We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet me at Lou's ...”

Lou's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A tradition since 1947 serving Breakfast All Day and Lunch. Full service bakery featuring cakes, pies, donuts, cookies and seasonal specials. Proud to be a Certified Green Restaurant with a focus on locally sourced ingredients. Menu features gluten free, vegetarian and vegan specials. Dining Room opened until 3pm daily and bakery until 5pm.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Meet me at Lou's ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lou's ... a fine slice of Hanover history also is a fine diner. Every meal is outstanding ... breakfast is the best! No wonder that, for years, folks who live anywhere near Hanover or visit Dartmouth say, "Meet me at Lou's."

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SedonaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    120
    35
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stopped for lunch and were quite impressed. The food was made from scratch with local ingredients and very tasty. I was even more surprised that they had gluten free options on their menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Casual and Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wow! The food here is excellent and the portions are huge. Very large menu with all the typical breakfast and lunch fare plus some surprises as well. The breakfast cookie was yum and unusual. We have visited here twice in the past week as we stop in Hanover. We were lucky to have the same server both times. She was friendly and efficient and remembered us fro the previous visit. She even recalled what I had ordered. The atmosphere is a throw back to the 50's but not overdone. Yes, highly recommend for a casual lunch or breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nodan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We eat breakfast here every time we come to town. It never disappoints. Always good, always friendly. and FANTASTIC strawberry rhubarb pie.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Place for breakfast, PERIOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so when visit a new city i always find the best known breakfast spot in the city. Lou's is a must stop if visiting anywhere near Hanover. The portions are large, the food is excellent and the choicest are expansive. They serve the large plate sized pancake where one is plenty. Your choice of Vermont or house maple syrup. Glutten free products if desired and of course all the bakery items one could desire. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is not an exotic breakfast spot, just plain good, well cooked just like grandma food. It is a staple in Hanover so get there early or expect to wait, but breakfast is served until 3PM most days.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lou's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing