We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a good stay”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place for a good stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's definitely a good hotel. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a very nice design. The view wasn't great. The service was good, the staff nice and friendly. I definitely suggest you to choose this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello to Somerville! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and our service. You are right, we don't have some of those gorgeous ocean views that you are used to in the Boston area. But, we do offer nice clean surroundings, peaceful landscapes, and the convenience of being able to walk to a wide variety of restaurants and shopping. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    91
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
112
48
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I had higher hopes for Six South St based on a few articles and the website. From the outside, the building lacks charm and looks more like a condo building. The hotel itself is very much like a newer mid range Hyatt or Marriott brand. At a rate of $189, I was willing to pay about $50 more than I would at a Residence Inn for a boutique hotel. Once you add in the mandatory valet parking (unless you choose to take your chances with street parking), you are over $200 a night and the value just isn't there.

There is nothing wrong with the hotel, there just isn't anything that makes it destination worthy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that you did not care for our architecture. We did work hard with the regulations from the Town of Hanover, State of NH, Dartmouth College, and local citizens to choose a look that would fit our upscale hotel and fit well in downtown Hanover. Perhaps like art, architecture can be interpreted in many ways? We hope that you will be willing to join us again in the future as it is always our pleasure to host both new and returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence, rhode island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After checking out other hotels and Inns in and around Hanover, I chose Six South St based on existing reviews and price. Very happy I did, price was about half of comparable options, room and bed comfortable, and the location superb. Very friendly staff. Hotel has restaurant but there are many other good dining options within easy walking distance. Hotel is new, and one can only hope it keeps up its high standard over time. Likely to be booked up well in advance around Dartmouth startup and campus events.

Room Tip: Our room, fourth floor corner facing street, had a nice mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I agree, we are so lucky to have friendly and happy staff here and I'm glad you experienced that as well. For Dartmouth College events like Sophormore Parent's Weekend, home sports games, and alumni weekends we do recommend that you try to book a year in advance. Please give us a call for details on our loyalty program for Dartmouth College. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

6 South offers a great alternative to the newly renovated (and more expensive) Hanover Inn. The room I had (two queen beds) was spacious and clean. I appreciated the products the hotel provided and the beds were very comfortable. I could have had a better view (I was facing a brick wall), but overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Love the two thumbs up!!!

We do see ourselves as a great alternative in downtown Hanover. Many of our Trip Advisor reviews feel as you do.

Thanks for choosing us! We appreciate you sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Not far from the centuries-old Dartmouth Green is this delightful, boutique hotel.The decor is modern but understated, with a eco-frendly sense to it. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. One of them showed us a short cut to a building, where we were to meet our son considering Dartmouth for the next 4 years and to audit a class there. The location is ideal for those visiting the college. A lot of nice shops and eating places are only 1-2 blocks away. My only real criticism is the lack of bottled water in our room, a fairly common practice at boutique hotels. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and a great place for those tired of stodgy Yankee inns and chain motels/hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Im not sure I could have written a better, more eloquent review myself. We did try to provide a unique experience for this downtown location. Glad to hear you appreciate it. Thanks for recognizing our associates, too.

We do offer a special program for parent of Dartmouth students which can guarantee you a room for your child's graduation. How's that for planing ahead? :)

Thanks of choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My friend and I were taking a 2 day course at the King Arthur Flour facility during the weekend we stayed here. We chose this place because my friend had stayed before and it was close to restaurants and shops. The front desk was very pleasant and friendly. The front lobby is very contemporary and had wonderful areas to sit and hang out if you needed to.

there are many wonderful restaurants that are very close.

The rooms were clean and pleasant. No visible signs of wear which I look for in any hotel.

My only reason for giving this only 4 stars is the parking arrangements. You will need to park in the parking garage located to the side of the hotel. It is very narrow parking so don't bring a large car/truck. It was a pain to have to pay the attendant everytime we wanted to take the car out. I don't understand why they can't give you a parking ticket that will just automatically charge your hotel bill. Instead we were always digging out money to pay the attendant.

Hint: beware if you leave early in the morning before the attendant is on duty! You will get an envelope either in the door handle or on the windshield of your car. The instructions for calculating the amount you owe are very confusing! We just ended up leaving the full amount of $15. The last time my friend stayed here, she didn't realize what this was for, thought the fee was on her hotel bill and got a bill from the parking garage in the mail.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, Owner at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad to hear the ambiance and service was enjoyed.

Sorry to hear of your experience at the parking garage. We do not operate that, but offer our own Valet parking in the garage under our hotel. No need to deal with the tight spaces or attendants. We are here to serve you.

We look forward to serving you again soon!

Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel located in downtown Hanover extremely close to the Dartmouth campus. Great facility, great service, great staff. The restaurant also is excellent. A pleasure to stay at in this area. I would most definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve30341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing