We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could tell from the phone call....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lamies was the last place we stayed during our New England vacation this October before flying home from Boston. I had picked Lamies because we wanted to stay somewhere near Boston and I could not find what I wanted in Portsmouth at a reasonable price. Based on Tripadvisor reviews I thought Lamies looked like an interesting place. I called to reserve two rooms and the receptionist who took my call was very cheerful, friendly,and helpful. After the call I had a good feeling about Lamies. The person we checked in with, I am sure, was the same person who answered my phone call months before. She was even better in person; helpful, cheerful, and with a great sense of humour. I wish I could remember her name but you will know who she is if you stay there. The hotel is in a nice area close to the beaches. It is on busy highway #1 but the traffic noise did not bother us. The room was very comfortable and of adequate size. The area to the back and on one side of the hotel looks a little run down but the hotel has been there a long time and other businesses have come and gone. We ate lunch at the Old Salt Tavern and while the food was good our server was very slow. There is a very good restaurant about a block away where we had a great dinner. The continental breakfast was standard fare and well presented. Lamies is a comfortable, historic inn and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffer724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had my wedding reception at the old salt in April 2013 and I have to recommend no one hold an event at this venue. The whole event was extremely rushed and the waitstaff was rude. The staff was clearing off tables before guests were finished with drinks and food. This event was planned at this venue, so that ALL guests could stay at Lamies. Halfway into the reception, the owner tried to cut off alcohol from guests due to liability even though everyone was staying at the hotel. At the end of the event, waitstaff cleared off tables with party favors, as well as the brides boutique and flower arrangements which were never seen again. Hotel stay was average. Rooms are small but clean. Overall, pretty bad experience...don't recommend holding an event here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dooberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamiesinn, Owner at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I’m very sorry that your wedding ended on that note. I understand that you and your guests wanted to celebrate and it is never our desire to have to put an end to the fun. However, NH State Liquor laws are very clear and strictly enforced. While we appreciate that your guests were not driving vehicles, there are still many concerns and dangers associated with alcohol consumption. For the safety and well-being of all our hotel guests, restaurant patrons and staff, we take these regulations seriously. We are glad that you were able to get your flowers back the next day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, clean, cozy atmosphere. We had the queen bed with canopy which was very comfortable. Plenty of channels on the TV including HBO. There is a table in the lobby set up with tea and coffee, 24 hours a day. Nice continental breakfast in the morning with fruit, yogurt, cereal, baked goods. I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RhodamineRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for a getaway weekend and Lamie's was exactly what we were looking for - a bed and breakfasty feel within more of a hotel setting. We found the charm of an old inn that had all the amenities we need, including a fridge and microwave. The room was good sized and clean, and the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was small, but perfectly adequate and also very clean. The staff was great - always helpful and friendly. We even got a thank you note from the room attendant for the tip we left the first morning. The continental breakfast offered numerous choices and the onsite restaurant was wonderful. Great selection with very reasonable prices and the food was excellent. The Sunday brunch was fantastic. Lamies is only a few hours from our home, and we will definitely go back. If the restaurant was in our community, we would be regulars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed a week's stay here the first week of Oct, Maple trees everywhere, red, yellow, green. Really a great location for visiting near by towns and the sandy beaches. The food is also very reasonable and delicious. Lobster Dinner with sides is $11.99 and if you ask they will break it open for you. We were on the second floor, no elevator, room 48. Very nice comfortable bed, very large bed too! Clean room and had everything we needed. I will say that the bathroom was very tiny. However functional. TV, Micro, Refr and desk area. The furniture is Stickly and of great quality. Enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to others. Dinners are very reasonable price and yummy! Plenty of hot water and lots of charm. Very charming place. Lots of history. It may not be the best place for kids, but it's perfect for couples or business travel.

Room Tip: No elevator. We were in room 48. Could hear noise in the bathroom from the neighboring room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattyk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For the second year in a row we stayed at this lovely B&B. The rooms are very comfortable and the self serve breakfast set up in the restaurant is always great! One of the nice things about this place is The Old Salt Tavern Restaurant that is right downstairs. The food is fantastic and all the people who work there are very friendly and helpful. I just learned that President Eisenhower stayed there many times!

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms and both were quiet , clean, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked "sight unseen" and were very pleased with the accommodations. The "desk" staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending places to go. The food was excellent and the wait staff very efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwynne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
920 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#11 of 41 in Hampton
45 reviews
6.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £77 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1740, this family-owned and operated New England inn continues to deliver hospitable service to guests from around the world. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, it is our pleasure to make you feel at home! Each of our rooms is authentically decorated in colonial style, retaining the charm of the era in which our property was built. Yet we offer all of the modern-day conveniences you would expect to have today. We offer free wifi as well as hard wired internet service throughout the building. All of our guest rooms are furnished with private baths, digital cable television with five HBO channels as well as local news, family and sports channels, individual climate control with air conditioning, alarm clock radios, in-room telephones with free local calling, refrigerator, microwave, room service, 24-hour fitness club privileges at Vanguard Fitness Center, complimentary newspaper and deluxe continental breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing