We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Center Tuftonboro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I love to travel both at home and abroad. Our first choice is always small, historic Inns or B&Bs (with a castle/country house thrown in for good measure). Imagine creating an Inn using the "Best of the Best" ideas and there you have it...the Hancock Inn. Marcia and Jarvis are the model innkeepers: friendly, super efficient, enthusiastic and unpretentious with an obvious love of their historic inn. And they surround themselves with a staff that mirrors their own personalities: Jan, Dave and Andrea (the three wonderful staff we met). Then there is Harry Potter - the beloved gentle giant Golden Retriever - who waits patiently by the front door for the "school bus" (aka dog walker) to take him to doggie daycare! Our room was the Bell tower. Spotless, tastefully furnished, perfect bed and pillows, fireplace, best shower and whirlpool tub - even the hair dryer was the best ever! Incredible gourmet breakfast and dinner - it doesn't get any better than this no matter where you travel. Pure perfection! And we have stayed in close to 100 so I think we are good judges!

Room Tip: The suite faces the main street which would be a good choice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you! This was such a nice review and we really appreciate it, particularly given your considerable experience staying at inns. 100! Come see us again soon. Very best, Jarvis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
127
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
snow country
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a delightful weekend at the Hancock Inn, noted to be New Hampshires oldest and most historic Inn. Full of warmth, comfort, history and incredible food, I cannot offer enough praise for the attention to detail. We stayed in the Norway Plain Room which was very comfortable.


Two other couples from our town joined us saturday night, whereby the innkeepers sat us in a lovely separate dining room for dinner --- The meal and atmosphere superb.

An added bonus was a discounted lift ticket to nearby Crotched Mountain that the Innkeepers offered us on saturday morning. On Sunday we ran, snowshoed on the pond and departed at noon to scout out nearby Peterborough and do some antiquing.

A wonderful weekend escape that I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go online and pick the one that speaks to you --- you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveseenall50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
The skiing, the hiking, the snowshoeing, the exploring...it was exhilarating to watch. Come back and climb Mt. Monadnock this summer or fall. There are several trails to choose from. But, why choose - we're sure you will try many of them over the weekend!

Thank you (!) for being here. Come back soon.

Jarvis and Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have lived about a half hour away from this Inn for about 25 years and had never heard about it before. What a hidden gem!! There are so many good things to say! We thought the inn was beautiful and the hosts gracious. The food was incredible, both dinner and cooked to order breakfast. The Inn is filled with history and we had fun "reading" the walls. The vacant rooms are left open so that guests can tour them, and the ones we saw were all very nice. We stayed in the Bell Tower room. The canopy bed is as beautiful as the website pictures show it to be. We enjoyed the gas fire place in our room and the candle lit fire place in the first floor common room. My only complaint is that our room was directly above the kitchen, and at around 11:00 after the restaurant closed the kitchen got noisy. We were trying to sleep, but couldn't until the kitchen closed down. We will definitely stay again and will choose a room further away from the kitchen. I would definitely recommend the Hancock Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
It's amazing how many people are still discovering the Inn, even those close by. We are very glad you did and thank you for the very nice review. SO sorry that your stay was tarnished by noise from the kitchen after hours. We are aware that clean-up in the kitchen can be a noisy affair, particularly at the end of a busy Saturday night; it's one of the chief reasons we only serve until 8:00 p.m. But, now that you mention it, this past Saturday we had several late diners, which we're afraid will have contributed to the fact that when you were ready to go to sleep there were still pots and pans banging about. We will reinforce the need to keep the clanging to a duller roar. Many thanks. Please come again. Jarvis & Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Mass.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the delightful Hancock Inn while on a snowshoeing adventure. While the weather was not entirely conducive to shoeing, the inn proved worthy of the many positive reviews here.
We were greeted warmly and given a quick tour of this historic inn before being shown to our room, the John Hancock Suite. The inn and the suite are loaded with period antiques minus the musty smell that often accompanies them. Walking the halls was like being transported back in time.
The Hancock suite was full of character. From the hand painted mural upon the wall, to the wide pine floors, antiques and, of course, the hot tub for two, this room was a charm.
Dinner was the sumptuous cranberry pot roast, the enticing smell of which was wafting throughout the lobby upon our arrival in mid afternoon. We chose to dine in the rustic tavern portion of the dining area which is open to the public. The staff was very attentive and friendly.
With rain falling outside and our shoeing adventure put on hold, we found ourselves quite content to just sit in the plush furnishings by the fireplace in the lobby and talk with innkeepers Jarvis and Marcia. They were both warm and inviting and quite knowledgable about the history of the inn and the town.
The village of Hancock is very small and, unless you're there for outside activities or willing to drive a bit, the the choices of things to see are limited in winter. But if it's solitude you seek in a Currier and Ives setting, this is the place.
We tip our hats to Jarvis and Marcia for a wonderful stay at their historic inn. We look to stay here again in the near future while we pay another visit to Freye's Measure Mill, a must see if you are staying at the Hancock Inn. rhl

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a nice review. Sorry that the weather wasn't 100% cooperative, but, indeed, all is not necessarily lost when forced to spend a quiet, winter weekend inside a country inn. We will hope to see you again soon. Jarvis & Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent a delightful Valentine's Holiday after Cross Country skiing trip to Windblown XC center in nearby New Ipswich, NH. Great trip. The skiing was great and the Hancock Inn was a gem. A truly historic place decorated with care and comfortable room. Beautiful village of bygone New Hampshire. No strip malls or suburban sprawl. The Innkeepers and staff were friendly and catered to every need. Gourmet dinner and spectacular breakfast and even a singer and story teller and wine social on Valentine's weekend. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottingkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
No malls or sprawl and the nearest traffic light is seven miles away. We especially like that part ;-) Thank you VERY much for your review! Please come again soon. Jarvis & Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Harbor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

An inn for decades. Very historic. Quaint. Quiet. Charming. Romantic.

The town is Currier & Ives beautiful, especially around the holidays. You can imagine the town in 1790, or 1830. Set on a hill just north of, and convenient to, Peterborough. With the inn smack in the middle of town. This is a quieter corner of New Hampshire than ski country, the lakes, or the seacoast. But the area does not lack for things to do.

This is an in-town inn, and - once again - a part of town life. You can, if you wish, partake of small town New England life. The cheesemaker next door. The general store across the street - with a nice wine and beer selection. The bakery/coffee shop across the street. Stroll the colonial streets. Admire the white steeple church/town meeting house. Wander the historic cemetery, dating to colonial days. And there is the pond.

Or, you can cozy up in one of the many little nooks and crannies and read. Or in your own with the (electric, alas) stove going. Comfy, cozy, snuggly beds to boot.

The staff in this family run inn is attentive, helpful, and friendly. Especially the owners. The inn is historic: the floors creak and aren't necessarily level. But it is beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable, and well cared for. Very New England.

Breakfasts were hot and hearty, served by the owners. Dinners (which i will try to review in more detail elsewhere) were delicious, with a New England flair. Many local ingredients, including meats.

The inn has a pub in the rear, looking out onto the patio and gardens. Must be spectacular in summer, and the fireplace makes it cozy in winter. There is a more formal dining room, with a fireplace. There is a pub menu and a dinner menu, but you can order off either one in either room. As I said, all the food was delicious.

30 years ago, at the dawn of our relationship, my wife and i spent a December weekend here to celebrate Christmas. As dating turned into marriage and into parenthood, we continued that tradition. Then we felt the inn had lost its charm (and life's responsibilities piled on) so we sadly stopped coming.

This year we decided to try the Hancock Inn again. I am so glad we did. It is as special a place as it ever was. If you want a nice, quiet, small town New England place to spend a day or two or more, this is the place.

A magical place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you very much for the review and comments. We are glad you found your way back to Hancock and the Inn. Come see us when the gardens are in bloom.

Happy New Year!

Jarvis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was my first visit to The Hancock Inn in an adorable little town. Since we were the first to check in we were allowed to check out each of the rooms. All were decorated differently and kept true to the character of the inn. Some rooms were smaller then others but all were charming and clean. The bathrooms were updated and modern. The owners were warm and welcoming and the dinner was delicious. It was more gourmet then I expected from a quaint old inn, using local products like goat cheese.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redkitty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much! Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
158 reviews
6.2 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Property: Hancock Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock
Hancock Inn New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing