We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shall return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
East Walpole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I shall return”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I the opportunity to stay at Lamies Inn on Friday, June 21 and Saturday, June 22, 2013. On arrival we were greeted at the front desk by a very lovely lady who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We had prearranged dinner reservations for 9:30 P.M. Saturday. She confirmed the time and unexpectedly gave us a coupon for a 10% discount in the dinning room. After check in we had lunch at The Old Salt Tavern, with another couple, we were traveling with.
The atmosphere, service, cold beverages, and food all excellent. Our room had a king size bed and was very clean and comfortable. The four of us had dinner Saturday in the restaurant. The menu verity was perfect and the food top notch. The only draw back was the waitress, she must have been having a bad day. She told us she didn't really want to be there and it showed in the service. We made the best of it and hopefully our gratuity made her feel a little better. The rest of the staff were there with smiles and a warm greeting. I want to thank all of them for making our stay so enjoyable. Ron L.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    133
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
97
214
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Lamie's Inn. It is quaint and comfortable. Most of the décor is in keeping with the character of the Inn. The staff are very nice and accommodating. It is conveniently located right in the heart of Hampton. Enjoyed having the "Return Guest" discount and room was reasonably priced.

Jan Blankenship

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, US
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I liked the hotel-it was very "new England"- quaint, hospitable, exposed brick in the room, clean. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on that, but did have the complimentary breakfast which was okay-the atmosphere of the restaurant was very neat. My only complaint would be that the beds were small and so was the bathroom. I imagine that I was informed when I booked the room that the beds would be double/full beds, but I did not pay much attention to it, so therefore was a little disappointed when checking in- I think I am just accustomed to at least a queen size bed. The bed was comfortable despite being small. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in Exeter NH for the weekend and he had received a gift card from the Old Tavern as he had not recieved good service the last time he was there on business. He wrote a letter to the manager and they sent him a $25.00 gift card. It took us 2 years to return to the area. The only complaint we had this time is they seated us at a table that was wobbly, so we moved ourselves, but a few minutes later they sat another couple at the same table. You would think they would just fix the table. The food was good though and the atmosphere was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaloushop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed a single night as a little get away near to the ocean. Colonial style room was comfortable with a canopy bed. I liked the historical photos around the property, as they added perspective to the 18th century roots of the building. Seafood dinner was tasty at the Old Salt and the service was prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dane_the_dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found Lamies on an Internet search. As a matter of fact, I found Hampton Beach, NH on the search, because I had never been to the area. It is an excelent historic hotel which is more like a B&B than a hotel. The property was old (meaning historic old) and very well kept. The grounds, and the rooms are clean and in great shape. The service was excellent. I definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet, away from the crowded beach experience. The bathrooms are tiny, but absolutely fine for our purposes.

We had dinner and breakfast (included) in the Old Salt Restaurant attached to Lamies and were very happy with both.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the stairs and we were concerned it might be noisy...it was not at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTexas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We needed one night's stay before leaving New England and found the Old Salt by chance and we're glad we did. Our family had a good dinner and night's sleep before heading for the Manchester airport to fly home. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Loved the history of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Property: Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing