We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice amenities, so-so staff”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, nice amenities, so-so staff”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently visited Hanover to visit our Dartmouth College student. The location of the hotel is perfect - we could convene for dinner, walk campus, and visit without getting in the car. The hotel is well appointed with nice amenities, bedding, etc. What you would expect for a premium price. I found the staff to be a bit standoffish. We didn't have any hot water on the first morning. I complained to the front desk and they made an excuse about a large sports team that was staying there. No offer of an discount, etc. Not the kind of service I would expect for the price. So after a cold shower (mind you this is winter) I enjoyed Dartmouth Skiway, the Green, etc. Suggest you travel during less busy times unless the $250+ without hot water doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good afternoon NewRide,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not feel welcomed by our staff. That is always hard to hear as we hire happy people and train them so that our guests are our priority. We will absolutely review your feedback with our staff so that we can improve. We have always prided ourselves on being known as "The Friendly Hotel" in Hanover.

You are correct, we called in the builders of our hotel along with many engineers. We discovered that 2 out of 3 of our hot water heaters were not working. I'm happy to say they have been repaired and we have plenty of hot water to go around now. If you'd like to contact me separately at Jennifer.sargent@sixsouth.com , I would be happy to discuss compensation for your poor experience.

We hope that you'll give us another chance to prove to you that we value your business.

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    90
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
111
47
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Loved the location, loved the decor, loved the comfortable bed and clean room. There were plenty of electrical outlets, an in-room fridge, an iPod dock and a nice flat screen. Check-in was super efficient and all the staff members I talked to were friendly. The little convenience store in the lobby was much appreciated. I would go back if staying in Hanover again. A reasonable alternative to more expensive and old fashioned hotels in the area.

There were a few minor issues, though. First, they only offer valet parking. I understand that space is at a premium and valet allows for a more organized parking area. I just dislike valet parking in general. I don't like handing over my keys, not knowing where my car is and not being able to access my car at will. Next time we will park in the city garage next door. Secondly, the heating system in the room was very drying. It was a cold night and we had turned the heat on before going to sleep. Both of us woke up a couple hours later coughing because the air was so dry. I switched to a.c., pulled up the blankets and slept well the rest of the night. Lastly, the coffee maker was in a dark corner of the counter away from any sources of light. I had some trouble using it because I couldn't really gauge the water level.

None of these things would prevent me from recommending this hotel or staying there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_from_here617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello in Burlington, VT!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Hanover. We are actually working with our reservations system and our valet for ways to better communicate parking options. Sadly, Hanover does not offer any free parking. Our rates are competitive with the Town of Hanover garage next door. We charge $18 per day, you come and go as much as you like. The Town charges $15 and my understanding is you have to pay each time you leave and come back. The up side is that when your car is with us it is secure down below the hotel in our heated garage. That has come in very handy this winter!

Also, in the future we have a few items that guests are welcome to request at the front desk. Items include humidifiers, fans, extra lights, DVD player, and pack & plays.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There is nothing wrong with staying at "ye olde inns", but sometimes a modern, sleek, well designed contemporary hotel fits the bill. This certainly was our experience at Six South St.
Comfortable, convenient and well appointed, there is no downside to the Six South St. experience

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Legnan0,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We agree, we love the country inns in the area too. But, it is fun to be the newest hotel in the Upper Valley also! Nothing beats the walkability of downtown Hanover. So many fun restaurants and bars to choose from. We're glad you liked our modern space and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Hanover.

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the SSS hotel for 3 days in late December 2013 as we were attending a women's basketball tournament at Dartmouth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel - rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff and valet are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Dartmouth campus and about 4 blocks from the Dartmouth sports arenas. There is a great bakery and sandwich shop across the street from the hotel, a good fire brick oven pizza place a block down the street and several additional restaurants (Molly's is recommended) and shops a block away on Main Street. Parking costs $18 per night at the hotel but you can park at a garage next door which is free overnights and on Sundays.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aroon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello in Plano, TX!
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We agree, Ramunto's Pizza (http://ramuntospizza.com/) and Umpleby's (http://www.umplebys.com/) are great choices for local restaurants and are just across the street from the hotel.
Sadly, it is true, the majority of parking in Hanover is paid, but you are right, if you're willing to endure a little inconvenience, you can find some less expensive alternatives to our valet option. Town of Hanover Parking Garage (http://www.hanovernh.org/Pages/HanoverNH_Parking/map.pdf) charges $15 per day as compared to our $18 fee.
Again, thank you so much for your feedback, it was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had a really nice one-night stay here and loved it. The staff is helpful and friendly and the hotel is perfectly situated for a walk around town and the adjoining Dartmouth College campus. The rates are great too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Mr. LeBlanc. Thank you for your kind response. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in downtown Hanover. Even though we're a small town, it is always fun to take a short walk down Main Street to "The Green." We look forward to having you join us again in the near future. Happy New Year!

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

this place is retro/cool and staff is awesome! Alli the bartender, server, cook, and anything else the company tosses her way is fantastic! give her a raise and keep her unless I will steal her away and take her to Napa with me! lol just joking!! but this place rocks...the hotel is well kept!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you Michael G for the kind words. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience how nice it is to have staff who are cross trained in many areas so that they can help you throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you back the next time you visit from Napa!

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Sure, this is a cheaper alternative to the Hanover Inn. The lady receptionist was really pleasant. However, there are a couple of areas that mirror that lower price. Its 3 blocks from the ‘Green’, so location is slightly less ideal. The lobby isn’t as nice. There’s no doorman. The rooms slightly smaller and overall don’t look as good as the Hanover Inn’s rooms. Bathrooms are fine but not as clean as the competition. There were a number of large dogs with other guests, which surprised us.

The deal breaker for us is the issue of hot water for showers…there was none! My spouse was livid that there was no hot water for her shower; it was only lukewarm. It wasn’t isolated to our room; relatives of ours also stayed in the hotel that same night; they too only had lukewarm water for their showers. They complained to the desk but didn’t get anywhere. My spouse initially wanted to make a complaint at the desk, but in the end she didn’t bother and simply wanted to leave.
Is the cheaper price worth it? That’s an individual decision. For us, it’s back to the other place in Hanover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear IT Expert,

I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I can only imagine how disappointing it was to wake up to a cold shower. The good news is that when you reported this during your stay, our maintenance person was able to fix the issue and get it back up and running within 30 minutes. Sadly, we cannot go back in time, but I did want to let you know everything is in order now.

We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel. We are always happy to speak to guests to take their dogs aside when concerned guests are in the lobby. We find that this is an enjoyable part of our hotel to be able to meet and greet our furry friends.

I did MapQuest "The Green" and it is 0.29 miles from our hotel. Most guests enjoy the short stroll down our quaint main street past the shops and restaurants. But we understand that all travelers have different preferences and we thank you for sharing yours.

We wish you the best in your future travels to Hanover. Again, we are sorry we did not meet your needs.

Regards,
Jennifer Sargent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing