We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service, Great Getaway”
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing Service, Great Getaway”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I were looking for the perfect New England getaway and found it. The inn had the perfect mix of charm and amenities.We were able to enjoy the foliage and come back to our room and not worry about driving to find dinner. The Hancock in restaurant is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
123
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Inn was very cool in that it is so historic and really captures the mood of an old New England setting. Note that bathroom was quite small, and lighting in the room was very minimal (Moses Eaton). Jarvis insisted on helping us w/our luggage; not many b&b owners do that. Wife Marcia was also so friendly and accommodating, and made you feel welcome and relaxed. But the highlight was eating in the tavern: many folks rave about the pot roast but I had the braised short ribs and it was literally one of my best meals ever. My husband had the fish n chips and they too were maybe the best we ever had. Atmosphere can't be beat. And make sure you go to Frye's Measure Mill in Wilton while you're in the 'hood. Overall for the inn: great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently stayed at the Hancock Inn during a fall foliage weekend. It was welcoming on a misty fall afternoon. The rooms are cozy and comfortable, although the bathrooms are on the small side (based on the 2 rooms I had access to). Each room has unique furnishings and decoration, although I think some updating is needed on curtains, lamp shades, etc, that look a bit worn. There are beautiful original wooden floors thoughout the inn. Everything was very clean.

In additional to serving breakfast (included), this inn has a restaurant for dinner and we had a fabulous meal there. We had the specialty cranberry pot roast which is not to be missed. All 3 of us in my traveling group had it and we all agreed.

Marsha and Jarvis were great hosts. They are there in the morning serving you breakfast and are also there at night seating you at dinner. I think Jarvis is also in the kitchen! They told us that they want to make sure they know every aspect of running the inn so they are busy, busy! But they were still always available and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

New owners Marsha and Jarvis could not have been more welcoming during our stay, anticipating what we might need to ensure that we were comfortable. The inn is lovely, filled with period antiques as others have noted here. The food is spectacular (I recommend the pot roast with cranberry sauce, which is a specialty of the inn), and the beautiful fresh flowers in all the public spaces are a nice touch.

Other regions of the U.S. could learn a thing or two about thoughtful development from the Monadnock area. Although tourism is a major industry, it has a local feel, with unique restaurants and shops, clean roadsides, and no billboards. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pink_Azalea429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Property: Hancock Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock
Hancock Inn New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing