We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Comfort are first class at Lamie's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Comfort are first class at Lamie's”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I have the opportunity to stay at the Inn on occasion and always look forward to the visit. The hospitality of the staff is great. It is as if your being welcomed home every time you stay there. The rooms are clean, well appointed and tidy. The food at the Old Salt and Tavern is hearty New England fare. It is well prepared and presented. You will not go home hungry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaChairMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    139
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
101
219
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franconia, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were extremely pleased with Lamies Inn and the Old Salt Tavern. The Inn and Tavern are very charming and have a relaxing atmostphere with very friendly and helpful staff. The guest rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. We live in the White Mountain region of northern New Hampshire and Hampton Beach is an easy drive for us when we want a seashore experience. We will definitely return to this lovely inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Found Lamies Inn online. Relied on the user comments which proved to be very true.
Friendly staff, well kept property, convenient restaurant with good selection & quality.

This was a good jumping off point for us to explore the Seacoast region.
Enjoyable jaunts up to Portsmouth & lower Maine.

Easy to get to off the main highway system.

All in all, a good find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My wife and I acquired a dog friendly room. The room was tiny (but not the price) It was disappointing to find out once we got there that you are supposed to be a prisoner with your pet in the room unless your eating at their restaurant. We went to a concert at the beach for two hours and were asked to leave the following morning. I would never get a room at this hole again! You know who you are!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seeyouinhell666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaureenMaz, Manager at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
The comfort of ALL our guests is what is most important to us, and it is extremely rare that we would ever have to ask a guest to leave. When guests as well as staff are disturbed in a particular situation, then decisions for other arrangements need to be made. It is under these circumstances that a guest is asked to leave. We were quiet surprised to see this review; because in this particular situation a full night’s refund was issued (even thought this was a 3rd party reservation).
We also have a pet policy in place for the comfort and safety of all of our guests. This policy is reviewed and signed by the guest upon checking in. It is also available on our website for the review of all internet reservations. In addition, we have partnered with a local pet daycare for those rare times when a guest is unable to take their pet with them to all of their planned activities.
We believe the polices in our pet policy are set to insure an enjoyable stay for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We didn't stay at the place, but we are local and went in to try the Old Salt Restaurant. The Garlic bread that they put with a lot of items was pretty good and the artichoke appetizer was good. Then I ordered the shrimp scampi and my husband got the chicken parm on pasta. True, the place's forte isn't supposed to be pasta, but the food was really mediocre to not good. My shrimp in the scampi was from the Gulf of Mexico, even though we are in the middle of New England, and it was tough from being overcooked. The pasta tasted like lemon juice was poured over it and the shrimp was bland. The highlight of my meal was taking the included garlic bread and putting bits of tomato from the pasta and eating it like bruschetta. My husband's meal was ok, he said. The marinara was too sweet and not flavorful. The chicken was just 3 hunks of chicken breasts, over fried with a hard beading.
The atmosphere was as they are shooting for, feeling like a colonial eating place. The staff was friendly enough and our server was good, although she assumed that after my husband wanted to take the rest of his meal home, that I wanted my lemon-tastic pasta home too. For the food quality and creativity, we felt the menu was over priced. We decided to get ice cream to off-set the sad meal and to not ever go back to the Old Salt.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamiesinn, Manager at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
I’m sorry you did not get the opportunity to experience our Inn, and appreciate you taking the time to bring your dining experience to our attention. On behalf of the restaurant, I apologize that your meal did not meet your expectations and the high standards that the restaurant is well known for.
Our Inn and the restaurant are operated by a different management teams. However, we have a wonderful and close working relationship and rely on each other to cross promote the Inn and Restaurant. I have brought your comments to the attention of the restaurants management and the chef, and you can be assured that they will take your comments very seriously, and changes will be made where necessary. The restaurant is well known for and specializes in serving as much local seafood fresh from the local fisherman as possible. Unfortunately our local waters do not provide New England with shrimp and they need to purchase shrimp from other part of the world as available. It is unfortunate that your dining experience was not brought to the attention of the restaurant management the evening you where here, as they would have taken the appropriate steps necessary.
It is our hope that you will give the restaurant another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel and restaurant are "first rate" while still being "old school"; a wonderful combination hard to find these days. Lamies succeeds in giving real value for $$. It is has the feel of old Yankee hospitality, but has modern (and progressive) hotelier touches such as two free bottles of water in room and free fast wifi. The rooms have character and charm, and are not overly "B&B" frilly.

The Old Salt Restaurant is dark with real wooden tables and decor. There is a formal dining room and a less formal lounge. Real Yankee wonderful. Menu is good and food is prepared with love.

Room Tip: Ask for deals on room and meal combos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, nh
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and I got married there just over a year ago and it was my fathers favorite place to dine. Friends and family stayed at the Inn and loved it's home like atmosphere.

My husband and I travel with our two dogs as often as we can and the inn always has room for them too. They welcome the dogs.

Service, both in the restaurant and at the Inn is with out a doubt the best. Everyone is extremely friendly and always willing to make your stay the best possible.

You will not be disappointed at all, especially if you stay for the Sunday brunch, it is unbelievable! Save your appetite!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
89 reviews
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#13 of 41 in Hampton
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Property: Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing