We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, not a great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kentville on the Ocean
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, not a great room”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked a king on the first floor. It was very dated furnishings which we could live with but it was also in need of some general repair; small holes in the curtains which allowed light through at night, lots of marks and broken woodwork, separating frame from the mirror in bathroom, stains on tub, etc. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. One big issue was the bathtub didn't drain very well. It took a couple hours and quite a bit of sand was left in the bottom of the tub. The biggest issue was our a/c unit. When we arrived it worked fine but stopped working after about 2 hours. The staff said they find this to happen often in this one room and to leave it off for a couple hours. If it didn't turn back on they could swap it with another unit. I wondered why they didn't just fix it if it was a reoccurring problem. The a/c unit started up after our dinner but we had trouble a couple times during our stay. The Kentville is right across from the beach and parking was very convenient. However, we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
49
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here the end of July for three nights. We got the last available room. It was located on the third floor. The room was small (which they informed me when I booked), but it was super clean and perfect for a couple. Full fridge and a great deck with chairs and tables overlooking the Atlantic. The price was unbeatable 149 a night for an ocean front room! The only down side was the stairs to the 3rd floor. But if you want a great view they are worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked in for one night and upon arrival we were informed that the hotel has NO ELEVATOR. I am a heart patient and this was a little bit of a challenge for me. The staff however was kind enough to take my suitcase up to the 3rd floor. The location is perfect and a great spot to watch the fireworks. Keep in mind the stairs are on the outside of the building and tiny little steps that wouldn't met code today. In addition there are 15 steps to each flight of stairs so if you are on the third floor it's a long haul........NOT FOR THE ELDERLY, HANDICAPPED OR HEART PATIENTS. THE ROOMS ARE SMALL AND THE BATHROOMS ARE TINY WITH NO VENT FANS. The room price was reasonable and location good, pleasant staff and parking. The Ashworth is right next door and has a super breakfast shop. Next time I think we will try another hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with views but the third and second floor have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked into the Kentville on the Ocean for two night stay (August 7&8). We reserved a day ahead as we had read how busy it was in Hampton Beach at this time of year. They had one room available with a king size bed on the third floor. Parking was included with our hotel stay. You cannot beat the location and view from this hotel. We liked the fact that it is located in the quieter area and away from all the noise from the arcades and stores. The room is nothing to write home about. You pay for the location. The room was not clean and I slept in my clothes worried about the cleanliness of the mattress, carpet and dated furniture. This is a $50 room (at best) if it was not for the location. We had the corner deck and it was nice to have breakfast overlooking the beach. They did have a fridge with a freezer which was good as we purchased groceries at the neaby Hannafords. The internet service did not work from our room or deck. It worked in the lobby or front porch. They do provide coffee/tea in the morning. The beach is beautiful and we spent a full day enjoying the area. It is a full amusement park with a beach. They had music at the outside stage at night and we enjoyed the firework show on Wednesday night. The locals stated that the beach area is quieter when the younger crowds return to school. It is, however, a great experience to visit this beach and area. I never felt that I was in a crowded area eventhough there was sea of colourful umbrellas on the beach. I walked a good distance on the beach, the sand and water is great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango4610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel is situated at the north end of the beach and boardwalk, where there is less people and noise. If you stay here it is because you enjoy being close to the action but not bothered by the noise. We had a wonderful outdoor space on the third floor and the view was fantastic. Nice sea breeze too.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room could have used a little reno, but for the money, was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: For the best view of the ocean ask for a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinaMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The place is in a fabulous location. Charged my wife and I $130 a night (stayed for two), compared with the the Ashworth's quote of $250 per night. We were walk ins and love the joint. Clean, comfy, air conditioned, free parking - not like the ripoff at the Ashworth. The view is worth the climb up the stairs.
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family (Wife & Daugther) have always stayed at the Ashworth; however, I procrastinated this year and there were no rooms available for the 3 nights/days we wanted to go. I remembered that the Kentville was right next door to the Ashworth, so I called them up and made reservations. We got a room on the 3rd floor (room #33, side view, facing the Ashworth), king bed. Room was clean, fridge, freezer, microwave, table and 2 chairs outside of sliding glass door. At the end of the deck, towards the beach, there were more community chairs/tables. Views were great, people were nice, and the Kentville feels a lot more like home than the Ashworth. I really enjoyed going down to the front deck, sitting in the rocking chair with a cold beer watching the people walk by. I'm not saying that it is better than the Ashworth, but I am saying that I prefer the Kentville over the Ashworth. Even though the stairs were a major pain in the butt, the view was well worth the climb!

Room Tip: For the best views pick ocean front or ocean view facing the Ashworth, if you aren't afraid of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyBeachesAhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.5 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#23 of 41 in Hampton
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#17 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentville on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentville on the Ocean

Property: Kentville on the Ocean
Address: 315 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3630
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kentville on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentville On The Ocean Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing