We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, hope to visit again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Forest City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, hope to visit again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Great Hotel, excellent rooms. Clean, well appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location, within walking distance off everything...Dining, shops, Dartmouth College, etc....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footballfamily_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
We're so glad that you loved Six South St. Hotel and very much appreciate that you took the time to let us know! You certainly hit all the highlights in your review. Thank you! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    86
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
106
46
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We are so thrilled to have found this hotel. It may not have the views of that other hotel that looks out over the Dartmouth Green, but it is still convenient to all things Dartmouth. It is beautifully decorated in a contemporary style--felt more like NYC than Hanover. The rooms are a nice size with a sleek efficient bathroom (loved the marble shower with no door) and very comfortable beds. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We didn't eat there, but it was nice to have fresh coffee available first thing in the morning. We will definitely stay there next time we're in Hanover.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shootslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Many thanks for the high praise of our new hotel and our staff ! It's very gratifying to receive such positive customer feedback and to know that our efforts to make a positive impression on each and every guest are working. Thank you for taking the time to review Six South. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you come to Hanover!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were attending a graduation in Meriden NH and had to be there Friday night and then again early Saturday morning so we decided to stay over in Hanover. I found this hotel and was interested in it right away. When we arrived there around 4:00 P.M. Friday we were not disappointed. The hotel has a very modern look, the rooms were very nicely decorated with bright colors, the employees were helpful. The beds and pillows were super comfortable. The two rooms we had were connecting rooms which made us very happy, that accomodation is hard to come by anymore. The rooms had a small refrigerator and the windows opened another plus. The bathroom area was good, the colors were great, there were useable drawers located in the vanity which was another plus for our group with plenty of complimentry products to use if you wanted and more than enough towels to go around. We all enjoyed our stay there and if I were staying up in that area again I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingernh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We're so glad that you found "Six South"! We very much appreciate your taking the time to review our property. Not everyone makes time to provide positive feedback. THANK YOU !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in April when visiting Dartmouth's graduate school and very much enjoyed it. Though we didn't spend much time in our room, or get a chance to use the hotel amenities, we found the staff to be welcoming and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable (very comfy beds!), and the location perfect for enjoying Hanover / Dartmouth. Overall, the hotel has a NYC-boutique hotel feel (complete with eco-friendly toiletries!) but is not intimidating or 'too cool'. Will definitely recommend to friends and family visiting Hanover in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owens618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thanks so much for you positive review of "Six South". It is our great pleasure to serve the Dartmouth community and all who come to visit our beautiful "Upper Valley"! I will share your comments with our staff. They are truly the people who make the difference and I'm gratified that you mentioned the "welcoming and helpful" staff. We look forward to welcoming you back, when your travels bring you home to Dartmouth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

New, well kept, modern, pleasant staff. Very close to Dartmouth and any and everything that is interesting in Hanover (well, it is a small place). All requests accommodated quickly and graciously. Very nice bathroom and well appointed room. The only thing I would change are the tiles in the bathroom and just outside it: they are very cold!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Glad you enjoyed SSS. I am especially happy our team responded well to all your requests. I certainly am proud of them.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed at Six South Street for the first time this week. During my brief stay, I encountered five members of the staff. Each one of them made me feel like the most important guest in the hotel. The lobby and bar area are sleek and contemporary; this hotel "stands out" in Hanover, but still "fits in". The rooms are very comfortable and quite. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
We built a nice Hotel, but what makes it great is the team that is there. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with the five associates. They truly are the ones that make it work!

Hope to see you again!

Thanks for choosing SSS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

what a find, great new small hotel
comfortable layout of room, nice bedding
large marble shower-with controls in the correct location
very friendly, informative staff, ipad for use in lounge
directly off the main street, I will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcmanus000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Glad you found us. I love your heading....Modern Elegance in a classic town. Who needs advertising people when we have gueste like you and the others people reviewing us.

Thanks for the positive comments. Glad you liked the idea of the guest IPad, too. It was an idea that we wondered if people would like. Its been fun for hotel and lounge guests.

We are so proud of our associates. Glad you enjoyed them as much as I do!

Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing