We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMMMMMMY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Great tasting place,cant wait to go back,i have been going to Hamptonbeach for years,i finally went .....been missing out all these years,anyone going to Hamptonbeach,should stop in.....you will be satisfied

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Tito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent the weekend here and were very pleased. The room was clean and quaint, and every person we dealt with at the inn was helpful and pleasant. Saturday evening we spent at the tavern, and the performer was excellent! The continental breakfast was good, and the location was convenient to the beach and other areas of interest. There were all sorts of things happening right there at the inn! When we head back to Hampton, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Old Salt is relatively reasonably priced with local and historical charm. I love sitting at a table by the fire on a chilly evening, or having a burger in the tavern with a friend. This is a nice, comfortable place to meet friends for the evening, whether it's a quiet dinner in the dining room or a lively drink in the tavern.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EvanServo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I were going to a concert at the Casino Ballroom (Sara Evans) and looked at locations near the beach so we could walk. We didn't find anything to our liking and opted for Lamie's, and we are glad that we did. It is a very old but well maintained inn, with a lot of character and charm throughout. We ate at the Old Salt Restaurant before the concert, and stopped into the tavern after for a nightcap, also good choices. The staff is friendly throughout, and we will most definitely stay here again if/when we go to another concert. One tip - recommendations for the restaurant are highly recommended. It is fairly large but they were very busy throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgain8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Whenever I am in This area of NH I will stay at Lamies Inn. It has a very welcoming feeling, is clean, and very cozy. They have all the amenities you need as well as an attached tavern and restaurant. It is nicely decorated and the people are very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My family and I have now stayed here 3 times and we love the place. My previous comments on the place have said that the welcome is wonderful, the size of the room is great, the location is right and so on. I would recommend you read my previous comments as there will be no doubt I've missed things.

Therefore, this write up is an update to my last visit!

First, it seems that the room we stayed in has been updated - the TV was now a flat screen version, and it felt like the carpetting was new as it certainly felt nice and springy under foot.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant and would recommend both. Both were busy with a good atmosphere. The breakfast is plentiful - a wide choice of pastries and breads / bagels as well as fruit and cereals. We stayed two nights, and one night the kids ate free which we were not expecting!

Compared to last year it seems that they have upgraded their WiFi capability as it was very strong and easy to pick up anywhere you were. But, if you don't have a computer or smartphone or tablet or whatever with you, there is a complimentary guest computer in the lobby.

The place has a wonderful old world charm; for the price you pay you cannot go wrong. I particularly liked the little note on the bedside cabinet welcoming us back - little touches like that go a long way!

The room has a microwave and fridge, as well as hairdryer. There are also two bottles of water in your room, but these do not get replenished if you stay more than one day - something I think should be changed. I don't drink coffee / tea (of which there is an endless supply in the lobby) and therefore feel a little harshly treated...

If I were being critical, I would request the bath towels be a little larger. That said, there are enough of them. Also, for the size of the room, the bathroom should be a little larger too - just to keep in proportion. These things will not stop us from returning though as the place is lovely. The history of the place is wonderful too - the photos / letters on the walls showing the famous previous residents also adds to the ambiance of the place.

Our 2 kids were given a little welcome pack too which was lovely - crayons, colouring pad, card deck and so on.

The staff are incredibly friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SubaruDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Even though the online "Choice Hotels" site said they were booked, I called and got two rooms. Mine was a double canopy bed; other was a double. Very clean, colonial decor, phenomenal front desk staff. Dinner was reservation only (it was Easter), but had other plans. They have a fine restaurant and tavern (definitely NOT a bar).

Room Tip: no elevator, but Room 44 is excellent for a single, or couple. great get-a-way. a mile to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 38MichaelF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
920 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
45 reviews
6.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1740, this family-owned and operated New England inn continues to deliver hospitable service to guests from around the world. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, it is our pleasure to make you feel at home! Each of our rooms is authentically decorated in colonial style, retaining the charm of the era in which our property was built. Yet we offer all of the modern-day conveniences you would expect to have today. We offer free wifi as well as hard wired internet service throughout the building. All of our guest rooms are furnished with private baths, digital cable television with five HBO channels as well as local news, family and sports channels, individual climate control with air conditioning, alarm clock radios, in-room telephones with free local calling, refrigerator, microwave, room service, 24-hour fitness club privileges at Vanguard Fitness Center, complimentary newspaper and deluxe continental breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing