We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going above and beyond!”
Review of The Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The new Inn owners, Marcia and Jarvis Coffin are sure to make the Hancock Inn a memorable destination for all who visit. We were there for a social gathering recently and we felt like we were guests in someone's home. Everything was beautifully appointed and Marcia and Jarvis seemed to anticipate every need. I unwittingly left my purse behind and they were incredibly thoughtful and got it to me quickly.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Heureusevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Hancock Inn is a picture perfect historic New England Inn. It has great food, service and ambiance. The current owners have been there for two months and they seem to be trying to get it right. HOWEVER, a large golden retriever makes one's dining experience far less pleasurable than it should be. The dog has the run of the two dining areas and feels free to visit guests and sit by their tables. I like dogs, have owned dogs, but do not appreciate having a dog sniff the breakfast buffet before I get to it nor do I enjoy a dog eying my meals. In case the owners do not understand a worst case scenario, here is an example: at another B & B a large dog sat by me at the breakfast table and sneezed on my food. Since this is an old inn, sleep quality depends on the consideration of other guest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I were looking for the perfect New England getaway and found it. The inn had the perfect mix of charm and amenities.We were able to enjoy the foliage and come back to our room and not worry about driving to find dinner. The Hancock in restaurant is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Inn was very cool in that it is so historic and really captures the mood of an old New England setting. Note that bathroom was quite small, and lighting in the room was very minimal (Moses Eaton). Jarvis insisted on helping us w/our luggage; not many b&b owners do that. Wife Marcia was also so friendly and accommodating, and made you feel welcome and relaxed. But the highlight was eating in the tavern: many folks rave about the pot roast but I had the braised short ribs and it was literally one of my best meals ever. My husband had the fish n chips and they too were maybe the best we ever had. Atmosphere can't be beat. And make sure you go to Frye's Measure Mill in Wilton while you're in the 'hood. Overall for the inn: great value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently stayed at the Hancock Inn during a fall foliage weekend. It was welcoming on a misty fall afternoon. The rooms are cozy and comfortable, although the bathrooms are on the small side (based on the 2 rooms I had access to). Each room has unique furnishings and decoration, although I think some updating is needed on curtains, lamp shades, etc, that look a bit worn. There are beautiful original wooden floors thoughout the inn. Everything was very clean.

In additional to serving breakfast (included), this inn has a restaurant for dinner and we had a fabulous meal there. We had the specialty cranberry pot roast which is not to be missed. All 3 of us in my traveling group had it and we all agreed.

Marsha and Jarvis were great hosts. They are there in the morning serving you breakfast and are also there at night seating you at dinner. I think Jarvis is also in the kitchen! They told us that they want to make sure they know every aspect of running the inn so they are busy, busy! But they were still always available and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGNY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

New owners Marsha and Jarvis could not have been more welcoming during our stay, anticipating what we might need to ensure that we were comfortable. The inn is lovely, filled with period antiques as others have noted here. The food is spectacular (I recommend the pot roast with cranberry sauce, which is a specialty of the inn), and the beautiful fresh flowers in all the public spaces are a nice touch.

Other regions of the U.S. could learn a thing or two about thoughtful development from the Monadnock area. Although tourism is a major industry, it has a local feel, with unique restaurants and shops, clean roadsides, and no billboards. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pink_Azalea429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pycsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hancock Inn

Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range: £72 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. It is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques, along with modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. There are numerous common areas for our guests, upstairs and down. Outdoors, the inn's 1.5 acres connect visitors to the Monandock region's beautiful, uniquely preserved landscape and scenery. The Fox Tavern is open six nights a week featuring the modern American cuisine of Executive Chef, Benjamin Harwood. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock
The Hancock Inn New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing