We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dirt Cowboy Cafe

Dirt Cowboy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Hanover
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Individually brewed coffees. Full espresso menu. Coffees roasted daily. Home-made pastries and desserts. Light-fare lunch menu. Home-made ice creams and gelato. Home-made confections. Large smoothie menu made with our own frozen yogurt and fresh fruit. Juice Bar.
Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

When we want a great cappuccino we come here whenever we're in Hanover.Highly recommended.Nice atmosphere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gary, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Quiche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

They had good coffee, great sweet and savory pastry choices, and excellent staff. They were so friendly and the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
530 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Weak coffee, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very weak coffee. Very friendly staff. Great location. Prompt service. Very tasty pastries. Good prices on bulk coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Owner at Dirt Cowboy Cafe, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback and thanks for noticing our friendly staff. Sorry that your coffee was weak on your last visit. As you hopefully know, we roast the coffee ourselves and brew each cup ordered individually, which (if done correctly) makes a very good and usually quite strong coffee... but it is a very manual process with a few variables involved and sometimes we do goof. It might have been the coffee measure, the rate of pour or even the fineness of the grind. Clearly, something went wrong with your cup, but please believe me that our coffee normally is quite strong. Our tourist customers from Europe usually remark that ours is the only real coffee they've had in the States (they like it pretty strong). I hope you give us another chance and would like to make that more likely by offering your next cup on the house... please contact me at dirtcowboycafe@aol.com so I can take care of you.
PS Since we do brew each cup individually, we also can easily make your coffee extra strong, so just order it that way next time. Again, sorry for the bad luck.
Sincerely, Tom -Owner, Dirt Cowboy Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gotta think it THE BEST Coffee in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Really hip coffee and sandwich place. EACH and EVERY cup of coffee, is made just for you, fresh, right in front of you. If you love a good cup of Java, this is where to get it. The breakfast sandwiches looked really good too, as did everything we saw them making. Young, cool staff, friendly and carefree, yet not careless and slow; the owners have just have gathered a really smart group of young people to work there and have gotten them to buy into the system to produce their offerings, and treat the customers well, so its a real pleasure to patronize them. Our first visit to Hanover, and would not think of not going back for a sandwich next time, and definitely the coffee, oh, THe COFFEE!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scout1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Con Panna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had a fabulous take away coffee from here last week on a freezing afternoon. I ordered a small Con Panna and it was so good I wished I had got a large one. It was one of the best coffees during my 2 week stay in USA. I did not eat but all the baked goods looked yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dirt Cowboy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing