We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Salubre Trattoria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salubre Trattoria
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Food was severely lacking in flavor. Confit was dry which is hard to do and deconstructed brussel sprouts burnt.Truffle fries undercooked, sadly no good Italian food in Hanover.not authentic at all

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryS40, Owner at Salubre Trattoria, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Sorry that your experience was "horrible", that is obviously not what we want to present. The young man responsible will be let go based on your comments. Thank you for comments and hope you'll give us another go. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Heavy, flavorless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We did the "date night" special. $50 for two. Appetizer, salad, entree and two glasses of wine. Not bad on price. We liked the meatball appetizer. Everything else was either way too salty or tasted heavy in fats with little flavor. The menu has potential, but they need to actually taste what they are serving.

Helpful?
Thank Stevens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryS40, Owner at Salubre Trattoria, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Sure, not acceptable. The chef has been let go based on your comments, no place for the inconsistency he demonstrated on this night. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Most hanover visitors will miss this restaurant because it is not on main st and is situated in a basement but the food is very creative.

Try the deconstructed Brussel sprouts or the truffle fries with aoli.

Helpful?
Thank stann0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,770 reviews
1,228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Average Italian food in college town..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were taking a drive up to Burlington Vt and decided to stop and grab lunch and a coffee in the small town of Hanover..(Dartmouth College). This is predominately a quaint college town with some nice little places to eat. We stopped in while walking to the Starbucks on the corner. I had the home made cavatellis. The pasta was good but the sauce was fair at best. The bread was nicely done. My friend had the burger which he said was cooked well but nothing special. Service was great and the price was good because it was a lunch menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Three of us had a pre-show dinner this week, our first visit and not our last. We ordered a variety of small dishes to share and the food was all good. Service was excellent and attentive to our need to make a 7:00 show. The cost, including drinks, was $31@ (not including tip). I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salubre Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing