We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful inn and a beautiful place”
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed three nights in December and were sad to go. The inn has so much character and the owners are very warm and hospitable. Breakfast was so amazing that we always ate too much and skipped lunch. We definitely felt at home in this quaint little town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2011. Our room, the Washington, was fairly small, as advertised, but had the benefit of ample storage space. With the luggage out of the way, you can actually roam around comfortably. Their site says the view goes out over the backyard, which is factually correct but doesn't quite do it justice: it is a very peaceful setting within grasslands and woods you'll notice.
The only slight qualification I'd have was a faint dingy/damp smell, whose origin neither of us could locate. It wasn't too bothersome but all the more surprising given that we could not fault the Inn for cleanliness in any way.
Breakfast was very good: you'll come across a buffett with fruit, granola, pastries etc which gives you a more than solid base for the hot entree of choice. There are reviews complaining about the Golden Retriever being present in the breakfast room. I cannot share those misgivings; while we visited, all new guests were asked in advance if that would pose a problem and the owners swiftly locked the dog away when it actually did for one guest. It probably helps that this dog is one of the best-behaved I've seen.
And if you do have the time, try their restaurant - it's worth it (and there aren't any alternatives in Hancock itself).
To sum it up: the Hancock Inn is a very comfortable base whenever you want to explore the Monadnock Region.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steinbeck1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October and loved it all. The food was great and the service was excellent. I had no problem with their dog being in the dining rooms. A local church rings their bell every hour and i did hear them at 2am and 3am the first night I was there, but slept through it the second night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loeyWheaton_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The new Inn owners, Marcia and Jarvis Coffin are sure to make the Hancock Inn a memorable destination for all who visit. We were there for a social gathering recently and we felt like we were guests in someone's home. Everything was beautifully appointed and Marcia and Jarvis seemed to anticipate every need. I unwittingly left my purse behind and they were incredibly thoughtful and got it to me quickly.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Heureusevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Hancock Inn is a picture perfect historic New England Inn. It has great food, service and ambiance. The current owners have been there for two months and they seem to be trying to get it right. HOWEVER, a large golden retriever makes one's dining experience far less pleasurable than it should be. The dog has the run of the two dining areas and feels free to visit guests and sit by their tables. I like dogs, have owned dogs, but do not appreciate having a dog sniff the breakfast buffet before I get to it nor do I enjoy a dog eying my meals. In case the owners do not understand a worst case scenario, here is an example: at another B & B a large dog sat by me at the breakfast table and sneezed on my food. Since this is an old inn, sleep quality depends on the consideration of other guest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I were looking for the perfect New England getaway and found it. The inn had the perfect mix of charm and amenities.We were able to enjoy the foliage and come back to our room and not worry about driving to find dinner. The Hancock in restaurant is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Inn was very cool in that it is so historic and really captures the mood of an old New England setting. Note that bathroom was quite small, and lighting in the room was very minimal (Moses Eaton). Jarvis insisted on helping us w/our luggage; not many b&b owners do that. Wife Marcia was also so friendly and accommodating, and made you feel welcome and relaxed. But the highlight was eating in the tavern: many folks rave about the pot roast but I had the braised short ribs and it was literally one of my best meals ever. My husband had the fish n chips and they too were maybe the best we ever had. Atmosphere can't be beat. And make sure you go to Frye's Measure Mill in Wilton while you're in the 'hood. Overall for the inn: great value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
164 reviews
6.2 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock
Hancock Inn New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing