We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What shall I say...?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kentville on the Ocean
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What shall I say...?”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed for only one night in this hotel in Hampton Beach. It is nicely located right at the beach and within walking distance to many of the restaurants, the casino etc. but the area is quite in the night.

We had the choice between the most expensive and the cheapest room. We took the cheapest (based on the ground floor next to the parking lot) and this was surely not the best what they had to offer. It was clean but the furnishing and the bathroom were old and musty. We were satisfied for one night but you should not choose this room, when you plan to stay more than one day in Hampton Beach. The room was also not very spacious. All in all, it was not a bad deal for 100 bucks and we had a place to sleep. The beds were okay and not too bad for this category.

Maybe you do better with one of the more expensive rooms on the upper floors. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubriport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
49
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location and is well managed. It is right across the street from the beach and a very quick walk to the boardwalk. The view from our room on the third floor was amazing. We also loved sitting on the front porch. The room is nothing fancy and what one might expect at Hampton Beach. However, it was clean and we didn't spend time inside the room. The nightly rate was much less than the rates at the other hotels on either side of it. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the third floor. However, there is no elevator so if you can't climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

When I booked a room for 7 days 4 weeks prior to our stay, I was promised a room on the 3rd floor,
When we arrived we were given a room on the ground floor, next to the lobby. They said this was the only room available and that they didn't promise anything...
My advice: insist on a written confirmation by email or Fax when booking.
The room we ended in was very small, it smelled after a cleaning detergent, the mattress was worn down, all sank in to the middle... 
This room # 8 is the only room without a balcony or possibility to sit outside.
Avoid this room unless you just seek a room with a bed and a shower near the beach.
Believe it pr not: there are even worse rooms: rooms A to D are in the basement. You can sit outside there but with the nice view of a towing garage place... All the north side rooms (two digit even numbers) look on the garage while the south side rooms (two digit odd numbers) look on the parking lot and the Ashworth hotel.
The other rooms are oceanfront and more expensive.
You see, it's all about the right room...
The lobby is nice with games on tables for rainy days and they offer free coffee, tea or SwissMiss.
The coffee however was very thin, I was glad to have brought Nescafe to add. Many guest go and get their coffee at the Jumping Jack Java nearby.
The cleaning personnel from Russia Is either slow or unable to cope with all the rooms. We twice came back from the beach at 4 p.m. to find our room not made up. The other times I asked the front desk to take care that they do it. I also had to ask them to vacuume the floor.
I have traveled a lot but never experienced that our pajamas that we left on the bed had been thrown to the floor!!! This is disgusting!
Needless to say that there was no hairdryer...
There was soap and shampoo but very cheap so I bought softsoap in the supermarket to wash my hands (never happened to me before).
Communication/media:
The WLAN is free, but works only part time, on the south side (parking lot) better than on the north.
Phone: the first phone didn't give a beep, the second seemed to work but my friends kept trying to call me and didn't get through. Neither the extension on the information sheet nor the one the owner gave me worked, they all ended on the front desk where the Bulgarian wasn't able to connect to my room....
Please be careful when you book (see above) and when you inspect the room. They give you 10 minutes, after that you get chaged the total price.
I wish you a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the staircases are very very steep. A good choice might be a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Warren
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have to be honest here. I've stayed at five different places now in Hampton, this one comes in probably fourth. I usually try to avoid in-season but this time I couldn't.

We literally got the last room available, ground floor just off the lobby, pretty much IN the lobby. Other than a bedroom on a moving train, the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Relatively noisy from the rooms above. Clean though. Mattress was very much sagged to a pit in the middle - that that had a lot to do with the average rating here. Bathroom was clean but difficult to use as sink had no space to put anything near it. Wireless was spotty, sometimes good, sometimes cut out and disconnect.

Location is actually very good and despite claims to the contrary we had a limited beach view.

Staff and crew was really good, very friendly and accomodating. I felt like it was overpriced for mid-week for what we had, but this was in-season and I'll admit I'm spoiled with other deals we've found. The Ashworth next door makes everybody else look like a great deal. Parking here is a little easier than some and additional spaces are available for a reasonable price, so if you're a multi-vehicle family this makes it a much better deal here than elsewhere.

Had torrential rain during our visit and the roof leaked...right into the bathroom sink. From the rust stains in the ceiling this was not a new episode, it's a problem with the deck above.

Room Tip: Every room is different and some are rather small. See the other reviews for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked a king on the first floor. It was very dated furnishings which we could live with but it was also in need of some general repair; small holes in the curtains which allowed light through at night, lots of marks and broken woodwork, separating frame from the mirror in bathroom, stains on tub, etc. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. One big issue was the bathtub didn't drain very well. It took a couple hours and quite a bit of sand was left in the bottom of the tub. The biggest issue was our a/c unit. When we arrived it worked fine but stopped working after about 2 hours. The staff said they find this to happen often in this one room and to leave it off for a couple hours. If it didn't turn back on they could swap it with another unit. I wondered why they didn't just fix it if it was a reoccurring problem. The a/c unit started up after our dinner but we had trouble a couple times during our stay. The Kentville is right across from the beach and parking was very convenient. However, we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here the end of July for three nights. We got the last available room. It was located on the third floor. The room was small (which they informed me when I booked), but it was super clean and perfect for a couple. Full fridge and a great deck with chairs and tables overlooking the Atlantic. The price was unbeatable 149 a night for an ocean front room! The only down side was the stairs to the 3rd floor. But if you want a great view they are worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked in for one night and upon arrival we were informed that the hotel has NO ELEVATOR. I am a heart patient and this was a little bit of a challenge for me. The staff however was kind enough to take my suitcase up to the 3rd floor. The location is perfect and a great spot to watch the fireworks. Keep in mind the stairs are on the outside of the building and tiny little steps that wouldn't met code today. In addition there are 15 steps to each flight of stairs so if you are on the third floor it's a long haul........NOT FOR THE ELDERLY, HANDICAPPED OR HEART PATIENTS. THE ROOMS ARE SMALL AND THE BATHROOMS ARE TINY WITH NO VENT FANS. The room price was reasonable and location good, pleasant staff and parking. The Ashworth is right next door and has a super breakfast shop. Next time I think we will try another hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with views but the third and second floor have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentville on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentville on the Ocean

Property: Kentville on the Ocean
Address: 315 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3630
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Kentville On The Ocean Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing