocery shopping. The rooms were very clean and the motel is in the perfect location close enough to walk to everything. Many of the guest have been going to the blue jay for years so they all knew each other and the owners. On the second night there was a nice barbecue and everyone was invited. Staying at the blue jay felt like staying with family and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHeyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Been coming to Hampton Beach and the Blue Jay since 1998 and will not stay anywhere else. You just cannot beat the combination of the rooms (they feel somewhat like you are in a home, not some bland square with a bed on a concrete slab), the motel layout (more conducive for sharing with people), the location, and the room rate, Then there's Mary and Rose. None better in my opinion. An excellent motel because the more you stay there the more intimate your relationship becomes with the whole experience, which is why you have guests that return every year and rank the motel #1.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Pretty basic beach town motel. Rooms have knotty pine paneling which makes them a little dark. Friendly efficient check-in, clean room - not large but not New York tiny either; it looked better than the photos on their website. Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and a shower head high enough on the wall to wash my hair. All in all a great deal at around $75/night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnAndTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Address: 186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3435
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 Business Hotel in Hampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing