We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Notch Experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Easy access location; super large & clean room; large dining area with great food; Very friendly staff. Don't pass this by. So much more personable than a "chain" . We would recommend to anyone going in that area Close drive to Kittery Outlets as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    132
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
96
213
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler,Tx
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a very nice place. They were very accomodating and helpful. We asked for a room upstairs since we'd had an issue the night before with noise above us in another hotel. They made it happen. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant back door! A little noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights here ( not long enough!) and loved it. The room was a little small and the bathroom tiny, but oh so comfortable! The towels were top quality and they even have a special washcloth for make-up removal. The dinner at their restaurant was excellent. The free continental breakfast was good with fresh fruit and a variety of baked goods. But I don't like plastic forks. Real flatware would be nice. Only one complaint, If you are there on the weekend ask for a room that is not over the bar. It was kinda noisy!

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the restaurant/bar. Its a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Great old world atmosphere. Everyone excelled at making my visit memorable. Great dining/drinks etc. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay. Hopefully will get to return again. Irish visitor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently went there for a small vacation. Although the weather did not cooperate, It was not Lamie's fault. Went with the Spring Break package and got a canopy bed two dinners and continental breakfast. Great staff all around. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a deluxe colonial canopy bed non smoking room which was on the first floor behind the tavern. Check in was easy, but longer than others (when you have prepaid/reserved online) as they ask for other information like phone number, email address and a swipe of your credit card just in case something happened.

The room resembled a historic B&B type room - small and completely furnished. The canopy bed was adorable and surprisingly dust-free. I did a quick inspection of the room and noticed a small beetle-like bug on the wall above the AC/heater. Oh well, it -is- spring. The blankets, sheets and pillows were all clean, and the mattress was great, not too soft and not too firm. It would have been more comfortable though if the blanket wasn't just a throw. The bathroom was a good size and everything worked properly; but it was a bit hard to turn the faucets on both the sink and tub. The light switch for the bathroom, for some odd reason, is hidden in the closet outside the bathroom.

As for noise, we can hear doors slamming and people walking through the hallways. But there isn't much foot traffic so you should be able to sleep okay, and we didn't hear a thing from the tavern in our room. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Lamie's while in the area for our wedding. It couldn't have been better. The staff was incredibly friendly and assured that we had everything we needed. Our room was adorable and very comfortable. Each of our rooms had an exposed brick wall, which added to the inn's charm. In spite of the full occupancy, it was quiet. We dined at the Old Salt a few times during our stay and not only was the staff fantastic but the food was delicious. We would happily stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#11 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Property: Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing