We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here as a layover between the White Mountains and Keene, NH. The town is a little more out of the way than I expected, but it may have seemed worse to us because our GPS got us a little lost. I know a lot of people look for small, quiet towns and this would be perfect for that.

The hotel was very cute from the outside. The inside was also very nice and undergoing renovations, but we wouldn't have noticed if they hadn't mentioned it. There were no tools laying around or anything unsightly while we were there.

We stayed in Miss Mary's room on the 3rd floor. The walk up all those stairs is never fun, but the room was very nice. We stayed with our toddler, and had enough room for us in the double bed and for her Kidco Peapod (tent) on the floor in the corner after moving a small chair. They said on the site they don't have cribs so we came prepared. Other than that, there wasn't a ton of room, but it was fine for a place to sleep. In an Inn, I don't expect to spend a lot of time in my room.

The room was very clean. The bathroom had very nice shampoos, lotions, etc. Much nicer than standard hotel ones. Since our daughter goes to sleep so early, that gave us a lot of time to read in the common area and watch TV. The channel selection was more than just basic stations, but a little limited, but I loved that there was a Comcast box which showed you the channel name and the show that was on. That's a nice feature when you don't know the local stations. There was also free wifi that worked really well on the 3rd floor.

It didn't seem there was a way to control the temperature in each individual room (which may be typical, I'm not sure), so it was a little chilly before I went to bed, but thanks to the extra pillows and wonderful extra blanket, I slept really well and the temperature seemed ok as I was getting ready for bed.

We never got to really eat in the restaurant there, but we saw a good amount of people having a good time in the dining room for dinner. For breakfast, I didn't get a good look around (we were checking out early to have breakfast in Keene), but we had some tea and coffee and grabbed some cereal for the road. It was an intimate room that was very cozy.

And best of all, the innkeepers were so kind. Always eager to help us in any way. I feel sorry we weren't spending more time at the Inn to enjoy the company of the other guests and the innkeepers.

If I were ever to come back to the area, I would happily return (maybe to a lower floor next time :> ). I wish the town were bigger, but I'm sure I'm not the norm. This place is great.

Room Tip: Our room was nice, but I might choose a lower floor next time. It was on the middle of the right si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpreeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
121
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a house hunting trip. Marcia and Jarvis were so incredibly hospitable to us. What a lovely building and they have done improvements as well. The room was great... Comfortable bedding, great facilities. We had a wonderful breakfast and great company with Potter! We will be moving to the area and will ensure our guests stay here. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and was so glad I did. My room was quaint, with one of the most comfortable mattresses I've used. Really. Everything was very clean and nice. Shower, Internet, heat..all worked great. The hosts are excited and determined to make this a great place, and from my standpoint, having never been before, it already was. Nice hot coffee kept me company while I worked in the afternoon. Sunday dinner was very simple, filling, and yummy. It was an additional cost, of course, but very modestly priced. And so warm and lovely a space. They even accommodated my vegetarian needs. Breakfast was part of the room fee, and they exceeded all of my expectations. Hash brown pancake was fantastic, too (which is a tricky thing to make right).

The dog is really sweet and calm. My daughter would have loved him.

If I"m ever in the area for a nice romantic weekend, or coming back through for work, I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Over the past four years this has become our regular Valentine's week-end getaway. Our initial angst at new-owners was immediately dispelled when we walked through the front door.
Marcia and Jarvis quite obviously are naturals as inn-keepers. Their attention to detail coupled with some much needed (and very noticable) updates have made this inn even more charming and welcoming. Potter, the wonderfully good natured golden retriever, adds to the homey quality of this location.While the restaurant has always been good, the expanded menu and variety of options added to the overall dining experience, as did Andrea, who consistently strives to make all guests feel as though they are welcome and right at home.
Looking forward to our next week-end there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Recently sold to local family who love the facility and are putting significant effort into improvements. Interior is refreshed and updated (while preserving the authentic feel and antique charm); restaurant is vastly improved in quality and choices; friendly, clean and charming all the way around. Locals go to the restaurant and love it.

Room Tip: Speak with the Innkeepers directly and they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We're just back form a long weekend at the Hancock Inn in Hancock, NH. We can't speak highly enough about the area, the town and, most of all, the Inn. The Monadnock area is simply beautiful (even in mid-January) and the town of Hancock is about as quaint and old town New England as it gets. Built in the late 1780s, the inn is a delight in so many ways, from the genuinely warm and welcoming innkeepers , to the gourmet meals and fine wine selection, to the Rufus Porter-painted murals dating from1825, to the friendly mix of locals and travelers. We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Words such as ‘hospitable’, ‘friendly’, and ‘welcoming’ were invented for the Hancock Inn. From the outstanding food to the comfortable accommodations, our visit was a very pleasant Thanksgiving get-away. And the Rufus Porter wall mural was a bonus.

Marita, Bridget, and Frank Byrne Littleton, MA and Natick, MA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_B27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Property: Hancock Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock
Hancock Inn New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing