We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations in a fun town”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great accommodations in a fun town”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at the Six South St Hotel many times during camp drop off/pick up and visiting weekend. It is a great hotel, with comfortable rooms, a perfect location, and helpful staff. The lobby has coffee early in the morning, and many areas for reading or meeting friends. Parking is available by valet, and is very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Colleen C. I'm so glad you were able to join us this summer. We have a ton of parents who have found us while dropping off their babies at camp. The free Starbucks in the lobby has been a huge hit this summer. I can only imagine all the driving you have been putting in! We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    90
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
111
47
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My son & I were in town for a football camp. We had a very nice, neat, and spacious room, which had obviously recently been remodeled. The staff were extremely friendly & full of terrific information. Breakfast was fine. Location was fantastic. We slept very well & were treated like family!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning Margot M. I'm so happy to hear you felt like family! We love what we do and are proud of our brand new hotel (built in 2011). We work hard to make sure our associates treat our guests like an extension of their own families. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again next summer for another football camp. Best, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visiting my niece at college & got a great rate here for a double room with a kingsize bed. Valet parking offered & accepted. We were able to leave our things with the valet after check out & he put them into our car. Extremely helpful gentleman!! Hotel clean, comfortable with very pleasant staff. Hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Ann S. It sounds like you had a nice visit to see your niece at Dartmouth. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We are so lucky to have a team here that loves what they do, and hopefully that made your travels that much more enjoyable. Be sure to sign up for our e-list on our website at www.sixsouth.com so that you can receive information about Commencement reservations. All hotels in the area sell out a year in advance of those popular dates so this will give you the inside scoop. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent service. We booked our room through a third-party site during a busy week. We had trouble finding rooms at all anywhere nearby. Unfortunately, the third-party site overbooked the hotel - our reservation did not make it to the hotel and no rooms were available. The staff was very accommodating and took care of everything. They contacted the third-party site, located another room within just a few miles, and paid for the room. I could not have asked for better service from them under the circumstances. Well done, Six South.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keig7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Keig7544, thank you for your very kind review. Especially since you had an unusual experience with us! While it is rare, sometimes the 3rd party sites can accidentally overbook us. I'm so glad to hear our associates jumped in to action and found a nice place for you nearby. And, hopefully, next time you come to Hanover you will be willing to give us another try! Best, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Only stayed an evening, to scope out the upper valley, but a good, clean, efficient, and reasonably priced hotel centrally located in hanover town. Neither fancy nor deficient, on a par with a good "brand" hotel in the 3 star category. Great for parents and visitors to Dartmouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WorkFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello WorkFamilyFun. I hope you enjoyed your recent trip to the Upper Valley. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Looks like you gave us 5 stars in all categories, that is very kind of you! We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you this way. Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had not been to Hanover before so I wanted to be immersed in the culture of the town. This hotel sits at the hub of all the "action" as it is downtown Hanover. The staff were extremely polite and attentive to my requests and made me welcome. The hotel is of the small boutique variety with the rooms very tastefully appointed including a walk in shower and couch. My room was good size and very quiet. The only negative is they charge 18 bucks for parking, which seems excessive especially considering room rates. Fortunately WiFi was complimentary.

Room Tip: My room faced the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Westwindsor, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Hanover. It is a fun little town isn't it? I like to tell visitors that we may be small, but there is one of everything to try! Sorry about the parking. The Town of Hanover does not offer any complimentary parking. But, as we have mentioned in the past, guests are always welcome to park directly next door at the Town Parking Garage for $15 a day. However, you will be charged there every time you come and go. For the extra $3 a day, most of our guests seem to find value to have the flexibility to come and go as often as they like. But, of course, the choice is yours! We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at SSS over Memorial Day weekend as part of a wedding. It is a lovely place, and very well located. The service was flawless. Our room was great...one of the most comfortable I've had in a long time. Great bed. There was lots of space in the lobby for visiting and relaxing, and there is coffee service available all day. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning Lisa D. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are a very popular choice for wedding parties with our fantastic downtown Hanover location. I agree, our FREE STARBUCKS is always a hit with guests. We hope to see you in the future for another fun trip to the area. Best, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing