We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern elegance in a classic town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
“modern elegance in a classic town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

what a find, great new small hotel
comfortable layout of room, nice bedding
large marble shower-with controls in the correct location
very friendly, informative staff, ipad for use in lounge
directly off the main street, I will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcmanus000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Glad you found us. I love your heading....Modern Elegance in a classic town. Who needs advertising people when we have gueste like you and the others people reviewing us.

Thanks for the positive comments. Glad you liked the idea of the guest IPad, too. It was an idea that we wondered if people would like. Its been fun for hotel and lounge guests.

We are so proud of our associates. Glad you enjoyed them as much as I do!

Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    86
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
106
46
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Put this new hotel on your preferred list when visiting Hanover. The location and facility are both terrific - but the staff makes the difference. From the moment you pull in to the valet station until the time you leave you feel like everyone at the hotel is happy you decided to stay at the Six South St location. Easy walk to the Green and all of your favorite restaurants and pubs on or near main street. This is a welcome additional option for all of us who enjoy visiting the Hanover area - we can not say enough about how welcoming and helpful the staff is at this location. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Many thanks for your rave review! We are so excited to be open and serving this wonderful community. It's very gratifying to know that efforts by our staff to make a positive impression on each guest is indeed happening. Here at Six South, our goal is to exceed expectations. Your feedback has provided additional motivation. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Terrific new hotel in Hanover. Walking distance to eveything. No new property blunders....everything was perfect. The "more" is the restaurant. Entrees were excellent (medallions of tenderloin....salmon filet to name the two we tried). Make this your first choice on Dartmouth trips. The valet parking tops off the experience.
Kudos to the friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntxtraveler091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thanks for the great comments. Out team tries really hard to live up expectations.

Your description of the food is great. Its not fine dining, but it is just right for a quick bite to eat. I still haven't come to grips with whether I like th Salmon or the Beef Medallions. Guess I'll try them both again.

Thank you so much for sharing with us! We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had a great weekend at Six South Street. The service was terrific, everyone was excited and smiling and at the ready to do whatever was needed. Rooms are roomy, comfortable. Beds are pillow top and very comfortable. All very well appointed. We walked everywhere. The bar was young, sophisticated and fun. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMFAM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
We appreciate the feedback. Being new, we are trying so hard to please everybody. Your positive comments will be shared with our team for their continued development.

Glad to know it was a great place for your teenagers as well!

We look forward to serving you again oin the future.

Thank you for choosing SSS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Brand new chic and luxurious boutique two blocks from Dartmouth green was a complete pleasure to visit. Ultra modern lobby, elegant bar/bistro made me feel like I was in Manhattan not New Hampshire. Six South Street is a much-needed addition to this town, where I usually have to get rooms five or ten miles out of town. Just a few steps to shops, restaurants, bars, and Dartmouth museums, performing arts and sports. A surprisingly delightful find.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg03101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience. We hoped we would create this kind of impact on guests.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing