We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apple cinnamon French toast Vermont maple syrup”

Lou's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A tradition since 1947 serving Breakfast All Day and Lunch. Full service bakery featuring cakes, pies, donuts, cookies and seasonal specials. Proud to be a Certified Green Restaurant with a focus on locally sourced ingredients. Menu features gluten free, vegetarian and vegan specials. Dining Room opened until 3pm daily and bakery until 5pm.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Apple cinnamon French toast Vermont maple syrup”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Outstanding breakfast in an old fashion diner ambience. Nice, efficient waitress. Lots of tempting bakery selections. We did not have to wait at 11am but most tables were filled. Plenty of Mexican dishes.

Helpful?
Thank sealbeachtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    122
    35
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Courtyard by Marriott, JFK NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Breakfast when in Hanover”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The lines are always long, but worth the wait. Leave one person standing on line, get a cup of coffee, and stand outside on Mainstreet and enjoy watching the town pass you by. Food is always very good!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtyard_JFK_Mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Maryland, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A finer diner and bakery worth a try”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

After scanning trip advisor for stops in Hanover, we decide to wing it and see where the line-ups were.Lou's was busy, seemed to have good turnover and lots of smiling satisfied faces heading out the door.
After a bit of a wait, we were seated in what appeared to be a circa 1950's booth which is right up our alley. I ordered a gyro and my wife had the beef and vegetable soup. I know, unusual choices for a bakery/diner but if it's on the menu, I figure it's fair game.
The gyro was excellent and fresh (as promised by the friendly waitress) and the soup was full of fresh vegetables and not too much broth. We picked up an apple cider doughnut and a cruller on the way out which were also excellent.
So why not all 4 stars? The kitchen was quite noisy and the service seemed a bit rushed at times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never disappoints.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of years in Hanover about 20 years ago and have fond memories of many a good breakfast, lunch, pastry, and ice cream treat. Spent hours studying here during slow times.

We always make a point to stop here whenever we visit the area. Lou's has maintained the same great service, clean diner atmosphere, and quality food that I remember all those years ago. Great job Lou's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakerower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No better place for breakfast or a big piece of pie to share in the afternoon!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Classic diner right on Main Street. It is very, very busy so plan to wait a bit. Sitting at the diner bar is a trip. Food is great. Omelette's worth the drive and straightforward, efficient service from the wait staff. Not elegant...superbly authentic food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BusyBizTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lou's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing