We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helloooo Metro!!”

Metro Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Hanover
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Underground scratch bakery and cafe, serving breakfast all day, and housemade soups and sandwiches for lunch, made with locally sourced natural fresh ingredients.
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Helloooo Metro!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This underground bakery and cafe is an awesome place to hang out and grab a fast and delicious lunch. Fresh muffins and fluffy delectable bagels make it an easy choice for anyone stopping by Hanover to decide where to stop and get a refreshing meal. Everyone say goodbye to the old crumby Bagel Basement and welcome the Metro Bakery and Cafe where you will always be satisfied and accommodated by the extremely friendly staff and yummy food that Metro now has to offer. I am in love. Thank you Metro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAY AWAY! Rude manager, confused employees, low quality food,”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This place has taken a straight nose dive since the good ol' days of Bagel Basement. Quality of food is so-so: unless you like stale, surprisingly untoasty "toasted" flavorless bagels. I can say that the veggie cream cheese is good, besides that food is overall eh.
What is probably the cherry on top of this low quality dumpy "bistro" is the service. Rude, unattentive manager for one. The employees are nice, but they clearly are not prepared for working at a basic business, ie are always running out of bagels, have no customer service skills, don't know what even they have, messing up ordeers, unapologetic when something goes wrong (and something ALWAYS goes wrong)... It's safe to say that i am never coming back to this place, and im telling anyone i know to avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evvvvvvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroBakery, General Manager at Metro Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
I'm at a loss as to how to respond with grace and compassion because it is difficult to believe this customer's experience. Our bagels are made fresh everyday. I am the GM, a trained baker and pastry chef, who makes the dough the afternoon before and arrives every morning at 4 am to bake the bagels, so they are fresh, fluffy and hot at 7 am, when we open. Our product, however, is second to our guest's experience. Without hospitality as our first and most important goal, we would not have a business. In response to this guest's review, I value your opinion, but respectfully request that you disclose your name and details of your visit to our bakery. My email address is denise@metrobakeryandcafe.com. It is noteworthy that your review is your first review and you have not listed any information in your profile. It is with my warmest regards that I make this request, because we are in the business of doing the right, honest and best for all our guests. Thank you, Denise Anderson, General Manager & Pastry Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Let them Eat Toast!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Wow! I'm an old Hanoverite, but METRO is already A+ in my book for food and customer service! Today, Friday, I just wanted a toast and tea for a late lunch. Tried a bakery, where I was told, "We don't make toast.", tried a restaurant where I sat at a counter for 5 minutes and was not even acknowledged. Ran down to the METRO and TaDa! They Made Toast-beautiful sourdough- and Tea!! Love you! ps-thought of them as they hosted lovely snacks at Ledyard Bank over the Holidays!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I used to be a huge fan of Bagel Basement but the quality has gone way down since new management took over earlier in the year. You can still get a yummy sandwich on occasion but it's iffy. There are better options in Hanover in the same price range.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbsmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroBakery, General Manager at Metro Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. Our customers' comments are the most valuable assets we have to improve our work as managers, chefs, customer service members and bakers. You mention one of the hardest challenges we face in the food industry, which is how to bring to our customers choices that are delicious, reasonably priced and consistent. When I took over in February, we operated as the Bagel Basement, with few options. We have since expanded our menu to include pastries made from scratch, lunch sandwiches with housemade bread, and soups made daily with fresh handcut ingredients. We make our bagels every day, beginning at 2 am, with dough we made the morning before. With all these changes, we have learned what our guests and customers value most and what we still need to improve. We listen and take into account what we hear, sometimes more quickly than at other times. Your comments are the way we know how we are doing and whether we are meeting your expectations. It is our desire to bring you the best experience we can and one that makes you want to come back. We appreciate your business and warmly welcome you to stop by the Metro. Denise Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Favorite bagels”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Authentic New York bagels?? Better ask an authentic New Yorker, but for these local bagels I rate them the best in the area. Huge selections of sandwiches and salads as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroBakery, General Manager at Metro Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for loving our bagels. We love baking bread!. We make our dough every morning and our baker comes in at 2 am the next morning to bake the bagels. Although we don't make mini bagels as a daily menu item, if our customers call us in advance to order a dozen or more, we will have them ready for you within 24 hours. We also now serve housemade honey butter and berry butter and, as always, our fresh made cream cheese spreads. Warm regards, Denise Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Metro Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing