We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Went over weekend to celebrate anniversary. What a great place!!! Maureen at the front desk was a sweetheart and made us feel welcome from the get go. Rooms were very clean and cozy. Food and drinks were excellent. We both had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Lamie's Inn with our dog. Our room was very clean (as was the entire Inn) but small; the bathroom was the size of a closet (lights for the bathroom are in the closet before you enter the bathroom.)

There was no place to walk our dog except on the road adjacent to the Inn. Behind the parking lot are 2 large open areas. DO NOT walk your dog here because there is so much glass and broken pipes on the ground. (As a note, Lamie's does not own these areas. When I asked where I was supposed to walk my dog (bathroom), I was informed there was a 'grassy area' right outside the entrance to the restaurant.) This area is the size of a postage stamp and there are benches for people waiting for their restaurant table. We're supposed to let our dog relieve himself there? I don't think so.

We ended up leaving at 12:15 AM because there was so much noise in the hallway, and the Inn is not pet friendly.

If you are looking for an Inn in Hampton without a pet then this would be an OK place. We had drinks and dinner at the bar. Good drinks, extremely friendly staff, but average food.

Fortunately we were given 1/2 of our reservation fee back. The staff at the Inn and Restaurant are very professional and friendly, however we will not go back because we travel with our dog often and this Inn was not acceptable for us.

Also, when I checked out at 12:15 AM I was not offered another 'pet friendly' room.

Room Tip: Travel here without your pet and ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Ive been to The Old Salt Tavern twice and each time has been a wonderful experience. It's a classic New England restaurant. You will feel right at home.

This place is all about seafood. Start out with their chowder. It's literally an award winner. It's smooth and creamy...just like my Grandmother used to make. Both visits I've chosen their seafood platter. As I now live in the Midwest, the platter gives me a taste of good, fresh seafood that we can't easily get back home. The platter offers a wide selection...clams, scallops, a piece of fish, all served in a classic format with fries, etc. Bring your appetite as this platter is BIG!! Two people could share the platter if they aren't totally starved. Thanks to the staff for the attentive service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMfromMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Went here with two others, and the food was excellent. The men each had the fried seafood platter, and the portion was unbelievable. The fish was tender and crispy, the scallops were juicy, and everything else was delicious. I had the steak with the crispy leeks and could not rave about it more. The flavors blended together perfectly. And on top of that, our waitress, was very accommodating and friendly! Will definitely be making it a tradition to come here now that we live here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alliecat1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We booked our 'package' reservation( which sounded too good to be true) thru Lamies website and really didn't know know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful atmosphere of the inn. The staff was pleasant and professional, the room was comfortable and functional, the restaurant was 'New England' quaint, cosy and the food was exceptional. We can't say enough about the comfort and convenience of this Inn/restaurant facility. The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start a long day of sightseeing and shopping along the coast. There was always fresh hot coffee by the Inn's front desk and fresh fruit in baskets on tables in the halls. We looked forward to returning to Lamies Inn after long days to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere and convenience in either the restaurant or tavern. Lamies Inn and the Old Salt restaurant everything you could expect and more. Be sure to chat with folks at the front desk ( we especially enjoyed talking with Maureen). They are wonderfully pleasant and more than willing to provide as much information and insight to the area as they can. We only only sum up our stay as INNcredible. We will put Lamies on our list of places to stay and make sure we return in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Lamies isn't the newest, fanciest facility but the place has a homey feel and touch that makes up for any physical plant shortcomings. The staff are exceptionally attentive, the food in the Old Salt is excellent and the tavern is clearly a favorite hangout with both locals and guests alike. Our king size bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, neat and had none of the musty smell found at other facilities. Lamies is two miles from the beaches and just a short distance from the Kittery shopping malls. Give it serious consideration when you are planning a trip in this direction.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We booked this accommodation on the internet and were very apprehensive until we arrived at the New England information centre and the ladies there told us what a good choice we had made. How right they were, we loved it. The staff were lovely, allowing us to check in on arrival although we turned up nearly two hours before check in time! The adjoining restaurant was a real bonus and saved lots of trouble finding somewhere to eat at the end of a days sightseeing! If ever we return to New England we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
6.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £75 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1740, this family-owned and operated New England inn continues to deliver hospitable service to guests from around the world. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, it is our pleasure to make you feel at home! Each of our rooms is authentically decorated in colonial style, retaining the charm of the era in which our property was built. Yet we offer all of the modern-day conveniences you would expect to have today. We offer free wifi as well as hard wired internet service throughout the building. All of our guest rooms are furnished with private baths, digital cable television with five HBO channels as well as local news, family and sports channels, individual climate control with air conditioning, alarm clock radios, in-room telephones with free local calling, refrigerator, microwave, room service, 24-hour fitness club privileges at Vanguard Fitness Center, complimentary newspaper and deluxe continental breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing